Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but simplified
Interesting book. Personaly I thinik that Himanen's discourse of the hacker ethic is probably based on too few informants. Eric Raymond is used heavily, and he is an eccentric even among hackers. Being such a thin book it's also quite superficial I feel. But his points about work ethic does stand even so. Definitly worth a read, and if you ever speak to a sociologist...
Published on 22 Jan. 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snappy Title, Not So Clear on the Details
This isn't at all bad, but if you want an idea of what makes hackers tick, you'd be better off reading Glyn Moody's history of open source software, Rebel Code. He's interviewed all the great hackers about their reasons for doing what they do (which are about as varied as you can imagine, whatever the author of the Hacker Ethic might like to think).
One other thing,...
Published on 4 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but simplified, 22 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
Interesting book. Personaly I thinik that Himanen's discourse of the hacker ethic is probably based on too few informants. Eric Raymond is used heavily, and he is an eccentric even among hackers. Being such a thin book it's also quite superficial I feel. But his points about work ethic does stand even so. Definitly worth a read, and if you ever speak to a sociologist that's interested in technology it's sure to give you something to talk about :-)
Getting to the epilogue by Castells I completely lost track. Castells kept pulling in more and more context until I overflowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good philosophy, but preaches to the converted, 26 May 2002
By 
J. Brand "jbrand" (Somewhere else) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
This book is great for the first six chapters. You'll come away from reading this knowing exactly why you should work on Sunday and play on Friday and why if your boss doesn't understand it's because he's still stuck in the 19th century. But after that it tries to overextend the analogies of corporate life and industrialisation. There's nothing wrong with the analogy but it didn't need to be pushed so far.
A great comparison of individualism and indutrialisation, creativity and the production line, morality and profit, (linux and microsoft?), intellectual honesty and trade secrets. Its comparisons of the two models are not investigated very deeply but if you have more than a passing familiarity with the two models you'll recognise why one wins over the other in all cases. Unfortunately I suspect that unless you have that understanding this wi ll do little to explain what the difference really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 9 Feb. 2003
By 
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
If you expecting a book about the guys who created Linux or founded the open source movement then look elsewhere. What you get here is a discussion on ethics and the philosophy behind meaningful work which, to my mind, is much more interesting.
In particular, Himanen's comparison of the hacker ethic to the protestant work ethic struck me as apposite. There's lots of other good stuff in there too, including a great joke about God designing the earth by committee (well, it made me smile).
The introduction by Linus Torvalds is certainly worth a read, although I found the final chapter by Manuel Castells a little verbose - to me, it was stylistically quite different from either of the other authors and seemed out of place.
All in all though, I'd thoroughly recommend this book. It's a quick read and most people will get something out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snappy Title, Not So Clear on the Details, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
This isn't at all bad, but if you want an idea of what makes hackers tick, you'd be better off reading Glyn Moody's history of open source software, Rebel Code. He's interviewed all the great hackers about their reasons for doing what they do (which are about as varied as you can imagine, whatever the author of the Hacker Ethic might like to think).
One other thing, the author is Pekka Himanen. Linus Torvalds only wrote a short introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent walk around a hackers ideology, 28 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. T. Wylie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
Picked it up, and didn't put it down until I finished it. I read about the world I knew and the world I wanted to know. I read about what ideology that drives current business and the alternative ideology I want to instill in others. In short, I read a synopsis of how it is and a guide to how it should be. Compuslive... PS I then read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Philosophical, 3 May 2004
This review is from: The Hacker Ethic (Hardcover)
Certainly an interesting read on the core values the "Hacker" supposedly stands by. It makes frequent references to "The Protestant Work ethic and the spirit of capitalism" and I think if you consider it along those lines then you see what the book's really getting at. It's more an attack on Capitalism and questions why we do certain things. The Monday - Friday 9 - 5 way is put under attack and capitalist motives are questioned.
A decent read, full of philosophy but still well applied to the modern Open Source Community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hacker Ethic
The Hacker Ethic by Manuel Castells (Hardcover - 1 Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews