Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, although scary, reading for all medical students
Wow, I could not put this down. As a medical student and a part time healthcare assistant I am aware of two views of the medical profession and found this book to be very accurate in terms of interstaff relationships and attitude. The thoughts and inexperience of the newly qualified doctor are vividly portrayed, although this may scare some medical students (and members...
Published on 1 July 2002

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No more 'authentic' than any of the soaps
The scariest thing about this book is the final sentence on the back-cover blurb: "...(a) disturbingly authentic dispatch from the frontline of hospital life". Jed Mercurio has made a name for himself by tapping into the recognition that hospital soaps used to portray a one-sided, glamorous view of hospital life, and deliberately portraying the other side: medical...
Published on 24 Mar 2003 by Dr. James Austin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the serious reader., 5 July 2014
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
This is an excellent read. I picked up the book after seeing the TV series ( a must see for any series viewer) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Do not read this if you are due in hospital, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
Not sure I can say I enjoyed this book, but it was difficult to put down. Gives a bleak picture of the NHS, and some insight into a range of awful situations, which surely cannot all have been experienced by one person and in a short space of time? Or could they? I read it for a book club, and it promoted the most discussion we have had in over three years, maybe due to the fact that we have nurses in the group!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow disappointed, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
Interesting book, specially if you are a medicine student. It could use some corrections, though. It lacks some punctuation marks so it can be confusing at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling insight into hospital's life, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
The book is fascinating and fast-paced and tells us about the weary, hectic, and drawn out life of a junior hospital doctor. The hospital scenes are realistic and gripping. The storytelling is very good and the lives of the patients skillfully conveyed. The character appears to have an obsession with bodies and there are quite a few steamy sex scenes, which do feel out of place at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writer, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Apple Pie (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
Mercurio's books are tightly written, well structured and good at suspense. As an ex-doctor, Mercurio shows his terrific knowledge of the subject matter in this book and leaves the reader guessing until the end how it will finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its just a bit of fun, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
It never ceases to amaze me how offended people can be by a work of fiction.
This is rollicking good fun.
Its bleak, dark and unpleasant , but that`s half the fun.
Anyone who denies dysfunctional departments like this dont exist in the NHS has their head shoved up their bottom.
Its a work of fiction, but elements of the characters are recognisable as personality traits in doctors with whom I have worked over the years, and I doubt I`m alone
Ignore the nay sayers.......this is one of the better works of medical fiction out there.
The DVD is also a steal on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As painful as any illness but as addictive as any drug, 9 Feb 2004
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
Just finished reading what can only be described as a breathless work set inside the wonderful world of the British NHS. This is fiction on speed as we're plunged head first into the out-of-control world of a Junior Doctor who is realising that the job he always dreamed of doing is actually the job from hell, but an addictive one at that. Other readers have commented on the lack of charactertisation within the book but they fail to see that this isn't Casualty or ER or Holby City, it's purely and simply a story about the self destruction of a talented young doctor. The writing is fast, furious and sometimes stomach turning, it'll turn you off of any faith you once had for the National Health Service and it will scare you senseless when you realise that maybe, actually, the Doctors really don't care, because actually we're all just bodies to them. This is a work of fiction, but what frightens me is that it is written by an ex Doctor. Is he whistle blowing on the events he's seen or is it purely his imagination talking?
Either way, a fantastic read which I cannot recommend enough. And am I the only one to realise that you never get to learn the name of the main character?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but almost a great book., 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
This was almost a fantastic book. Mercurio created The true feeling of a large teaching hospital's 'working interior', with it's isolated, claustrophobic and air conditioned atmosphere, together with the seperation between the medics and so called civilians. The major problem I found with this book was character development. I wasn't expecting to feel anything for the patients ( as after watching Cardiac Arrest on TV I had an idea what the point of view would be) but I did expect to understand the motivations of the medics, especially some of the more senior members of staff.
However, it is a cracking read, which keeps up a good pace and never loses your interest. It did keep me enthralled till the final page, and I did find the glossary at the end both informative and entertaining, especially the listing for alcoholic!
Read it at your own risk however, as I now never want to have to go to hospital, especially in August!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it like it is..., 1 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
I've worked for the last ten years in the Health Service and can honestly say that this is the most realistic portrayal of medicine that I've come across. Forget what Holby City, Casualty and some senior managers and clinicians with their heads in the sky say and portray, this book shows the laughable no blame (not!) culture that is the NHS in all its glory- A fitting follow up to Cardiac Arrest
Non clincians should be warned at its brutality and honesty, neurotic patients are probably best advised to stay away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a true representation at all, 7 May 2002
This review is from: Bodies (Paperback)
The author's previous success as far as medics were concerned was that he wrote from their perspective and portrayed life as a junior doctor experiences it. In this book however he tries to go a step further and reveal the corruption of the seniors - without ever having continued to the position himself to know what he's writing about. As fiction it's a good story for those not in the business but, as a senior doctor, this just made me crosser and crosser as I read it. It just doesn't accurately portray how the UK system handles it's problems. House of God is loved by doctors because it's an accurate representation of a junior's life - this has no credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bodies
Bodies by Jed Mercurio (Paperback - 6 Mar 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews