Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political puppet mastery meets Big Brother
Written under the nom de plume of Stephen Bury, this excellent black comedy blends bio-tech with political puppet mastery in a very unnerving manner.
The author has written a compelling storyline that spins a fresh perspective on the usual conspiracy theory, and if you like your future-tech sprinkled with a generious measure of political intrigue, then this will most...
Published on 25 Nov 2001 by naughtyelephants@aol.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Cryptonomicon
I loved Cryptonomicon just as much as i loved The Baroque Trilogy. This is a huge disappointment beside those. I don't know what happened - whether it was the result of it being a collaborative effort maybe, but I didn't feel the least sympathy for any of the characters. We get a predictably heroic Governor, a predictably beautiful and brilliant-at-everything daughter,...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by S. Cryer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political puppet mastery meets Big Brother, 25 Nov 2001
This review is from: Interface (Paperback)
Written under the nom de plume of Stephen Bury, this excellent black comedy blends bio-tech with political puppet mastery in a very unnerving manner.
The author has written a compelling storyline that spins a fresh perspective on the usual conspiracy theory, and if you like your future-tech sprinkled with a generious measure of political intrigue, then this will most certainly satisfy.
The main character actually reminded me a lot of Sargeant Bobby Shaftoe, the morphine-dependant marine from Cryptonomicon - another Stephenson classic.
It follows the fate of a Governor in mid-western America afflicted by a stroke and the people around him who are bent on controlling him for their own ends.
Think political Big Brother, but without the fame-obsessed residents, think Tony Blair with a game controller interface implant patched straight into your own tv.
This book is a must for all cyberpunk afficionados who are looking for something a bit more down to earth. You should also take the time to track down the excellent 'Cobweb' which is the other Stephen Bury masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining cyberpunk political thriller, 4 April 2010
By 
Anne Patterson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interface (Paperback)
This was a highly entertaining read. The book was published in 1994 with the story set in the presidential campaign of the then future of 1996, but it hasn't really dated. The shadowy conspiracy which manipulates things behind the scenes on a global scale is reminiscent of Robert Anton Wilson's Illuminati. The story skillfully weaves together political thriller & cyberpunk with satirical depictions of media manipulation within political campaigning, which are probably all too close to what really happens. The story builds to a satisfying dramatic climax. If you enjoy Neal's other books, you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable story, but packed with typos and spelling mistakes!, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Interface (Paperback)
Has this new printing of Interface been badly OCRed, like many e-book issues these days? I guess I'll never know unless I find an original printing. The errors come fairly regularly throughout the whole book.
Other than that, whilst this isn't top of the list for people discovering Stephenson, it is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Cryptonomicon, 8 Nov 2010
By 
S. Cryer (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Interface (Paperback)
I loved Cryptonomicon just as much as i loved The Baroque Trilogy. This is a huge disappointment beside those. I don't know what happened - whether it was the result of it being a collaborative effort maybe, but I didn't feel the least sympathy for any of the characters. We get a predictably heroic Governor, a predictably beautiful and brilliant-at-everything daughter, pop-up bad guys, and a waster who suddenly and inexplicably goes off his rocker and decides to kill the Governor.

I love Stephenson's works, and this was a good idea, but ultimately it was unbelievable and unrecommendable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good cyber/crime novel, 11 Feb 2003
This review is from: Interface (Paperback)
Reading about the book in references in various scietific (HCI and STS) articles and books regarding I got an impression of Interface as a rather serious cyber fiction novel with heavy emphasis on "interface".
Instead I got a crime novel with certain cyber fiction traits. However it did provide for solid entertainment with a thought provoking edge. It does present an interesting implementation of human extrasensory interfacing technology.
However, the book is littered with spelling mistakes and typos. Way too many to ignore, it's like nobody ever prrofread the book. That makes it four stars rather than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interface
Interface by Neal Stephenson (Paperback - 5 Sep 2002)
8.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews