Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fourth Book in an Excellent Series
Candace Robb has read and researched medieval history for many years, having studied for a Ph.D. in Medieval and Anglo-Saxon Literature. She divides her time between Seattle and the UK, frequently spending time in Scotland and York to research her books.

York is very close to my own home and many of the places mentioned in the Owen Archer books are still there...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull as ditchwater
My first and probably last of the Owen Archer novels. Little mystery here. Its all fairly predictable and mind numbingly slow. I found this quite hard to read as the dialogue, although doubtless true to the period, lacks fluidity and humour. The main characters are hardly inspirational and I found little to keep me engrossed.
Published on 3 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fourth Book in an Excellent Series, 10 Mar 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
Candace Robb has read and researched medieval history for many years, having studied for a Ph.D. in Medieval and Anglo-Saxon Literature. She divides her time between Seattle and the UK, frequently spending time in Scotland and York to research her books.

York is very close to my own home and many of the places mentioned in the Owen Archer books are still there to be seen and of course Archbishop John Thorseby is mentioned in the records of York Minster. All this adds spice for me and helps me to picture the time and events that took place. This is the fourth novel in what is proving to be a captivating series.

Owen Archer, the one-eyed former captain of a company of Welsh archers finds himself working on behalf of the king, to promote Wykeham as the new Bishop of Winchester. Owen places his old comrade Ned in charge of a company travelling to Rievaulx Abbey, north of the city of York. By doing this he hopes to dispel the rumours of Ned's involvement in a mysterious death. But is his plan about to back fire on him as days later, the murders and intrigue begin . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and Authentic, 15 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
Owen Archer ranks right up there with Cadfael as one of my all time favourite sleuths. The atmospheric detail surrounding the plot provides us with a sometimes all too realistic medieval experience, you can almost smell it! A book to immerse yourself in for a pleasurable while. I can't wait to move on to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book in good nick and a good read, 6 Dec 2013
By 
N. Dungey "niki by the sea" (devon uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
this is number 4 and now on number 5 - and bought the whole series because the characters grow and develop well. never found a series that did not bore me by the 3rd if not the 2nd one. so its been nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just another great read, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, easy to read and a plot which twists and turns. Interesting historical information makes this book even more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starts badly, finishes well., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
I have read several of this series and have enjoyed all of them. However I almost gave up reading this before a quarter through because I considered the quality very poor. I persevered and behold! there was a remarkable improvement. With this qualification I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good quality historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Owen Archer is a superb series. Having read the first six I have just purchased the next four.Plus Candace Robbs A Trust Betrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all these books, it is a pity that there is not any more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Owen Archer Mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candace Robb, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
My daughter is collecting these books. A very good price. Cannot comment on the content as it is not to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull as ditchwater, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
My first and probably last of the Owen Archer novels. Little mystery here. Its all fairly predictable and mind numbingly slow. I found this quite hard to read as the dialogue, although doubtless true to the period, lacks fluidity and humour. The main characters are hardly inspirational and I found little to keep me engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery)
The King's Bishop (The Fourth Owen Archer Mystery) by Candace Robb (Paperback - 28 May 1996)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews