Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor style
I've read this edition first, which was enjoyable , but then I saw the earlier edition in a second hand book shop. I was amazed by the contrast because the earlier edition was thoroughly illustrated with photographs, which made it very appealing and attractive. This edition have a short section of pictures attached in the middle, but sketch drawing used throughout to...
Published on 26 Oct 2005 by Mr. J. Xiao

versus
39 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book is a fairly shallow re-write of "Manwatching" an analysis of body language that was published in 1977. Sadly, what was ground-breaking and innovative twenty-five years ago seems rather underwhelming today. Do we really need someone nowadays to tell us that we cross our arms when we're feeling insecure?
Desmond Morris was one of the first writers to get...
Published on 28 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor style, 26 Oct 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
I've read this edition first, which was enjoyable , but then I saw the earlier edition in a second hand book shop. I was amazed by the contrast because the earlier edition was thoroughly illustrated with photographs, which made it very appealing and attractive. This edition have a short section of pictures attached in the middle, but sketch drawing used throughout to illustrate, which I find it rather dry to reading. I brought the earlier edition too as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 2 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
I think Mr. Morris did an excellent job with Peoplewatching. I think it's a book that anyone wanting to learn more about human non-verbal communication can learn from. My other favorite book on body language, though a little more intimate, is The System by Roy Valentine. These are two books I will have and study for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It goes into great detail & is very informative. Desmond Morris tells it in a way that keeps you interested even at the boring parts. I'd definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
This book is a fairly shallow re-write of "Manwatching" an analysis of body language that was published in 1977. Sadly, what was ground-breaking and innovative twenty-five years ago seems rather underwhelming today. Do we really need someone nowadays to tell us that we cross our arms when we're feeling insecure?
Desmond Morris was one of the first writers to get people really to think seriously about body language. If he wants still to hold our attention today, though, he needs to come up with something slightly more original and profound than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed if slightly flat, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
There is no doubt Desmond Morris has gone to great lengths to detail the workings of the human body and why we do the things we do. If anything, the detail is so extreme that parts can seem a little boring. However this is a very minor problem as the vast majority is informative.

One slight criticism I would have is that some comments seem to be more of the authors own personal thoughts rather than factually correct. Again, just a minor complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book on human behaviour, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
A formidable book on human behaviour. So well researched and explained. A most interesting work to help understand your own species. A must read at some time in your life, It should definetely form part of your home library. If you are interested in understanding what others do and why you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars People Wataching, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
this is a book to dip in and out of .It is always interesting and thought provoking i am enjoying it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating book, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
Was recommended this book following a course and I wasn't disappointed! Very comprehensive assessment of the human animal. A little old school in style but he writes with great authority. Book condition fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful tips, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Includes a lot more about variations between cultures and countries than I expected.
Useful tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language (Paperback)
Makes one wary of ones body language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language
Peoplewatching: The Desmond Morris Guide to Body Language by Desmond Morris (Paperback - 2 May 2002)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews