Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that keeps its promises - excellent stuff!
I got this excellent book on a Friday afternoon and Sunday night I had read every pages of it. Does this say it all?!
It is one of these rare books one can not put down. Stella Tiltyard’s - already excellent - reputation will definitely increase through this book.
This is about King George III. and his brothers and sisters and their troublesome...
Published on 17 Feb 2006 by Amelrode

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GEORGE III TROUBLESOME FAMILY
A useful read for anyone studying the period or who just wants some background knowledge of George III extended family
Published 5 months ago by L Spraggs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that keeps its promises - excellent stuff!, 17 Feb 2006
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this excellent book on a Friday afternoon and Sunday night I had read every pages of it. Does this say it all?!
It is one of these rare books one can not put down. Stella Tiltyard’s - already excellent - reputation will definitely increase through this book.
This is about King George III. and his brothers and sisters and their troublesome relationship. The three brothers who lived their lives not according to the King’s wishes and ideas, two of the, contracting marriages which were legal but not in line with the ideas of royal marriages as their spouses were any princesses. The two sisters who married according to their ranks had pretty miserable marriages and the youngest, Caroline Matilda caused as Queen of Denmark one of the greatest royal scandals ever.
Stella Tillyard describes all this very well and in a most interesting way because she does not describe just what the personalities involved but as well why. She puts things into context, explains the way of thinking of the persons, but as well the philosophy of the time, how the royal princesses and princesses took these on board, how and how far the actions were already founded in the childhood experiences of the princes and princesses. So this book is not just about a King and his siblings but about a whole area. One understands the emotional reasons why George III. more or less against all wanted and got the Royal Marriage Act, which still governs royal marriages and often had been quite a curse.
Stella Tillyard asked as well the question where the line between public and private life of royalty lies. Well isn’t that a question we are all too familiar with?
All in all, I can only recommend this book. Do not miss it! Is excelle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A riveting read, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Potterywhizz (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Royal Affair: George III and his Troublesome Siblings (Paperback)
Royals behaving badly really is the best label for this book. Caroline Mathilda's story as the divorced and disgraced Queen of Denmark is sad but set against the mores of the times and the execution of her lover, at least she kept her head! The tales of the marriages of George 111's brothers were equally entertaining and kept me engaged to the end. It's a wonderfully gossipy and scandalous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GEORGE III TROUBLESOME FAMILY, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A useful read for anyone studying the period or who just wants some background knowledge of George III extended family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stella Tillyard's Aristocrats and Citizen Lord are fantastic reads so I was keen to read this when I saw it available on kindle. I have enjoyed it nearly as much. She takes a familar slant to Aristocrats in exploring the relationships and adventures of George III and his siblings. They are brought to life through her careful research and affection in the telling. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely woeful!, 20 April 2006
By 
I love reading about the House of Hanover, and I had very high hopes for this book. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations. In fact, it's down right bad! It's this sort of writing that turns people off the Hanoverians!

Stella Tillyard just can't make her writing compelling. There is no incentive whatsoever to read on. The book is listless, to say the least. I had hoped that not only George III, Princes Edward, Henry and William and Princess Caroline Matilda would be covered - I wanted to read more about Princess Augusta, mother of Queen Caroline, and also the other two daughters, Elizabeth and Louisa, and the son who died aged 15, Frederick William. Instead, we get to hear all about Edward, Henry and William, whose lives, though potentially interesting, are really no different than the lives of George III's sons in the next generation, bar the 'unequal' marriages Henry and William made. When hearing all about the 'fast' life Edward led, one gets the feeling that one's heard all this before, about a million different princes of that era. As for Caroline Matilda, her plight is sympathetic, but it's handled in such a drab way, it's hard to really care.

In short, this book was a disappointment. It's because of books like this that people think the Hanoverians were a boring family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving stories, 15 Aug 2006
By 
Kate Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stella Tillyard has researched deep into the archives and found wonderful material. She tells the story of George III and his siblings with grace and wisdom. The shocking story of Caroline of Denmark is particularly moving. Elegantly constructed and scrupulously contextualised in the mores of the time, 'A Royal Affair' is an excellent book. Read it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that keeps its promises - excellent stuff, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this excellent book on a Friday afternoon and Sunday night I had read every pages of it. Does this say it all?!
It is one of these rare books one can not put down. Stella Tiltyard’s - already excellent - reputation will definitely increase through this book.
This is about King George III. and his brothers and sisters and their troublesome relationship. The three brothers who lived their lives not according to the King’s wishes and ideas, two of the, contracting marriages which were legal but not in line with the ideas of royal marriages as their spouses were any princesses. The two sisters who married according to their ranks had pretty miserable marriages and the youngest, Caroline Matilda caused as Queen of Denmark one of the greatest royal scandals ever.
Stella Tillyard describes all this very well and in a most interesting way because she does not describe just what the personalities involved but as well why. She puts things into context, explains the way of thinking of the persons, but as well the philosophy of the time, how the royal princesses and princesses took these on board, how and how far the actions were already founded in the childhood experiences of the princes and princesses. So this book is not just about a King and his siblings but about a whole area. One understands the emotional reasons why George III. more or less against all wanted and got the Royal Marriage Act, which still governs royal marriages and often had been quite a curse.
Stella Tillyard asked as well the question where the line between public and private life of royalty lies. Well isn’t that a question we are all too familiar with?
All in all, I can only recommend this book. Do not miss it! Is excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Kindle, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is simply not a book to buy on Kindle. I have no quarrel at all with Miss Tillyard's scholarship, which seems sound, or style, which is informative and fluent. The trouble is, one constantly needs to refer back to earlier pages or onwards to notes and the trouble with Kindle – or, at least, the one I have – is that you can't. I bought this book on holiday, I shall now buy the paperback. Miss Tillyard gets paid twice and good luck to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Royal History, 23 July 2010
This review is from: A Royal Affair: George III and his Troublesome Siblings (Paperback)
The local University of the Third Age (U3A) invited me to speak on British Royalty at one of their gatherings. My owning "A Royal Affair; George III and his Troublesome Siblings" made a riveting start and I was very grateful to Stella Tillyard for her research. After my transfixed listeners had a taste of that period, I moved on to the offspring of George III - on to William, Victoria and the George's V & 6. The overall comment was that a whole lot of inbreeding had gone on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Royal Affair: George III and his Troublesome Siblings
A Royal Affair: George III and his Troublesome Siblings by Stella Tillyard (Paperback - 1 Feb 2007)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews