Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adoniram
I Loved the book although,at times it could be a bit "heavy." For those who can persevere, It is a great reference to all interested in Freemasonry and all its related subjects.... as are all the previous books by the same authors... Nobody knows where they came from... but this book gives some amazing scope for thought and sows the seeds for those who are wiling to...
Published on 8 Dec. 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Overlong
Although I appreciate the amount of research into this Book I found it to be Boring And Repetitive, Although it started out O/K
after a while I found it was telling the same story over and over again from different sources.
Published on 21 May 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adoniram, 8 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key (Paperback)
I Loved the book although,at times it could be a bit "heavy." For those who can persevere, It is a great reference to all interested in Freemasonry and all its related subjects.... as are all the previous books by the same authors... Nobody knows where they came from... but this book gives some amazing scope for thought and sows the seeds for those who are wiling to propagate and cultivate all the shoots that arise! Freemasonry in Scotland (my territory) and England differ somewhat incredibly, and to me as a very open-minded Freemason, this book should be read by all, whether sceptics or those involved in the subject. the rites referred to in the second part of the book titled "The Masonic Testament" are in particular very pertinent to Scottish traditions, and many shown are still adhered to in posterity.
The "Book of Hiram" as far as I am concerned shows considerable respect by the authours to those Scottish Masons who will uphold and maintain the rites passed down by our ancestors who held the same beliefs. One of the most truthful quotes from this book reads...."Freemasonry claims that it is not a religion and that it is compatible with the belief systems of all religions. Although it does provide a focal point for many people who are not active in any particular faith and for them it is a replacement for religion in that it provides spiritual values without a requirement to subscribe to an entire belief system."
I think this says it all for most freethinking Masons....please read this book if you want the best up-to-date version of what it is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 8 Jan. 2005
By 
Maureen Wesley (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key (Paperback)
The authors have some really interesting and intriguing comments and observations about the bible that you won't find elsewhere. Very common sense writers, lacking some aspects of spirituality that would have added greater dimension to their story. But they are a couple of really down to earth guys and they might not have been able to make some of the points they've made if they weren't the way they are. There are lots of more inspirational books but this is an interesting and valuable addition to whatever point of view you might have. It is a fascinating book and I am glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THe best place for any reader to explore Freemasonry, 29 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Throughout the last ten years many books have entered the market exploring and exposing Freemasonry, the Knights Templar and the ancient connections that these groups have had in our distant past back to the time of the Egyptians. The Book of Hiram is the fourth in a series explored by Chrsitopher Knight & Robert Lomas.

In this title, Knight & Lomas take us even further back, to the Stone Age where sites such as Stonehenge and Newgrange in Ireland were astronomically aligned to the movements of the stars and the rising and falling of Venus as the Morning and Evening Star in particular.

As always, I was rivetted by the work and detailed research presented by both these authors. Both are themselves Freemasons and both have an intense desire not only to fully understand the seemingly strange rituals held in Freemasonry but also to trace the origins of these rituals and reasons for the secrecy which surrounds them.

Today, many in the twenty-first century take the liberties of Democracy, equality, a justice of liberty and religious tolerance for granted. The world was not always so, and in order to achieve these goals, many thousands of years and many lives had to be sacrificed, often under the cloak of secrecy in order to wrest away power from those who advocated autocratic states and a trail by ordeal. The French Inquisition, the American War of Independence, the French Revolution and the Second World War are cases in point.

Whether you regard the Freemasons as a demonic order or not, after studying their history, their basic precepts as laid out at the end of this book and the goals that they set out to achieve over many centuries, one has to admire their tenacity and determination and perhaps....... even take some time to thank them for once instead of denouncing them?

Much like all orders and groups, there are those who would use their connections for humanitarian aims and those who would use them for selfish acquisitive purposes. The recent exposure of homosexual abuse in the Roman Catholic Church is a case in point. Not all Roman Catholic priests are sexual child abuses, not all Roman Catholics are bad people. Mother Theresa was a case in point and she was a nun under the order of a Roman Catholic church.

So to I believe it is with much of Freemasonry, which in some instances has been connected to the Illuminati, much denounced in recent times for their apparent attempts at world domination and global control. These were not the aims of the Knights Templar or those of Freemasonry in general, though I am sure that some used and are possibly still using these orders to achieve such aims. I believe that Knight & Lomas have only the highest ideals in mind and their willingness to share their truth and the riddles that they have solved against all odds and much criticism is admirable to say the least.

Should you wish to explore Freemasonry, then these authors are the best place to start, not only in The Book of Hiram but in all their works.
Gail Evans. author of THE FIRSTBORN OF GOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing the Secrets, 29 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key (Paperback)
I've been interested in the secrets of Freemasonry but never did I realize how much had been removed from the original ceremonies until I read this book. Each step these authors have taken has been highly researched taking the reader back into the past and which in turn, allowed the revealing of the missing steps to them as well as to us. The result to me is that modern Freemasonry has crippled itself by tossing out these vital steps to the secret. My comprehension of Freemasonry as originally practiced has expanded and my historical perspective has definitely improved. I highly recommend this book to any seeker of truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foundations of Freemasonry., 18 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This is very much a book for open-minded free thinkers rather than dogmatists. Freemasons plod through their ceremonies (as do the religious) year after year without a thought as to their origins. Lomas & Knight have undertaken a daunting task, at which (apart from a few minor speculations) they have has been most successful. The 'death and ressurrection' of Hiram Abif undertaken in the third ceremony or 'raising' is traced back to the king-making ceremonies of Ancient Egypt and beyond to Phoenicia. The part played by astrnomy is well explained (and should be of interest to both Jews and Christians of an enquiring disposition). A most interesting and enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightment, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found many interesting ideas about who we really are and who our teachers are. This book helps me on my long path to understand ancient sacred geometry and mathematics .The more we all search, the nearer to our God we become in our personal thoughts.Thoth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is alternative fresh thinking., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book gives your mind new directions of thought, idea's,and pushes past the limits of academia. This book shows you can interpret history from a different angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overlong, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key (Paperback)
Although I appreciate the amount of research into this Book I found it to be Boring And Repetitive, Although it started out O/K
after a while I found it was telling the same story over and over again from different sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key (Paperback)
I expected a book more packed with some exciting facts and not so "diluted" - like a story telling. To be honest, some of the opinions of the authors look to me far-fetched, or even untrue but I am not a specialist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book of Hiram, 11 April 2012
A truely insightful book involving british prehistory, and its lost knowledge traversing time via some incredible civilisations and into modern freemasonry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key
The Book Of Hiram: Unlocking the Secrets of the Hiram Key by Robert Lomas (Paperback - 5 Feb. 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews