Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ug is a very sympathetic and funny book .
UG, sad, happy or funny? The beginning is fun and enjoyable but later, Ug the stone-age boy, becomes sad and depressed. He's far too ahead of his time for anyone to understand him. He thinks up all kinds of inventions that are commonly used today, for example, fire so that the food could be cooked, wooden boats and light, soft balls for tennis and football. He even thinks...
Published on 13 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boys will love it
Although not a huge fan of the book, the children inmy class have enjoyed and like the humour?! Ok value for money
Published 15 months ago by S. McGoldrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for encouraging reading, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
Raymond Briggs has been one of my favourites for many years. His drawings and stories combine great colour with good humour.
Just right for birthday treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good fun!, 21 May 2011
By 
S. Heath - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
this book goes down really well with both my 5 year old and 2 year old. i wonder what the two year old actually understands, but she certainly laughs at the funny pictures! it is a lovely humorous look at the daily things we take for granted (like soft trousers). ug is determined to make life just a little more comfortable but comes up against maternal opposition who seems to think the ice age is coming any minute now and he will have to toughen up for that, as it will make the stone age look like a summer holiday! a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good classroom resource, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
Children used this a lot in cLass, enjoyed the humour. Helped less able readers access because of the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Ms. A. Roden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
Not quite as I had remembered it, but a humorous approach to life in the Stone age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
You just can't go wrong with Raymond Briggs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great condition and item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Futers "Who's afraid of the Bill... (Northumbria, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
I found this on our kids bookshelf. I'm not quite sure how it got there, but that happens in our house.

Ooh - a Raymond Briggs book! They'll like that!

So we started in to read. I've read many of his books and although they can be quirky in their cartoon formats, they are never difficult to read.

First problem was the footnotes. They just got in the way. I remember similar footnotes in Asterix books, but they worked there, largely because they are used sparingly.

Then there were the dinosaurs in the background with no reference to THEM being an anachronism worse than any of the other ones that he comments on.

Stone trousers? Really?

I can only assume that the publishers said - hey Raymond, we need a book. Have you got anything? And all he had was this.

Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ug: Boy Genius of the stone age and his search for soft trousers, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
What a fantastic book, it really engaged the children that I worked with. The book was like new and only cost [...] what a brillant purchase. I am a teacher, we managed to get two weeks literacy planning using this book. It is also on the power of reading list to encourage children to read. The end result was the class performed this book as a play for their whole school assembly, they were great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Brilliant book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ex library not the best condition. Gave to charity, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers (Paperback)
Awful , awful book . Ex library not the best condition . Gave to charity .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ug : Boy Genius Of The Stone Age And His Search For Soft Trousers
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews