Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air., 26 Sep 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This book is FUN. Ordinary, even dowdy, Mrs Armitage is given a car by her Uncle Cosmo and tries out life on the open road with her faithful dog Breakspear. They lose one bit after another in an amusing series of mishaps until all that they are left with pretty much is the seats, engine and chassis. Then they happen to bump into Uncle Cosmo who doesn't recognize Mrs Armitage's vehicle as his old car and thinks she's driving a mean machine. So he and his biker mates invite her to don a leather jacket and lead the way to the crazy duck café. It's a great story that brings a smile to both children and adults and Quentin Blake's illustrations are up to his ever-fanastic standard. I think this is the best Mrs Armitage title but would also highly recommend 'Mrs Armitage on wheels' which is a great pair to this story where instead of losing bit after bit Mrs Armitage adds one thing after another to her bicycle. Perfect from age 3 and a definite hit in our house with children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St Mary Magdalen School, 2 May 2009
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This is a magnificent book. It is amazingly funny. It is cool - just like its readers! It is ideal for parents to read to their children - Daneka
This is the best book I have ever read- Imogen
We give this 10/10 - it was brilliant -Hannah & Daniella
Mrs Armitage is fun- I give it ***** - Megan
The pictures don't look real, but they are very funny. It is not a very long book- Andi & Leona
The illustrations are excellent. Quentin Blake is a good artist. I think ages 3-10 would enjoy this - Stewart
This has got to be Quentin Blake's best ever. Mrs Armitage goes on a funny journey and changes how her car looks- Simone
It is really good for ages 3-10.It is a really funny & silly story especially at the end.The illustrations are magnificent - Ethan
This book is lots of fun. I would buy this for my cousin - Hope
This is a five star book as it is wonderful. The illustrations are very funny and good - Megan
This book is very funny and it shows children not what to do when they are older!Mrs Armitage is very silly as she turns her rusty old car into a cross between a car, a scooter and a motorbike - Vicky
We would give this book 10/10. Mrs Armitgae keeps changing the look of her car- but at the end the car is very cool - Matthew & Jessica
It starts a bit boring, but it gets better. The story is very wierd, but good. Overall an OK book - Rhys & Jay
The class really enjoyed this book- especially when they compared it to the antics of Mrs Armitage in her previous adventures. They all loved Quentin Blake's funny illustrations- Class Teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Armatitage queen of the road, 18 May 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
There was a skinny, little lady who gets a car from her Uncle Albert and she totally deastroid it very badly and at the end her Uncle Albert and his friend's saw the car when it was like there's.I liked it beacause she ketped on having crashes and she throwed it all on the srap peep.I didn't like it because Uncle Albert didn't see that the car was his old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous!, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book and a firm favourite with my six year old son. We first read it about 2 years ago at bedtime. He laughed so much that he wet himself and I had to change his PJs and the bedlinen! Definitely a memorable story for many reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Armitage Queen of the Road, 6 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This is a book of a women called Mrs Armitage and she gets a car from her uncle. She is really bad at driving. Mrs Armitage is really unlucky.

This book is hilarious because all the bits fall off her car. It is marvellous because she does not just drive around the city she goes in the country side. She meets her uncle and his mates. Then her uncles mates give her some things. They call her queen of the road. Katy M Year 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Armitage Queen of the road, 6 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This book was extremaly funny because Mrs Armitage was crashing into things.I thought the funniest part was when the car did not have any parts at all and it was still driving.The illustrations were fabulous and terrific.They also gave you more infomation about the story. I would give this book 10 out of 10 it was brilliant. Aiden Year 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
Great value for money book. Part of the Mrs Armitage collection. My granddaughter reads it often. I enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Quentin Blake Book, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter adores Roald Dahl books, and was introduced to Quentin Blake's own stories at school. His stories are always vibrant, with colorful and descriptive language. This story does not disappoint. My daughter found the story funny especially when parts of Mrs Amitage's car fell off, and somebody reverses in to her car bonnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This book was excellent to use with my nurture group as part of a topic on transport, they thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A review of Mrs Armitage Queen of the Road, 23 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road (Paperback)
This book tells the story of a lady and a dog and a car. The car falls to pieces. She likes the car but she gets fed up of it. I like the book because she gets mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road
Mrs Armitage Queen Of The Road by Quentin Blake (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews