Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A House in Corfu
I loved this book. Not only is it well written - I was living in a timeless world amongst the olive groves, as of page one - it also answered an important question for me: Most of us probably dream of finding a wonderful, magical place, of being able to do up a crumbling Tuscan farm house or Venetian villa,or of building a dream home on the sea, as Emma Tennant's family...
Published on 16 July 2002 by Michaela Jordain

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and just plain boring
I love Corfu. Not the Kavos's and Sidari's which are thankfully far and few between but the hidden coves and mountain villages, so I thought this book would be an interesting read but it is painfully bad. The writing is drawn out and tiresome with very little to say. It could just about have been a good magazine artical if edited but as a book it is hard work and just...
Published on 8 Jan. 2011 by Issy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A House in Corfu, 16 July 2002
By 
Michaela Jordain (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
I loved this book. Not only is it well written - I was living in a timeless world amongst the olive groves, as of page one - it also answered an important question for me: Most of us probably dream of finding a wonderful, magical place, of being able to do up a crumbling Tuscan farm house or Venetian villa,or of building a dream home on the sea, as Emma Tennant's family did in the 1960's. But, practicalities aside, would we be happy in a foreign land? Would our friends and families come to see us? Would it really work? The answer is a resounding 'yes', if 'A House in Corfu' is anything to go by. I may not manage it myself, but this book made me feel that it is a dream worth dreaming. It also made me happy. Read it. Michaela Jordain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and just plain boring, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Issy "Issy" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
I love Corfu. Not the Kavos's and Sidari's which are thankfully far and few between but the hidden coves and mountain villages, so I thought this book would be an interesting read but it is painfully bad. The writing is drawn out and tiresome with very little to say. It could just about have been a good magazine artical if edited but as a book it is hard work and just does not draw you in or make you relate in anyway to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very evocative, 23 Sept. 2014
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
A gently drifting narrative, very enjoyable for anyone who loves Greece. There is not a lot of structure to the book; it reads like diary entries over years, ending at some arbitrary point. But there are lovely descriptions of landscape and people, with often telling details. The style irritated me a little, as the author has a tendency to insert long asides and comments within already long sentences, overusing dashes and parentheses. But I got used to that and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
I have read this book before but lost it. Saving this one for the summer! It is a fantastic book and prefectly described!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointing, 26 Oct. 2008
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
Although I did enjoy the book, I did get a little annoyed when she complained about visitors searching out the house. Easy solution - don't advertise the house and the location by writing a (presumably profit-making) book about it!

Readable, but not in the same league as the beautifully written My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in Corfu (Hardcover)
Enjoying this book very much a must read for anyone thinking of living abroad !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A House In Corfu, 8 May 2009
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
I was disappointed with this read. I am a huge fan of Greece and travel there at least twice a year so I thought I would love this book. However, it did not live up to expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A House in Coru, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
I liked this book because it was set in Corfu, but it is not as interesting as Chasing Dreams in Lefkas... That had so much more to it as well as being a 'happy read'! Lefkas is a lesser known island which makes fascinating reading! I don't know why this book is not amongst the books about, or set on greeek islands! - IT SHOULD BE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a bore, 5 Dec. 2008
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
The sentence composition is tortuous and difficult to follow, and the narrative is sadly lacking in any depth. The author's parents built a house in Corfu. Yeah, so?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
Scott Leslie (Newcastle-upon-Tyne,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A House In Corfu (Paperback)
Loved this book did not want to put it down love reading anything about Greece highly recommened it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A House In Corfu
A House In Corfu by Emma Tennant (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews