Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars36
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2015
The early chapters of the book make for compelling reading, full of interest and detail. There does come a point when one wonders how much one really wants to know about Venice, and one imagines Ackroyd felt the same because the style deteriorates to becoming list-like as the feature of Venice (e.g. churches) is exhaustively documented. It does pick up again for the last chapter and provides a really insightful look at Venice and its history, a city we all think we know of but in fact readers will find they don't know it well. Readers of Donna Leone will find it interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
What a pity Peter Ackroyd doesn't have anything interesting or original to say about Venice. This book comprises a series of seemingly unrelated and unsubstantiated assertions, without the benefit of any argument or evidence. I, too, could make a lot of sweeping generalisations about Venice, but why would I? And who would believe me? I don't believe Peter Ackroyd and I don't know why any publisher felt that there was a need for this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read it just before taking an art history course on Venetian art and subsequently a trip to Venice. It therefore gave me a good understanding of Venice's history and its people prior to embarking on both. Peter Ackroyd's books are so informative and this didn't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
It is a sort of history of Venice, It has only just arrived, so I can only describe it as an interesting book with some very nice pictures, a lot are old black and white with lots of details, plus some coloured ones. The Author is a good writer so I am looking forward to reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
An easy synopsis of Venician history for beginners on the trade and quirks of ritual in venice, however I did find one chapter quite hard to follow in regards to the Venician army but despite of that one of the best historical cultural quick reads I've liked reading in a long time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This is a history and analysis of the rise of Venice written with a novelist's eye. Ackroyd's ability to conjure a sense of place is overwhelming and turns history into a vibrant, sensual journey, rather than the standard dry rendering facts and supposition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
I am a big fan of Peter Ackroyd. I started with his History of Britain books and decided to buy Venice as a result. It does not disappoint in any way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Great book - if you are visiting Venice this adds so much to your understanding of the City if that makes a difference to your enjoyment of your visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
I was really keen to read a popular account of the history of Venice, but this one, I'm afraid, doesn't work for me. On page 30 (that's as far as I got after five or six attempts to get into it), the author says "The city was built in brick but disguised by marble" - I think this could serve as a valid metaphor for the author's attempts at linguistic and philosophical embellishment of his own edifice.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Purchased as gift for a very frequent visitor to Venice. I am sure it will be well received and is excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.69
£14.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)