Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best yet?
Ok I am a big Ian McEwen fan, but whilst I may be bias I rate this as one of the top ten book written by a British author in the last twenty years.

The story is one of family conflict and deceit. The story delves into the lives of a family and close friends who one evening are bought together when a incident occurs which is covered up. Someone has to shoulder...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I've read several of Ian McEwan's books but this one I was really disappointed in. The first part was totally contrived. To think that Robbie didn't know enough of the character of this 13 year girl beggars belief. To trust her with a very personal note to her sister (even if it had been the originally intended note) is incredible. To convict on the say so of a conceited,...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by MissAnnThrop


‹ Previous | 133 34 35 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atonement, 15 Mar 2010
This review is from: Atonement (Paperback)
This book was in really good condition, although it was supposed to have been used it was like new. Really pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 1 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
The release of the film version finally kick-started me into reading this and I have to say it's probably the most beautiful book I've ever read. It makes everything I've read before seem sort of meaningless.

It really does deserve its 'masterpiece' status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 20 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
This is the second, and so far the best Ian McEwan novel I have read and I found it quite enjoyable. Although it was rather hard to read in places, and it took me quite a while to read, I did enjoy the book. I did not really indentify with any of the characters and believe that the ending was rather strange and open to interpretation. However, it was in contrast to McEwan's previous novel Enduring Love, and it was much more enjoyable than that.
I would recommend this as a must read to all McEwan fans as it was indeed beautifully written, however it may need a bit of perseverance for people who have not read the acclaimed author before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 1 April 2008
This has got to be the worst film ever! It was a very slow story line and then there wasn't much to it after that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A deeply absorbing novel, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Atonement (Hardcover)
Briony Tallis is a highly talented 13 year old girl. One summer's evening in 1935 she witnesses an incident that will change lives forever. Will her victims ever come to terms with her terrible deed, can forgiveness seem possible?
Ian McEwan's book is deeply absorbing, exploring every aspect of human emotion. Very deserving of its Booker Prize nomination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of time and paper, 23 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
Had to read it for a seminar at university which I ultimately did not take (because of that novel and the other two, very depressing novels: Remains of the Day and Waterland).
The novel is boring, the plot is laughable, the pacing is slow, angonizingly slow.
Everybody who has ever seen or read a crime story knows/realizes that the charges against the male character do not hold water, not even a spoonful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 9 July 2004
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
I read this with my book group - and without having to discuss it, I probably wouldn't have got beyond the begining (which was very slow). But the slow start did set the scene and gave the background of the people in the story. With the title 'Atonement', you had some clues where the story was going - but the journey was good. As a baby boomer generation I found the description of the evacuation of dunkirk eye opening and the war time life fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brillant - read it and bypass the film., 6 Sep 2007
By 
Ali (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
A fantastic book - toaaly absorbing' read it and then you can bypass the film with a clear conscience (you might be tempted to go and see it otherwise and it's bound to be rubbish after the Pride and Prejudice hatchet job).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly thrilled!, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
I was told that the book would be in 'very good' condition with the hinge bit of the book intact, pages nice etc but when i got the book it was nothing like that! it would have been better to class it as 'acceptable'.,
Not very happy, already had to return one Atonement book because i had similar problems. Only thing i was happy about was that it was sent early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Promised One, 8 Jan 2005
By 
JM Fells (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atonement (Vintage War) (Paperback)
I found this book while browsing in a shop & searching for something for my grandaughter. It is an adventure story aimed at ten year olds, much enjoyed by this 65 year old, but possibly not for the average child looking for an easy read.
It can be enjoyed at so many different levels. It is an exciting adventure story but the author aims to instruct as well as to entertain. The vocabulary is designed to develop the use of language (there is a user-friendly glossary at the back to help with understanding - though frequent need to look up words may interrupt the flow of the adventure) and to enhance knowledge of the natural world of animals and of the rainforest.
The use of language is excellent and the more sophisticated readers will enjoy the use of puns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 133 34 35 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atonement (Vintage War)
Atonement (Vintage War) by Ian McEwan (Paperback - 2 May 2002)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews