Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant author to watch.
This has got to be one of the funniest books I have read in a long time, a fantastic heroine who isnt your usual stick insect, a cast of characters who endear them to you and you want to get to know, and a great rough but very smooth leading man to drool over. Loved the antisipation and the butterfly in the tummy feelings that her situations brought to you. A great read...
Published on 4 May 2001

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FUN
Moderatly attractive young woman, living in Singleton makes up fake boyfriend to appease nagging mother. One whopper leads to another as she gets her nickers thouroughly in a twist with sexy escort at wedding from hell. The word that keeps coming up, with regards to "Asking for trouble" is FUN - and that it is without a doubt. Written in the first person,...
Published on 10 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant author to watch., 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
This has got to be one of the funniest books I have read in a long time, a fantastic heroine who isnt your usual stick insect, a cast of characters who endear them to you and you want to get to know, and a great rough but very smooth leading man to drool over. Loved the antisipation and the butterfly in the tummy feelings that her situations brought to you. A great read couldn't put it down and can't wait for her next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good will they, won't they, with a couple of twists, 28 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Hardcover)
I found this book to be very good to escape into after a hard day looking after children! While it followed the will they won't they trend, it added some vey good twists and turns which kept you reading right to they end. A must read for anyone who has ever faced the dilemma of a mother who only ever wants the best, and wants you to settle down. It follows the story of Sophy's attempt to do just that, and the troble she gets into by trying! Totally unputdownable, sit back, enjoy and read in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 April 2003
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
This was the 2nd book I read by the author and it was just a hilarious as the 1st one. She is so funny and full of life, I just can't put down her books. This books is really hitting reality when you are stuck at a wedding that is going to take place within a few months and feeling left out because you have no Boyfriend. What do you do. Well do you hire one and not get caught, or do you go by yourself. Read the book and find out what happens. It is so reality check time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CHARACTERS, TERRIFIC DIALOGUE - A "KEEPER", 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
This book is way above most of the "chick lit" books I've read recently. It's funny, the characters are people you'd love to know, the storyline never sags and the language is realistic without relying on expletives to shock. This is definitely, as they say in the States, one for the "keeper" shelf. Elizabeth Young has joined Christina Jones and Freya North on my "must buy" list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it now!, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
I really enjoyed every minute of this book. Sophy is a great heroine, the book motors along and all the characters are believable. As other reviewers say, this is at the top end of the 'contemporary women's fiction' scale. Can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For once, a realistic heroine!!!, 19 May 2005
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
I've literally just finished reading this book and all I can say is, if you're not a size 8, stick thin, utterly ravishing bombshell, this book will be your best friend! In most of the books that I read, the heroine is usually the epitome of the perfect woman but Sophy (the heroine) is a size '13 and 3 quarters' as she puts it and like the averaged size woman, has a problem with her wobbly bits. However, by no means does this turn the book into a constant reminder of the diet you're supposed to be on! It's a funny, uplifting story with lots of laugh out loud moments that I would recommend to anyone - even better than the film 'The Wedding Date' which was losely based upon this book. Read it and see what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharp, funny and uplifting, 3 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
I started reading Asking for Trouble, thinking it'd be a pleasant way to pass the time - but it was so much more than that. I was gripped and couldn't put it down. It's genuinely funny, unlike so many other novels in the genre. The characters are likeable, the scenes are true to life, and I loved the heroine's family - really good, warm-hearted stuff. I can't wait to read Elizabeth Young's next novel. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cute, and a Great First Novel, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
Asking for Trouble is definitely a lightweight, "summer" novel. But of that genre, it is better than most. The author is very smart in her use of language, and delivers some interesting plot twists (I didn't suspect the whole Kit thing, but it rang true at the end.) It's not the depth and density of say, a Christina Jones or Fiona Walker, but it's miles better than "Diary of A Shopaholic" or other "Big" books that have rolled out recently. It's a fast and light read, better than watching re-runs on TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling down- read this book!, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
Realistic, witty and totally entertaining. A must read for anyone who has an over enthusiastic mother or a fear of going alone to family weddings!! I can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is such fun!, 27 Sep 2001
This review is from: Asking for Trouble (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book so much that I read it in one sitting. It was funny and engaging and I laughed out loud several times. The characters were great - a lovely heroine and a hero to die for. I am so looking forward to the next book from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble by Elizabeth Young (Paperback - 4 Jan 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews