Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Season to Remember!
A great book loosely based upon Verona's epic 2000-2001 Season in Serie A. The book is in diary form, so the author, like the reader, doesn't know the eventual outcome when he writes each chapter. This somehow adds to the excitement whilst reading it.
As well as Verona the book covers many asides in all sorts of areas such as Italian politics, hooliganism, life in...
Published on 28 July 2005 by R. P. Sedgwick

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was led to believe this would involve something of a travelogue as well as the football. But no, it's purely football, specifically Verona and their fans. It's not amusing, it focuses solely on the minutiae of Veronese football. In fact it's as dry and dead as an Italian lawn in high summer. The author's a decent writer, but this is tedious.
Published 14 months ago by R. Deasey


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Per sempre Gialloblu!, 23 Oct 2006
By 
A. Herniman (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
I won't bore you with my loquacious opinion on this magnificent book (other people have done that probably better than I can among these readers' reviews). No, I will simply tell you the truth.

When I finished reading the book in May 2003, I booked a flight to Verona and a hotel near l'Arena, and went to the stadium for the last game of that season (Bari, 1-1, for the statiticians among you). I had to see la Curva Sud for myself. Since then, having made friends with one or two members of I Piu Mati (ciao Christian, ciao Alberto, ciao Fabio!) I've been back several times (including a memorable 5-3 win over rivals Vicenza [di merda!]) and they've even been over to see my humble bunch of sleeping giants (the West Country's top team, Bristol City. Well, excluding Yeovil). In short, the book inspired me, it coursed through my veins and I was like a junkie, needing a fix of the Brigate Gialloblu (minus the violenza!). A terrific, vibrant, inspiring read. Forza Signor Tim!

(PS If you liked the social/cultural/non-football parts to the book, make sure you read his Italian Neighbours and Italian Education books. The description of which coffee to drink when in the former book is as good as the opening chapter of A Season With Verona)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
As a fan Of football and more specifically Italian Football, on seeing this book I decided to but it, and what a read. From the moment the season begins it is one rollercoaster ride of a game after another, well written and brilliantly funny Tim Parks makes a seemingly un-glamourous football team into a group of players you actually care about. It is however the fans stories that are the most interesting and it is these that really make the book. The passion that these fans show for Hellas Verona is incredible. I have certainly become a fan of the best team in Verona and indeed of the writer Tim Parks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
One of the best books about football ever, and a superb dissection of contemporary Italy to boot.
Parks supports unfashionable, vilified Hellas Verona - he's lived in the Veneto for more than 20 years. Last season he went to every game, home and away, and his account of the travails of the club is a potent critique of fandom.
Not one for the kind of people who think books about football should be written in the platitudinous style of the mainstream press and inarticulate "pundits", but a great (and original) essay on what it means to be a football supporter and the unique joys and trials of Italy's Serie A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable - Every football supporter should read it., 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
What a great book, it accurately describes the elation, pain angusih and heartache suffered by every true fan of every small team. Mixed with excellent descriptions of the various locations creating just the right atmosphere - even the songs are the same!. Very few travel based books have held my attention in the way this has- Tim Parks achieves this by maintaining an excellent balance between the neutral narrator and the rabid fan!
Excellent work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICO!, 12 Aug 2002
By 
Paul Spicer (London, England) - See all my reviews
For those of us who love football, Tim Parks' story of his season following Serie A (now B), club side Hellas Verona is one that all fans of the beautiful game can relate to. Watching all the home games from his regular seat, and travelling the length and bredth of Italy to the away games with the Brigate, the press and the team!
You can only admire Parks' love for football, and we also get an insight into a country bubbling over with passion at subjects as diverse as football and religion, as well as learning of the age old rivalries between the cities and regions of Italy.
Scandals, racism, some classic 'one liners' from the Brigate,
if this book had been a work of fiction, then most of us would have belittled it as too outrageous!
When reading it, check out the Brigate's insults at the Juve fans in Turin! Priceless:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - Truly Engaging, 10 Mar 2003
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
A Season With Verona--- Tim Parks has written yet another fantastic book. A Season immediately captured my attention and engulfed my life. He passionately describes this great game and offers the utmost respect to the game itself.
The stories within the story are impressive, passionate, and absolutely hilarious. The book offers true insight into the minds of players, coaches, and fans.
A reader can't help but become captivated within each game, even at times, thinking you are in the curva sud with the brigate gialloblu.
The book also offers great representations about Italian history (cities, players, politicians, etc.), culture, daily routines, food, politics, academics, and the financial operations of a club.
A must read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey through Italy with Hellas Verona fans, 29 Jan 2003
By 
Fortini Filippo (Viterbo, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
A Season with Verona is a long love letter that Mr. Parks writes to express his unconditional yet never biased affection for a city and its people. It's a also a tribute to soccer fans throughout the world, to those people, often maligned and regarded as rather childish by those who don't really quite understand why adults should waste (in their opinions) time and money in such a trivial matter. Mr. Parks depicts Hellas Verona fans and soccer fans in general not with the disdain often used by "cultured" people, but rather with terms normally reserved to those capable of great passions and noble gestures. The book is funny and full of anecdotes that will make you laugh hysterically, but at the same time it is also a thorough examination of one's feelings toward whatever we deem being worth of our love and passion. For those described in the book, soccer happens to be the object of such passion and what Mr. Parks brilliantly shows throughout the book is that there's nothing wrong with it. Other than that this book is a must for soccer fans, especially of those teams that often struggle just to avoid relegation, and for whomever has experienced the highs and lows of a game seen from the terrace. Definitely a book for true soccer fans but not only for them; whoever enjoys passion, intelligent arguments, and funny anecdotes, should buy this book without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Support, 17 Sep 2009
By 
H. Delaney "tictastic" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
Reading this book brought back many memories of when I was a teenager and travelling far and wide supporting Celtic. Many of the real characters Tim Parks tells us of I could actually put faces too as memories of long coach trips and train journeys came flooding back. Any real football who remembers when we were able to stand and watch our team will enjoy this season long journey undertaken by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellento, 10 Mar 2003
This review is from: A Season With Verona (Paperback)
A great idea for a book and this is a great and interesting read. Hellas Verona much like my team Norwich City, haven't really won much. Straight away I could relate to the book.
The amazing story of the club and it's fans gripped me throughout. Their friends and rivals in the Italian league is also pretty amazing and quite bizzare. I knew quite a bit about Italian Football before I read this book but this provides you with some great views on the Italian league that I haven't really come across before.
Tim Parks includes a great insight to the fans of Hellas Verona and the extermists within Brigate Gialloblu (Verona's hardcore fans). The story starts with a superbly written piece on a bus journey to Bari. The twists and turns on this journey alone is enough for a book!
The sad state of Hooliganism, Rascism and Fascism in Italian football is well explained and I think Parks restrains himself well not to get involved with the politics in these matters. The authorities clearly need to sort this out!
It took me less than a week to read (450pgs) so that shows it really is a gripping book and one I couldn't wait to get back to read.
One of the best books I've ever read and a 'must buy' for all passionate football fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Season with Verona, 24 Oct 2003
By 
Alan R (Edinburgh, Home of Hearts FC) - See all my reviews
What can I say about this book. This is the best book I have read in a long long while.
From beginning to finish, this book was gripping and tense and gave a sense of what small provincal Italian teams go through in a typical season.
The book also gave an insight into the darker side of football, holliganism, but with the way it was written, it seems that the fans are not blame and it is the police who aggrivate the situation and make it worse.
All can say is that if you have a passion for football and like to experience the joys and sorrows that real fans go through in a season, this is the book to read.
I guarantee, once you pick up this book, you will find it very very difficult to put down again.
Well done to Tim Parks, we need more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Season With Verona
A Season With Verona by Tim Parks (Paperback - 6 Mar 2003)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews