Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabby summer read!
'The boy next door' is a very good read as was 'come together' and 'come again'. Josie lloyd and Emlyn Rees wriing style complements each other and the book is light, simple, entertaining and funny. the story line is fantastic and believe me it's hard to put down. Im not a strong reader but i finnished it in 2 days (so much for studing for exams!).The authors have a...
Published on 23 May 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected - a good read
Not without it's weaknesses (its title that promises so little being one of them) "The boy next door" is a surprisingly engaging read. It's the story of childhood friends that become sweethearts whose teenage plans and dreams are torn apart by a family tragedy. It's particularity is its alternation from chapter to chapter, between the boy's and the girls...
Published on 7 Jun. 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabby summer read!, 23 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
'The boy next door' is a very good read as was 'come together' and 'come again'. Josie lloyd and Emlyn Rees wriing style complements each other and the book is light, simple, entertaining and funny. the story line is fantastic and believe me it's hard to put down. Im not a strong reader but i finnished it in 2 days (so much for studing for exams!).The authors have a superb style and an effective way of telling the story by mixing past with present. I highely reccoment the book to any young (ish) female looking for a top book to read in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally addictive tale of a first love that never died, 1 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Josie Lloyd and Emilyn Rees completely surpass their earlier joint novels, Come Together and Come Again, with a tale of romance, intrigue, tragedy and excitement. This real life couple write alternate chapters through the eyes of their characters from the differing male and female perspectives.
Mickey and Fred were childhood sweethearts whose romance met an untimely end due to a family tragedy which is hinted at all the way through but not revealed until the end of The Boy Next Door. We pick up the tale when Mickey and Fred are in their early thirties and Mickey is a single mum with her own business. Fred, inspired by the dawning of the year 2000 and a mid-life crisis, is on the verge of getting married to the sexually insatiable Gucci-wearing Rebecca.
Alternating between the past and the present, Mickey and Fred guide us through their childhood friendship, teenage romance and adult lives, reminding the reader about the innocence of childhood, the excitement of first love and the trials and tribulations of being grown-up.
The Boy Next Door it totally addictive and without a doubt the best book I have read in the last year. Boy meets girl with a twist, you'll laugh, cry, and wonder where the time has gone when you read the entire book in one go.
The Boy Next Door will keep you turning the pages, wondering about your own first love and wishing that if you were going to write a novel, it could be this one.
by Emma Lunn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected - a good read, 7 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Not without it's weaknesses (its title that promises so little being one of them) "The boy next door" is a surprisingly engaging read. It's the story of childhood friends that become sweethearts whose teenage plans and dreams are torn apart by a family tragedy. It's particularity is its alternation from chapter to chapter, between the boy's and the girls prospective.
Those that reproach the unlikely plot and predictiblity of the storyline obviously are not true 'romance readers' the only thing that matters is if you are captured by the romance and feel the sizzle of the attraction and the Lloyd/Rees combination manages to deliver at least on the former.
It is a very romantic story and its classic starcrossed lovers theme can be found a thousand times over but it is done well, kept relatively simple and reads easily. It's not got a lot of bedroom sizzle (hardly any in fact)but then British novels rarely have.
I wish the boys prospective had been a little more insightful and less... 'girly' and the ending does seem rushed but putting aside my disappointment it was a meatier, more rounded out novel, the story trips along nicely and you do care about the characters. You will get more than you expected from this nicely writen little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully moving story, 1 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Having already read "Come together" by Lloyd & Rees I was confident that this would be a good read. I read the book in days as it became impossible to put down. The first person narrative style adopted is very powerful in conveying the thoughts and feelings of the protaganists in both their childhoods and the present. The plot is original, thought provoking and at times, incredibly moving. As the story unfolded I was on occasions moved to tears. The intertwinement of the past and the present was clear and effective in demonstrating how closely the two were linked for Mickey and Fred. The ending is built towards slowly, removing any possibility of it being cliched. I would highly reccomend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good it's real! Lloyd and Rees do it again!, 16 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
What a treat this book was to read. Funny, sweet and VERY moving. I really cared about what happened to Fred and Mickey, particularly when it became apparent that this wasn't just another boy meets girl book, but a story based around a realistic trauma that happens to two kids and what they have to do to come to terms with it as adults and kickstart their lives again. 3D writing at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy enjoyable read, 11 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book, I think it may even be better than their other two. It's not intellectually challenging, but is a pleasant, fun, easy read and you really care about the characters. The flashbacks to Fred and Micky's childhood work well and create interest as they give the book two simultaneous "love stories" running side by side. I would recommend this to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! :o), 2 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Another thumbs up for Lloyd and Rees! After reading Come Together, I was hooked and had to buy this book! I absolutely loved this book and just couldn't put it down! It's a cute story of two childhood lovers reunited again by coincidence. This book had me awwwww-ing all the way through and made me kinda tearful in some parts! A very sweet story and I can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their best..., 29 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Josie Lloyd and Emlyn Rees created a masterpiece with their first co-written novel, Come Together. Using the 'he said/she said' approach, where one character tells the story for a chapter and then the other lead character narrates for the next, the authors created a system which has been emulated since, but never matched for effectiveness. The hardest task in writing this novel was always going to be creating believable characters who we actually care about, whilst using the same 'he said/she said' approach.
The Boy Next Door introduces us to Fred and Mickey (who is, by the way, female). Friends for many years during their childhood, they are split by disturbing events more involving their parents than themselves. Fifteen years later, Fred and Mickey have a chance meeting and the emotions they felt in the past are dragged kicking and screaming to the surface. Trouble is, Fred's engaged and due to tie the knot in a matter of weeks.
The Boy Next Door concentrates very much on the two lead characters, with only Fred's fiancé Rebecca getting much of a look in. Fred's friend, Eddie shows potential for being an interesting character but remains a distant backdrop for most of the story. It would be fair to say that it would have been nice to see a little more interaction with someone other than the central three characters. But seeing as were left mainly in the company of Fred and Mickey, do they deserve our attention? You'd better believe it.
The first chapter of The Boy Next Door kicks off with Fred and much time is spent dealing with thoughts of his father, who we learn died in as yet unclear tragic circumstances. At first reading, the first chapter can seem a little slow and the relationship between Fred and his father somewhat muted. However, this is not accidental or ineffective writing and as the story develops, so will your understanding. The second chapter, when we first hear directly from Mickey, is a fast-paced delight which immediately drags the reader into the adventure. From this moment on, you will be in no doubt that what you are reading is pure quality and the pace never lets up.
The story slips in and out of the past, revealing Fred and Mickey's childhood and teenage years together, but the amount revealed of their history is cleverly balanced so as to drag you back to the present when you'll be itching for more. As Fred and Mickey wrestle with their feelings for each other, the reader is made to feel the same emotional turmoil being felt by Fred and Mickey. The question to be answered, of course, is whether they can get it together again after all these years despite the apparently unavoidable obstacles.
More emotionally-hitting than humourous, The Boy Next Door is a superb piece of fiction - Josie Lloyd & Emlyn Rees at their very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY FUN!!, 3 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
Even with the bad writing style and the bland narration, this story somehow managed to captivate me. I fell in love with this book.

I ended up buying this book on a whim. The reviews hadn't been particularly hopeful and neither had the rating but I've always been a sucker for second chance romances so I ended up ordering this. At first I was sure I had made a bad choice, the writing style grated on my nerves and I was skimming some sentences. There was too much thinking and not enough doing. Both the characters sounded exactly the same to me.

Yet as I read on and started getting used to the voice I saw how brilliantly the authors had crafted these characters and their story. You could see how far along they had come from their teenager years to adulthood. They had really matured and developed and it was actually fun comparing and contrasting them to their past selves. Especially Mickey, Mickey as a teenager did not appeal to me, she was annoying and a little too 'loud'. As an adult though, with everything that life had thrown at her, she had become so mature and it didn't seem unbelievable. The authors pulled it off. The same with the pulled off Fred's character. His own internal conflict. It worked. Everything about this story worked. It was wonderful and exactly what I needed, and I am so glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Heart warming... funny...FAB!!!!, 30 Mar. 2008
By 
L. Hargreaves "Loupy Lou" (Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boy Next Door (Paperback)
I love, love, LOVE all of Josie Lloyd and Emlyn Rees Books! I have them all and this is one of my favourites!
"Come Together" was the first one I read and I didn't think anything could match it and when I first read this it was a while before I went back to it but now I take it on holiday every year!
The authors make it really easy to get involved with the characters in all of their books and I must say, I usually end up falling for the male lead! Ha ha!
Some people have said the outcome is too predictable...it's a modern romantic, funny story. In most of these books we like the girl to get the guy or vice versa.
If you're looking for something deep and meaningful with twists and turns, then this is probably the wrong kind of book to be looking in, but if you want a gorgeous, laugh out loud, can't put down story that makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside then I'd recommend this every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy Next Door
The Boy Next Door by Josie Lloyd (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2002)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews