Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
His stories are immediately engaging, dark and always funny. I was often laughing on the Tube while reading this thus causing alarm to my fellow passengers, especially when they read the title of the book.
Try to imagine Dan Rhodes' 'Anthropology' fleshed with a twist of Brass Eye and you'd be close, but not quite there. The originality of thought is refreshing...
Published on 10 Jan 2004 by D. EARL-GRAY

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious
I rarely bother writing reviews on here, but I just felt it had to be said that this is quite possibly the worst book I've ever read. If you're looking for something 'surreal' and darkly comic, look elsewhere, this is just ameteurish and bland, displaying no originality whatsoever, simply making pitiful attempts to shock that don't come off. It's a wonder how this was...
Published on 12 April 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious, 12 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Suicide Kit (Paperback)
I rarely bother writing reviews on here, but I just felt it had to be said that this is quite possibly the worst book I've ever read. If you're looking for something 'surreal' and darkly comic, look elsewhere, this is just ameteurish and bland, displaying no originality whatsoever, simply making pitiful attempts to shock that don't come off. It's a wonder how this was ever published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jan 2004
By 
D. EARL-GRAY "Dan EG" (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suicide Kit (Paperback)
His stories are immediately engaging, dark and always funny. I was often laughing on the Tube while reading this thus causing alarm to my fellow passengers, especially when they read the title of the book.
Try to imagine Dan Rhodes' 'Anthropology' fleshed with a twist of Brass Eye and you'd be close, but not quite there. The originality of thought is refreshing.
Not for the easily offended though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 4 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Suicide Kit (Paperback)
I loved these stories, short, sharp and to the point. I lent it to a friend and she loves them so now I can't get the book back. My favourite was Orson Beadle, a travelling salesman who goes into a pub full of drunks and sells them - no, I won't say, read it for yourself! And Doctor Octor - that is a scream. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 6 May 2004
By 
Kevin J. Boyle "ciall013" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suicide Kit (Paperback)
This is the worst book I've read in a very long time. It read like a collection of short stories written by secondary schoolchildren. Described as funny, the only part that raised even a smile was the relief of finishing it and moving on to something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, to say the least..., 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Suicide Kit (Paperback)
Very dark, but very very funny. In this book we meet a man who is so afraid of stopping loving his wife that he casts a spell on himself, resulting in accidental necrophilia. There's the couple who meet the giant cockroach. There's typing at gunpoint. And of course what book would be complete without a good old fashioned midget beating?
Don't miss this. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Suicide Kit
The Suicide Kit by David L. Hayles (Paperback - 6 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews