Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars33
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2010
This is a very good book on an unusual topic, that sometimes reads like a science fiction drama.That said, the author is a well respected writer on aviation subjects,so topics in this book should be given serious consideration before making your own mind up.A very interesting read and is reccommended
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2003
Nick Cook writes a tremendously involving book. His focus is that of sifting through the historical refs and examples of ground breaking 'anti gravity' technology from pre WWII up to the present day. The lengths he goes to in his detective work are quite staggering - some of these leads seem to bear fruit and others not. Irrespective, he reaches a very interesting set of conclusions. I'm another reader who just couldn't put the book down once I'd started it..
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Brilliant book about the history of the search for 'anti-gravity' technology. Written by a very knowledgable man who knows his subject well, it's like something out of the X-Files but it actually happend in real life. This is a very interesting and well written book that handles a subject shrouded in secrecy that most authors would avoid for fear of being branded a kook or a conspiracy nut, but Nick Cook has pulled it off and has ended up with something you'll read more than once
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
A fascinating insight into the search for zero gravity applications to aeronautics and weaponry, taking the reader back to the early days of research prior to the SS weapons industry at the end of the 2ndWW.

Written in a clear journalistic style leading to the conclusion that the technology is there but mired in a world of government secrecy and disinformation because the possibility of both cheap energy and powerful weapons is not safe to be revealed - yet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
This is a well researched and well written book about some of the enigmas in aviation and aviation history. Nick Cook is a respected aviation writer who has written for a leading magazine and his meticulous research has produced an easy to read, informative and thought provoking book. I thoroughly recommend this book if this is your area of interest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
The worth of this whole book rests in one area: Nick Cook's credibility. Without that, this enters Eric Von Danikin territory. The question is, what is Nick Cooks believability rating?

The options are straight forward, as far as I can see:

1) He is a liar, plain and simple

2) He is a manipulator of the stories he has located for his own ends

3) The whole thing is a hoax because Cook is being lied too by others - those capable of massive levels of delusion, miss information and chicanery (as Cook says they are)

4) The whole thing is pretty much as he reports it. The liars are lying to cover up the black operations, Nazi cuckolding and flying saucer shenanigans that they have indulged in for the last 65 odd years to save themselves and big business (or maybe even western civilisation)

5) Nick Cook - as a long term insider with the aviation industry - is 'on the team', as it were: in the 'know' with some other deception that the aviation industry is perpetrating. Whatever that might be...

I think it's probably 2, 3 or 4 from the options I listed above. My money's on 4.

The book is a very entertaining read, which - on some levels - detracts from it: hard science shouldn't be fun to read, right? Except that - if it's a boring read - nobody bothers to finish it, and this isn't a book where you can just skip bits - it reads like a detective novel and has to be read, start to finish (and, in my case, more than once). Sure, it is light on 'proof' but... what proof would be acceptable? I mean, what proof, short of a flying saucer landing in Trafalgar Square (readers from other ares, substitute your own culturaly iconic, central openspace as appropriate...)

In summary, a great read, very, very thought provoking and - with Cook provenance - I can't help but put my bets on solution 4: The whole thing is pretty much as he reports it.
22 comments2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2004
A very good read enjoyed it all, just like to point out that the reviewer that didn't read the book has a very invalid point as the book is not about reaching 0K its about zero point energy. Before I took the time to read the blurb I also made this mistake.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2001
The subject of hidden scientific projects is fascinating, and this book begins to unravel some of the more speculative tales. But, as usual, it stops short of any hard evidence, so once more we have all sorts of speculation about flying saucers, antigravity etc. The author at least makes an attempt to find some solid evidence, but either it has been supremely well hidden - or it was never there in the first place.
11 comment10 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Nick Cook's book was a pleasure to read. Well researched, believable in spite of the unusual nature of the topic and well structured.

I found the occasional addition of personal narrative and scene setting a little distracting and unnecessary, but I'm putting that down to my personal idiosyncrasies and preference for a starkly academic approach to subject matter stripped bare of all inessentials. Mr. Cook has written this perhaps with an eye to having it Tom Hanks star as the author in the Hollywood version (it has all the hallmarks of a Dan Brown blockbuster) should Spielberg ever get hold of it.

But I'm being trivial and unfair on that score as the book was packed with so many useful leads for further research and has the `weight' to keep the reader engaged throughout.

I'd suggest this is possibly the most useful of all the more popular reads on the subject and would recommend this as an ideal starting point for anyone sufficiently motivated to commence their research on the subject.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
Odd mixture of unrelated stories. The title implies it's all about zero point energy (such as the casimir effect) which there are actually a few pages on.
Some stories are current like ion propulsion, or very old, such as aircraft with statically charged wings to reduce drag.
Somehow it heads to nazi ufo's, and odd assertions about what an 'anti gravity shield' could do (reduce air pressure, or knock satellites from orbit).
The book leaves you wanting to find out more about nazi secret weapons programs, but there is also a hint that it was just a wheeze by the prisoners to save themselves.

I was expecting a journey of the casimir effect, sonoluminescence, cold fusion etc. But I guess since the author is aircraft guy, I shouldn't complain. That said, its a good read though.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse