Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars283
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2015
Love Karin Slaughter books. The story lines are gripping and it's great that the characters continue in other books down the line.
Second outing for the Grant Series as I want to revisit before reading her 2 most recent novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
Had me gripped from the start. Inbetween solving the murder i liked the story between the detective and his ex wife the medical examiner. Great book. Hightly recommended. Made me want to read more of Karin Slaughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
This was the second book of Karin Slaughter I read after having it recommended by my sister. I actually read Snatched first. After reading this book I'd say if you haven't read anything by Karin then you should seriously consider this book. I was gripped from the start, The characters are likeable people whom I warmed to instantly although there are a few who I thought were trouble. I had my suspicions as to who was the rapist/ murderer but never did I think it was who it turned out to be. It was quite shocking to hear what was done to the victims and on a few occasions brought tears to my eyes as I felt close to the characters and those involved with them. Overall it was a good book and I found it very hard to put down and cannot wait to read the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Having been a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen but having read everything shes ever written I was looking for a new crime author to engage me like she has,i read the glowing reviews for this book so i purchaced the kindle edition. I wish I hadnt botherd the only reason I read the whole thing is because Id paid for it. I wasnt the slightest bit interested who the murder was,although it becomes obvious who it is very early on. Karin Slaughter is a mere shadow of Gerritsen and Patterson. She didnt even seem to have done much medicinal research. So disapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
Its hard to write a review on this book that does it justice.
I made the mistake of reading Kisscut first and so I knew the basics of what had happened in this book. I have to say, however, that it didn't really spoil it that much.
If your into crime thrillers or are just exploring the genre then this is a great book to start with providing your not to squeamish.
For a first novel this firmly puts Karin Slaughter on the map. She builds her characters well and you take this with you to Kisscut. YOu find yourself entrapped in this novel that though gruesome and scary you just have to read on.
Sara Linton is a great character. I have read some reviews about the inaccuracy of the postmortems but come on what average reader is that worried about that as long as they are close enough and make you understand. We don't want to be blinded by scientific terminology.
My recommendation is read this book. You will read it quickly and it will leave you wanting more....I've just pre ordered her new one....what does that tell you?
Enjoy
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'd read of good reviews of this new crime/thriller writer and thought I'd give her first book a go and I wasn't disappointed. An excellent debut book and I'm sure the following books will be just as good if not better. The story was murderously gripping from the start and the puzzle of the murder made you want to quickly continue through the book. It was very graphic in the description of the murders and the following autopsies which makes excellent reading - loads of blood and gore! The only down side that irritated me slightly was that nearly all the characters seemed to be very bad tempered, angry people that flared up for little or no apparent reason.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sara Linton, paediatrician and medical examiner of a sleepy Georgia town, goes to the bathroom in her local diner and is precipitated into horror when she finds a violated and dying woman in there. But she is just the first victim and the small town becomes the site of a violent sexual killer. Interspersed with the serial killer story is that of Sara's own relationship with her ex-husband, the police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, and dark secrets in her past.

This is the first Karin Slaughter book I have read and, while I didn't hate it, I did find it both very conventional and told in a clunky fashion. There's very little excitement in the pace of the writing which is uniformly adequate but dull, with lots of flashback, lets-catch-up-on-past-history slowing it all down. The characters have been seen before: the ball-busting women with no time for men... but with hidden vulnerabilities, and the tangled personal life of the two investigators.

The plot itself doesn't make an awful lot of sense: I don't want to include spoilers but new readers might want to look away here - there is a huge and unlikely coincidence that the same woman should be targeted by two violent rapists on the same day. And why does one wait twelve years before completing his plan?
This is a gory book with more than a hint of torture-porn about it but beneath that is a rather pedestrian story not particularly well-worked out or written. I certainly didn't hate it but am equally not rushing out to read the rest of Slaughter's books.

Ps. What is her strange obsession with the characters from Wuthering Heights? Cathy Linton, Hareton (Hare) Earnshaw?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
kept me entertained from the beginning, cannot wait to read the next in the series. Have read so many books by Karen Slaughter and have never grown tired of her writing. She is truly amazing an amazing author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Utterly gripping, would thoroughly recommend Blindsighted. Am now an avid Karin Slaughter fan. I would recommend that you try and read her books in order though as I started with A Faint Cold Fear with is the third book if this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
If you like crime novels, like me, because, amongst other things, the crime in a book forms a hard-to-solve puzzle, then this book is not for you. The book is really about a group of people that all have a traumatic experience in their past that seems to dominate their lives. Unfortunately, this does not lead to interesting characters. On the contrary, because they are determined by a single event, the characters are rather flat. The crimes in the book, though very gruesome and described quite vividly, seem almost peripheral. They are also not really solved. In fact, the police doesn't even do much to solve the crimes, because they are much too busy with other things like making sure the racist don't kill innocent people, improving their personal relations, and checking on the wrong suspects. The perpetrator is finally stopped because one of his intended victims manages to kill him. All in all not a very exciting book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.