Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice lil Darkside book.
This book in some ways is a total brake from the usual tradition of Starwars Novels... it has a bad guy in a leading role, rather as supporting cast (like Thrawn or the Yurzon Vong) and its set for the most part on one planet and there is very little mention of space travel or fights.
This book takes place in the dark underbelly of Coruscant before the creation of...
Published on 30 Aug 2001 by Mr. A. J. D. White

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good book, expands on Darth Maul nicely
To start with I would like to point out that I, like many others, prefer the books set in and around the trilogy time line. If you like Episode 1 and the Darth Maul charactor, then you'll like this book. From my own point of view, this isn't a bad book.... it just follows in the footsteps of so many great books. Don't get me wrong, I like EP1, but the trilogy is never...
Published on 16 Jan 2002 by J. M. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice lil Darkside book., 30 Aug 2001
By 
Mr. A. J. D. White - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book in some ways is a total brake from the usual tradition of Starwars Novels... it has a bad guy in a leading role, rather as supporting cast (like Thrawn or the Yurzon Vong) and its set for the most part on one planet and there is very little mention of space travel or fights.
This book takes place in the dark underbelly of Coruscant before the creation of the empire (obviously) and I think shows the under belly in all its twisted nastyness, even if some of the reasons characters end up there is rather flawed (Darsha). It gives an almost Blade Runneresque feel to the novel in the prolonged chase sequences. With some very plausable characters, I just wish there had been more interaction with them but that would have made the book longer than I suppose they wanted it.
I also found the ending to be rather nice thou I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for you... If you love Starwars and esp if you like the Darkside of the force this book is brilliant.
One little thing that bugged me was at the begining of the book we got some of Darth Mauls feeling about the whole light/dark battle which were quite intresting then dropped and never mentioned agai *GRRR* I feel that if they had been developed it could have cast the whole Starwars universe in a slightly different light, nothing major but just a touch more realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great!, 3 April 2002
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter (Paperback)
A clever book, which, introduces you to the real thoughts and opinions of Darth Maul. It's one of those books that has got everything: action, adventure, romance, suspence...and the list continues! a defenite buy for any Darth Maul/Star wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different..., 14 July 2001
You don't need the force to tell Michael Reaves had a hard time writing this book. In any good story, good must triumph over evil, but in this book Darth Maul, the evil, is fated to live. The characters get into all sorts of odd situations where in any normal book the evil would die - but to make the events in Episode One make sense, the good characters must be defeated. So we have a odd book where evil wins. Pretty good, though, and it has a wonderful setting - the forgotten slums of bright, colourful Coruscant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read - Good Expanded Universe Book to Start With..., 15 April 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter (Paperback)
Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter was the first book that I read in the Star Wars extended universe, and it's probably due to this book that my blog is currently rather full of star wars book reviews. It's not my favourite book in the Star Wars franchise, but it is one that I will always enjoy reading - and have indeed read several times.

It's a really easy to read book - there is nothing particularly complex about it, the only thing that might require Expanded Universe knowledge is that "the Black Sun" is the name of a criminal organisation - but even that isn't really necessary. If you've only seen the Star Wars films, you can enjoy this book.

Essentially it tells us more about the mystery that is Darth Maul. But in a way that kind of doesn't really tell us much at all. But while I loved Darth Maul in this book, the thing that I really enjoyed about this book was the two characters introduced in it - Darsha Assant and Lorn Pavan. The first a Jedi, the second a kind of lowlife. Reaves writes both of them really well - and the changing relationship between them even better.

I also enjoyed learning more about the Jedi. This was the first book in which I read the Jedi Code, and we learn more about how jedi are taught - as well as what they would sacrifice to protect others. It's quite an uplifting book, if somewhat tragic, and a really nice entry into the extended universe.

A lot of Star Wars books are enjoyed mainly by fans of the Extended Universe. This one is one that I believe can be enjoyed by anyone, and easily read. As I said at the beginning of the review - it's not the best book in the world. But it's one that opens the door to many others (There are over a hundred books in the Star Wars franchise). It's a great book - and an excellent first Star Wars books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced novel that sets the scene for The Phantom Menace, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter (Paperback)
Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter by Michael Reaves wasn't the greatest Star Wars novel I've ever read, but it's certainly a good book! It's quite interesting to have a villain like Darth Maul as one of the main characters, as usually the "bad guys" are only seen through the eyes of a novel's heroes. This novel is mostly set on the galactic capital world of Coruscant, and more specifically, its shady lower levels. The setting is eerie and certainly a lot darker than the settings of many Star Wars stories; the fantastical jungles of Felucia and the rolling plains of Naboo are discarded in 'Shadow Hunter' for an environment consisting of a myriad of (seemingly) abandoned buildings and criminal territories.

I really appreciated this novel, and I'd recommend it to any Star Wars fan; especially those with an interest in the Sith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the kill!, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter (Paperback)
This is a chase story, pure and simple, starring one of Star War's coolest characters. We didn't see enough of him in his limited screen time so here's a chance to see him in full predator mode. The potent force we're dealing with here is well illustrated in a scene where Darth Maul is pursuing his target through a crowd of people, using the force to blast them aside as he sprints on relentlessly. It's an image that encapsulates the book: fast and brutal. This book may be leaner than most in terms of pages but that's because it carries no fat, it's lithe as it's protagonist. Despite this, Michael Reaves somehow manages to fit in enough space to deliver well-developed good guys to be the prey (look out for references to these in the Medstar and Coruscant Nights books). If you're new to Star Wars books, this is a really good way to get involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ONE FOR THE DARK SIDE...., 30 Aug 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter (Paperback)
Great book for Darksiders - expands on the Maul character, particularly the relationship with his master, Lord Sidious.
Well plotted, action packed and surprisingly gritty!
Enjoyed it, and compensates for the brief appearances in The Phantom Menace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read for anyone who loves the Dark side, 30 Jan 2001
This book has all the ingredients that a Star Wars novel needs. Lightsaber battles, explosions and Obi-Wan Kenobi. The way this book leads into The Phantom Menace is excellent. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good book, expands on Darth Maul nicely, 16 Jan 2002
By 
J. M. Williams "tranq76" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To start with I would like to point out that I, like many others, prefer the books set in and around the trilogy time line. If you like Episode 1 and the Darth Maul charactor, then you'll like this book. From my own point of view, this isn't a bad book.... it just follows in the footsteps of so many great books. Don't get me wrong, I like EP1, but the trilogy is never going to be improved on, it has a certain innocense in the way it's made which would never happen in this day and age, with multi-million dollar budgets and state of the art special effects.
Back to the book. Like I said before, not a bad book, just has had to follow in some pretty darn big footsteps. One thing it does have in it's favour is that it's fast paced. You're never far away from some action, be it from Maul himself or from the other charactors in the book. One thing the book does get across nicely is Darth Maul's impatience; he wants to engage the Jedi, wipe them out, destroy them... but he is made to wait by his master, Darth Sidious. The relationship between the two is very much like Vader and the Emporer on the surface, but where Vader is controlled and patient, Maul can barely stop himself from engaging the Jedi and oozes dark violence. Even so, his devotion to his master is greater (just!) than his want to engage the Jedi immediately.
So, if you're looking for a face paced and well written book with plenty of action, you can't go wrong with Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter.... Just don't expect it to be like the other Star Wars books you may have read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter, 6 Mar 2013
Excellent novel expands our understanding of the character and motivations of the mysterious Darth Maul, in a way that was not explored in Episode I. A riveting read....Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter
Star Wars: Darth Maul Shadow Hunter by Michael Reaves (Paperback - 6 Dec 2001)
5.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews