Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Story That Captures The Mind
I had been initially hesitant about buying this, as I had been slightly disappointed by similar novels from another former SAS trooper, Andy MacNab. However, after only a few pages, my mind was soon put to rest! Chris Ryan gets right down to the nitty gritty. With an exciting plot and plenty of action throughout, it makes for a superb read.
Once picked up, the book...
Published on 4 Jan 2004 by barrera2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars land of fire
The front cover is different from ur picture and does not follow on as per previous book. dissapointed by the book
Published 13 months ago by Karen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Story That Captures The Mind, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Paperback)
I had been initially hesitant about buying this, as I had been slightly disappointed by similar novels from another former SAS trooper, Andy MacNab. However, after only a few pages, my mind was soon put to rest! Chris Ryan gets right down to the nitty gritty. With an exciting plot and plenty of action throughout, it makes for a superb read.
Once picked up, the book is very difficult to put down, due to the fact that as one chapter ended, I simply could not wait to read the next. Rest assured I shall be purchasing futher books by Chris Ryan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic read!!, 22 Oct 2003
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Paperback)
Ever since i started reading this book i just could not put it down! It was the first book by Chris Ryan that i had read and i have now gone on to read many of his others. This book will keep you in suspense all the way through till the end! IT IS A MUST READ!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Chris Ryan's Best! A Great Read, 2 Aug 2002
By 
m kenworthy (redcar, cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Land of Fire (Hardcover)
I have read every Chris Ryan book, and this is probably his best so far! I was a little dissapointed with his two previous books, The Watchman and The Hit List, as I think he writes much better in a first person style...
Land of Fire is quite cleverly done. It starts out during the Falklands War with Argentina, seen through the eyes of SAS trooper Mark Black. He is sent on a top secret mission behind enemy lines, anlong with 5 other SAS soldiers (including his brother), to recce an Argentine airbase for a whole Squadron assault. Needless to say, they are compromised, and have to carry out a fighting withdrawl to the Chilean border, only to find that, after crossing it, the Agentines have followed them.
Twenty years later, Black, now a Sergeant, is sent back into Argentina, to recce the same airbase, due to the possibility of a new Falklands war. Again, the mission is compromised, and thing keep going wrong. (I won't say anymore. I don't want to spoil it for you!)
This is definately Chris's best book. It has plenty of explosive action, dark humour, and is extremely tense in places. It is a great read, and Chris Ryan has definately returned to form! It is his best since The Kremlin Device!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 11 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Paperback)
This book is the best fiction i have ever read because of it's end to end non-stop action.
It covers a period of twenty years so it does actually seem like a two-in-one book.
Overall this is a fantastic thriller and if you've liked other Ryan books then you'll love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chris Ryan maintains the edge of the seat writing., 23 July 2002
By 
Mr Mark D Ellis (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of Fire (Hardcover)
After reading what I believe was his best novel to date ' The Watchman ' I thought writing another classic would be difficult. Changing the main characters and giving us an insite into political warfare was a brilliant direction to take. I read the book from cover to cover in a day and a half, exhilerating reading. The Argentinian coup was brilliant, a twist at every corner with characters returning from beginning to end in different guises. A brilliant follow up to ' The Watchman . Come on Andy Mcnab, Chris Ryan has set the pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Land of Fire (Hardcover)
His best book yet! Every page has heart in mouth action. I couldn't put the book down as i just needed to know what happened next, leading to some sleepless nights!
Ryan has written the book as first person style and has described scenarios and atmosphere so well it felt as if i was there with the team in Argentina.
Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STUFF!, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Paperback)
I found this book"edge of the seat stuff".Ryan's knack of making you feel that you are in the thick of the action is uncanny.
The book was a little slow to get going ...but once it did, I found it hard to put down. If you want pure escapist stuff that is well written ,you feel as if it is fact. Go for it!
Ideal for a long flight ,or a holiday read.

I also read "The one that got away " against Mcnab "Bravo two zero " basically two versions of the same story (actually this did happen) I feel that Ryan's power decription is far superior ...but that is just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Ryan, 22 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. R. Rowe (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Kindle Edition)
Really gripping read!
Can't put it down, time seems to fly wen reading this book.
Worth purchasing if your a Ryan fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good old fashioned Ryan, 13 Feb 2014
By 
S. D. Knight (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Kindle Edition)
well worth a read thoroughly enjoyed it if a little hectic in some parts
good plot action to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of Fire (Paperback)
Love the book which arrived on time and in good condition. Look forward to when I have the occasion to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land Of Fire
Land Of Fire by Chris Ryan (Paperback - 5 Jun 2003)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews