Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detective work on the Norfolk Broads, 1 May 2001
The other group of children that Arthur Ransome created, the Death or Glories and Tom Dudgeon, Port and Starboard, collectively known as the Coot Club are here embroiled in another adventure. Accompanied by the Ds, whom avid readers will know from earlier AR books, they turn detective and track down the villians who are casting off boats on the Norfolk Broads. As usual Arthur Ransome was writing in a class of his own. A note of caution: don't imagine that Norfolk and the surrounding countryside, especially Lowestoft, bears any resemblance to the places described in these books. The last two thirds of the 20th century were not kind to our poor old country and nowhere is this more starkly illustrated than in our seaside towns.Read the book instead and dream of life before the car was king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but the pay-off is worth it!, 3 Dec 2009
By 
HLT (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Six (Hardcover)
The Big Six follows on directly from Coot Club, telling the continuing story of the young "Death-and-Glories" -- aka Pete, Bill and Joe -- who were fairly minor (though still important) characters in the earlier book. The Death-and-Glories are accused of casting off boats, and end up being blamed for this and other things, even by people who were formerly their friends and who should really have known better. The first half of the book sets up this situation, with the "Death and Glories" (and their fellow Coot Club member Tom) watching helplessly as everyone from the local policeman to the grocer turns against them. There's not a lot of dramatic excitement at this point; Tom and the Death-and-Glories are excellent at everything to do with boats, but they don't have the skills needed to fight against what's essentially a criminal conspiracy, so you just have to watch as things go from bad to worse.

The action really kicks off once Dick and Dorothea arrive to visit the Coots and to stay with the Admiral (Mrs Barrable from Coot Club). Though inexperienced in sailing and river life, it turns out that the D's have a lot to offer when it comes to detection and investigation. Dick's analytical brain (and camera) and Dorothea's imaginative, empathic nature (and notebooks) soon have the Coots organised into "Scotland Yard" with all kinds of evidence-gathering, deductions, and trap-setting. The investigation, climax and final confrontations are terrific.

And along the way there's Ransome's usual forays into the lives of people who live and play among boats: a glorious fishing exploit, an overnight visit to an eel catcher, and more. I can imagine some readers giving up because of the slow start -- and that would be a shame because they'll miss out on a superbly exciting middle and end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story about defending honour and upholding truth, 21 April 2008
This review is from: The Big Six (Hardcover)
Defending the poor Death and Glories against the infamous behaviour of the middle-class Coot Club enemy George. Superb story, easy to read out loud, and addressing serious issues without damaging the narrative or excitement. My 8 year old daughter just wanted more and more of this story. The fact that it's old fashioned worries her not a whit. Strangely enough I never read this story as a child - wish I had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars slightly sad sequel, 31 May 2011
By 
David Baker (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should say first that Coot Club was one of my very favorite books, coming to it as an adult. The atmosphere and mix of stories caught my imagination, even if as usual the character development was minimal. So finding there was a sequel was wonderful, and this is certainly a good book, with the Death and Glories a likeable change from the posh kids, and D&D also very likeable and playing strong roles too. I guess i just found it a bit sad, with the continuing trouble and unfairness facing the Death and Glories putting a cloud over the book, not balanced by enough fun!
Make sure you get an edition with a nice cover, like the wonderful yellow or stylised blue Puffins. Other (newer?) editions are dismal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book From My Past, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Six (Swallows And Amazons) (Paperback)
I have always wanted this book I tried and failed to read it as a child so decided I wanted to get a copy and read it as an adult. I ordered it and it came quickly and before the expected date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Jackie Brown "Mum" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We haven't enjoyed this book as much as the previous ones in the series, but we are still reading it. Perhaps it will improve later in the book. Still, it isn't bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Yarn, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Six (Swallows And Amazons) (Paperback)
So, you know who did it from the beginning if you've read Coot Club, but that only helps you empathise with the death and glory boys as they try to prove their innocence. Super story for kids and sixty year olds! Oh, book arrived in excellent condition and ahead of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am aiming to get all the Arthur Ransom books on my kindle and to re-read them as they were my favourite childhood books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Six, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. Took me back to the days when I grew up in Norfolk. Now that I have a kindle I am catching up on all the books I didn't read in my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but ...., 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Big Six (Swallows And Amazons) (Paperback)
...certainly well worth the read if you are an Arthur Ransome fan. A different group of friends and a follow up to Coot Club, so no Swallows and Amazons here. And I did, as did another reviewer, find that the trials anhd tribulations that befell the youngsters was rather overdone and the good clean fun rather thin on the ground. However every author has his ups and downs and this was only a little below his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Six (Swallows And Amazons)
The Big Six (Swallows And Amazons) by Arthur Ransome (Paperback - 6 Sep 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews