Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2003
As a primary school teacher, I used to read this to my Year 1 class. The mixed up shopping list is so irresistably 'correctable' the children would be almost yelling with frustration and enjoyment to put it right! I'm buying it for christmas for my 3 yr old neice as I know she'll love it.
0Comment27 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
This was a book I loved when I was a child, so was chuffed I could find it for my son as I knew he'd like it too. It is a great little book about getting muddled up.
It still works all these years later, and now works as a 'retro' book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2011
The children I work with enjoyed this book. It had a nice rhyming text and the chldren all tried to remember the correct things to go for. It was funny all the things that sounded the same but were all wrong. Would recommend this book. Have seen from some of your reviews before I bought this that some people thought it out of date. The children I work with certainly did not and neither do I.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
I love the theme of this book- a misremembered shopping list. It is a simple and funny idea, and one that I think young children can grasp and that would be familiar to them. BUT! the illustrations - which are important for the visual jokes, and for the age of the children this is aimed at, are so ghastly and amateurish they are distracting. Instead of being able to read the book I find myself staring in horror at the appallingly drawn people who consequently look like distorted, wooden, lumpish, oafs. This book is such a lovely idea that I wish it would be reprinted with professional illustrations.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
My children loved this book in the 1980s but it was so well read that when I got it out for my 4 year old grandson it fell to bits and he was very disappointed. I am delighted to have been able to buy a new one which I know he will love. Children love the play on words where the boy is trying to remember what he is meant to buy and the illustrations are fun. It is great for me to introduce the book to the next generation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I know this book from reading it many times at storytelling sessions. It is an easy repetitive story which young children love to help out with. Buying this to add to my granddaughter's library, she is 15 months and enjoys her growing bookshelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
The book was in very good condition and well packed when it arrived. The book is a really good story for young children. The pictures are lively and bright and the book is excellent for reading aloud.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Brought this book for my 3 year old,he wasn't very interested in it really. Maybe he's a bit young for it.
I always remembered this book being really good.
Just hope he's gets to like it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
I loved this book as a child and can not wait to read it with my little boy. Haven't read it for so many years and never see it in book shops. So pleased to have found this book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Its brilliantly retro, its got a lovely rythm to it and it causes my niece to yell 'DONT FORGET THE BACON' at every possible opportunity! It is as great as I remember.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.