Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Grand
Perhaps one of the most delightful of Ms. Heyer’s Regncy Romances, The Grand Sophy is a treat from beginning to end.
If Mr. Charles Rivenhall could have foreseen the havoc his cousin Sophia (Sophy to friends) would wreck in his life he would never have allowed his mother to invite her for a visit. Or would he?
For Sophy is as irresistible as she is...
Published on 18 Nov 2005 by shagufta

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Abridged
The abridged version of this brilliant book, one of Heyer's best, loses a lot of the story's panache and vivacity. Some picturesque characters and their story lines are virtually omitted altogether. What a shame. I was really disappointed.
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Abridged, 1 Nov 2011
The abridged version of this brilliant book, one of Heyer's best, loses a lot of the story's panache and vivacity. Some picturesque characters and their story lines are virtually omitted altogether. What a shame. I was really disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Version of The Grand Sophy, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed in this abridged version of The Grand Sophy. It seemed to me that all Georgette Heyer's comedy was left out and surely this is what makes her books so special and so different. More time should be spent with the reading and less or none on music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The grand sophy, 4 Jun 2012
Very disappointing. The book has lost all of its character. Whoever decided to approve this version does not understand heyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Grand, 18 Nov 2005
By 
shagufta (karachi Pakistan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
Perhaps one of the most delightful of Ms. Heyer’s Regncy Romances, The Grand Sophy is a treat from beginning to end.
If Mr. Charles Rivenhall could have foreseen the havoc his cousin Sophia (Sophy to friends) would wreck in his life he would never have allowed his mother to invite her for a visit. Or would he?
For Sophy is as irresistible as she is incorrigible. From the moment she steps into this sombre household she sees that they are all sadly in need of her help. Beautiful Cecilia is pining away in her love for a poet; poor Herbert is in the clutches of a moneylender and Charles himself is betrothed to the most depressing female imaginable. But Sophy is nothing if not resourceful. With wit and charm as her only weapons, she sets out to sort out the family’s problems, and in the process finds her true love as well.
Heyer’s brilliant wit and intelligent humour make her work stand head and shoulders above the rest. Avoiding the usual clichés of this genre, she endows her heroines with as much brain as beauty and an independence of spirit that makes them so much fun to read about.
If you feel romance novels should be explicitly passionate, Heyer may not be for you. But if a comedy of manners, with engaging characters, hilarious dialogue and between-the-lines romance is your cup of tea, The Grand Sophy is just the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Regency romance, 30 April 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Kindle Edition)
Sophy Stanton-Lacey is staying with her aunt and uncle - Lord and Lady Ombersley - at their house in Berkeley Square. Sophy horrifies and delights them by arriving accompanied by a horse, Salamanca, a parrot and a monkey, not to speak of her greyhound, Tina. The parrot and the monkey are for the children of the household. It is a household in a sorry state.

Charles, the oldest son, is betrothed to a lady who seems lacking in the slightest sense of humour; Cecilia has fallen in love with an impoverished poet and Hubert, a younger son, is deep in debt. Sophy vows to sort everyone out and find a husband for herself as well.

Full of amusing incidents and fascinating characters this is one of Georgette Heyer's liveliest Regency romances and one of the most delightful. It is interesting to see the effect the energetic Sophy has on the rather depressed household especially when she decides to organise a ball for four hundred guests without her hostess knowing exactly how many people are coming.

This is one of my favourite novels probably because nothing defeats the redoubtable Sophy. I love the humour and the way the characters interact especially the way the apparently stuffy Charles soon starts to reveal a much lighter side to his character. If you haven't tried Georgette Heyer before then this would be an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious examples..., 2 May 2011
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
After reading Laurel Ann's review there can only be left the addition of some hilarious quotes from this lovely book.

She laughed. 'Oh, that is too bad of you, Sir Vincent! I don't create disturbances: you know I don't!'
'I know nothing of the kind, my child. When last I saw you, you were engaged in arranging in the most ruthless fashion the affairs of the most bewildered family of Belgians I have yet encountered. They had all my sympathy, but there was nothing I could do to help them: I know my limitations.'
'Those poor Le Bruns! Well, but SOMEONE had to help them out of such a tangle!'

'And Charles Rivenhall is therefore your cousin. (...) Almost my heart goes out to the family. Do they tread blindly towards their doom, Sophy, or did they willingly receive a firebrand into their midst?'
She gave a chuckle. 'They tread blindly - but I am NOT a firebrand!'
'No, I used the wrong word. You are like poor Whinyates's rockets: no one knows what you will do next!'

He said stiffly: 'Since you have brought up Miss Wraxton's (his fiancée) name, I shall be much obliged to you, cousin, if you will refrain from telling my sisters that she has a face like a horse!'
'But, Charles, no blame attaches to Miss Wraxton! She cannot help it, and that, I ASSURE you, I have always pointed out to your sisters!'
'I consider Miss Wraxton's countenance particularly well-bred!'
'Yes, indeed, but you have quite misunderstood the matter! I MEANT a particularly well-bred horse!'
'You meant, as I am perfectly aware, to belittle Miss Wraxton!'
'No, no! I am very fond of horses!' Sophy said earnestly.

He burst out laughing. 'Major Quinton spoke nothing but the truth about you!' he declared. 'I am already terrified of you!'
She smiled, but said: 'Well, you need not be, for I mean to help you.'
'That is what terrifies me.'
(...)
'Do you know,' he said seriously, 'you are the most startling female it has ever been my fortune to meet? You will observe that I do not say good or ill fortune, for I haven't the smallest notion which it will prove to be!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Georgette Heyer, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
I do believe this is my favorite of all Georgette Heyer's books in the regency romance genre. Sophy has had a very unique upbringing having tagged along with her father in his role of diplomat to various countries on the Continent including traveling with the army. As such, she has encountered life in its many forms and this has enabled her "managing" personality" to understand why and how different folks need her help.

When her father, Sir Horace, decides it is past time for Sophy to be introduced to a London Season, he travels to England to enlist the aid of his sister, Lady Ombersley, in order to have Sophy presented and to hopefully obtain a husband. Lady Ombersley has several of her own children to tend, a husband who thinks of little else besides his own entertainment, a younger son who is in the suds for gaming, a daughter who is in love with a frivolous poet, an older son, Charles, who has had no other choice but to take over the management and the purse strings of the family and who has had to be the "adult" to say "no" to anything frivolous and endeavor to keep his siblings out of their various follies. Needless to say, Lady Ombersley is in over her head trying to keep peace among her own family.

But... help is soon to arrive in the persona of the "Grand Sophy" and she is indeed grand. From the moment, she arrives on the scene, she takes over everyone's life without actually stepping on anyone's toes - well, except for the staid Charles' toes, that is. Sophy is one of the most fascinating heroines in this genre. She has wisdom, tact, honor and she can stand head to head and toe to toe with the tyrannical Charles. When she realizes he is engaged to a strait-laced, tattle tale, young woman, she eventually decides she must stick her nose into his affairs even while she is sorting out the rest of the family.

Lovely book, lovely romance. This is the best of the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 14 Mar 2001
By 
Ms. Fiona E. Middlemist (Nothumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
This Heyer title ranks among my favourites (admittedly there are quite a lot of them in this category...) Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy a diplomat (though one wonders), on being posted to South America from Europe lands his "little" Sophy on his sister, who presides over a rather unhappy household. But never mind, Sophy will sort it out. I'm not going to say any more. For those who know Heyer, this is a most delightful example of her work. If you are new to her, I don't think you could do better than start here. You will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a heroine to admire!, 13 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
In the Grand Sophy, GH has created one of her greatest heroine. Sent to stay with her Aunt when her unconventional Father gets sent to South America on a Diplomatic mission, fearless, tireless and infinitely resourceful, Sophy sets about putting her Aunt's household to rights, throwing her relatives into confusion, with results even Sophy herself may not predict!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a romp, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Kindle Edition)
Read it about 20 years ago and loved it at the time. Remembered it and it is still as good as I remembered it the first time around. Thoroughly enjoyable. You can't read too many Georgette Heyer in a row, they get a bit....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grand Sophy
The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 7 Mar 1991)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews