Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
A classic. My Year One class will love the repeated structure of the story and the lovely illustrations. Fits in perfectly with out transport and journeys topic.
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by SW10 teacher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange mix of pages
I bought this for my 4 year old who loves anything transport related but we were both disappointed with it. The story is very simple and old fashioned with only a line or two on each page. Suddenly you get a full page of text explaining why each animal/creature cannot help push the car out of the mud and then back to one line. I think we'll stick to 'Duck in the truck'...
Published 20 months ago by Kerriss


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
A classic. My Year One class will love the repeated structure of the story and the lovely illustrations. Fits in perfectly with out transport and journeys topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book!, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Ordered for grandchildren as remember these books what I was a child! Book has wonderful illustrations with a lovely story to go with them! Service from supplier was outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange mix of pages, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
I bought this for my 4 year old who loves anything transport related but we were both disappointed with it. The story is very simple and old fashioned with only a line or two on each page. Suddenly you get a full page of text explaining why each animal/creature cannot help push the car out of the mud and then back to one line. I think we'll stick to 'Duck in the truck' which is similar but more engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery good., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
If you have read mr grumpy a outing then this goes nicely with that on the same theme. Whimsical illustrations add to the story and imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Fantastic book have given it many times as presents to many children who all love it!! Great pictures and simple story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful boy's book, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Mr Gumpy's Motor car. This wonderful book arrived quickly and my grandson will love it. We love Mr.Gumpy and here is another book about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great teaching resource, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Great teaching resource that I used in class this week.

Lovely pictures and beautifully set out.

The children loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excuses, excuses ..., 7 July 2012
By 
Nicola Hardy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Poor Mr Gumpy. You'd think he'd have learned from his last outing, but no! This time, he sets off for a peaceful ride in his motor car, but it's not long before the children, the rabbit, the cat, the dog, the pig, the sheep, the chickens, the calf and the goat have spotted him, and they all want to come along too. As it's a nice day, Mr Gumpy decides to take the cart track across the fields, but it's not long before the sky clouds over, the rain comes down, and the car gets stuck. All that's needed is for a few passengers to get out and push, but everyone has an excuse. It's not long before the car is really stuck and then everyone has to help. Of course, at that point, the sun comes out, so they all end the afternoon with a swim!

Even though this book draws quite heavily on the central character's previous adventure - 'Mr Gumpy's Outing' - the story stands well on its own. As ever, John Burningham's illustrations are great, and the tale carries a timeless message about sharing and helping others. A lovely story to share.

This review refers to the paperback edition of 'Mr Gumpy's Motor Car' published by Red Fox in 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again and again and again!, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
This book is so great in every way -- a true masterpiece!

I never tire of reading it aloud, even though I STILL don't quite know what the pig means when he says, "I've a bone in my trotter."

The charm never wears off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Gumpy's Motor Car, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Mr Gumpy's Motor Car (Paperback)
Perfect for toddlers to 5 year olds. Very special if grandad happens to have an old austin car named after his grand daughter! Lovely illustrations, simple story told well. A classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Gumpy's Motor Car
Mr Gumpy's Motor Car by John Burningham (Paperback - 1 Aug 2002)
5.99
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews