Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb finale to a generally solid series
The New Jedi Order series comprises 19 books published over 5 years. It concerns the invasion of the 'galaxy far, far away' by the Yuuzhan Vong, extragalactic aliens who seemingly have no connection to the Force.
The series showed a grittier side to Star Wars, and even killed off some major characters along the way.
The quality of the books wavered over the...
Published on 17 Aug. 2005 by Anon Starter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very long and introspective
I haven't read the entire series leading up to this finale, so I can't judge it in full context. There are a lot of characters and battlefronts which at times gets a bit hard to follow. The book is very long - though the plot doesn't slow down too much at any point - and has long passages of introspection - questioning motives, history or philosophical points such as the...
Published on 1 Sept. 2011 by Mr. M. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb finale to a generally solid series, 17 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
The New Jedi Order series comprises 19 books published over 5 years. It concerns the invasion of the 'galaxy far, far away' by the Yuuzhan Vong, extragalactic aliens who seemingly have no connection to the Force.
The series showed a grittier side to Star Wars, and even killed off some major characters along the way.
The quality of the books wavered over the years, in my view. The five hardcovers that chart the main events in the story have been very strong. The Unifying Force is the best of these, and a real payoff after 18 books of build-up.
The book showcases the thrilling climactic confrontation between the Galactic Alliance and the Yuuzhan Vong. Beginning with an exciting POW-camp escape sequence, and concluding with a powerful battle between the key players of both sides, the book is full of action and suspense. We get balanced coverage of space battles, ground combat, various strike team missions like in the films, and the strategising of the Alliance and Vong leaderships. But it is not short on drama. James Luceno's characterisations of our heroes is excellent, and the new, more holistic explorations of the nature of the Force that have been a key factor in this series are deepened and rounded out in this book. The book is rife with 'unifying forces' and that makes for a very layered conclusion.
We get a real sense of closure here, not only the end of this series but it feels like the end of the adventures of Luke Skywalker et al, though that looks unlikely as there are loads more books released or soon to be released that continue the Star Wars saga.
If there are any criticisms to be made, one (and this is a flaw common among most Star Wars novels) is that much of the banter between characters feels forced and 'cheesy', for want of a better word. It's like the writers go out of their way to try and come up with contrived witty remarks. This is really not a big deal, as the characters do sound pretty much like we expect them to.
This series has been more like 'proper' sci-fi than traditional Star Wars, which was a mythical story of good vs evil. This is a story that questions whether that divide is real, and at times it doesn't feel like Star Wars. Well, a person shouldn't believe in something without having first questioned it, and that's what the Jedi are beginning to do after hearing the musings of the bird-like Jedi Vergere. It makes for interesting reading and I hear that it figures in the next few books too.
All in all, this is a truly epic conclusion to a really good ending to a generally strong series of Star Wars books that show the heroes fighting 'the greatest threat to the galaxy since Palpatine'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome ending to the great NJO series, 2 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
Awesome finale to the best Star wars books ive read. The Unifying Force is the extremely exciting end of the massive Yuuzhan Vong war chronicled throughout the New Jedi Order series and its a satisfying conclusion. The war is brought to a spectacular and drawn out close - very satisfying fights and easy readable description - Luceno has out done himself with this one - after the underwhelming agents of chaos duo.
The character arcs are fulfilled and its a great end - im kinda sad to see the end - no im not - after 19 books! i feel i deserve this ending and thankfully it had everything i wanted from it.
one of the strongest 4 books in the series 'the unifying force is a great read for any sw fan and an awesome end to a strong - but long - satisfying series!
9/10
what do i read now? :S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very long and introspective, 1 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
I haven't read the entire series leading up to this finale, so I can't judge it in full context. There are a lot of characters and battlefronts which at times gets a bit hard to follow. The book is very long - though the plot doesn't slow down too much at any point - and has long passages of introspection - questioning motives, history or philosophical points such as the nature of the force - that slow down the pace and feel like distractions or indulgences. The character developments are well balanced and interesting and hopefully will be further developed in the future. It tails off a bit towards the end but ends on a satisfying note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Conclusion, 19 Aug. 2008
By 
J. Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
So the New Jedi Order has finally concluded with this 500+ page novel which I found to be easily the best of the serious, only slightly edging out Star by Star. Writer James Luceno takes his time with his plot, carefully building towards the climatic finale whicgh results in a well paced and engrossing story.
There are many nuggetts of insider EU nods in there for diehard fans and Luceno also creates the scale of characthers involved in each scene believable and informative. The conclusion of the saga is exciting and satisfying and leaves a hit and miss series on a definate bittersweet note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vongsense, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great use of the famous characters we know and love, facing a chillingly different threat.

May the force be with you, but not with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new Jedi order, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic series must read for any star wars fan, so, so epic. Funny in the right places heart-wrenching in others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An explosve finish!!, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
This book is an excellent finish to the NJO series and is well worthy of 5 stars. The board is set and this is the final move, the Yuuzahn Vong have gathered an armada and intend to use it to destroy the Galactic Alliance once and for all.
In this book Luke and the other Jedi are trying to convince Zonama Sekot to join the battle and help the Alliance get rid of the Yuuzahn Vong. With the Alliance fleet gathered at Mon Calamri to counter the armada, Zonama Sekot makes its desision and the Alliance makes a final bid to win back Coruscant and deliver a blow to the Yuuzahn Vong.
This book is brilliant as it has a lot of fighting and space battles. If you have been following the books you MUST read this as it provides a very worthey end and is truly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Star Wars Fans!!!, 1 Nov. 2003
This book is a must read for Star wars fans, it gives the final struggle for piece for Luke, Leia, Han solo and the Solo Kids. It depicts the Struggle against an extra-galactic threat that distabilises the Political infrastructure of the planet and leads to the creation of the Galactic alliance a rebirth of the republic of old.
This book tells the story of what secrets have been discovered on zonama sekot, the living planet, and the links between the planet and the alien menace known as the yuuzhan vong and their biological monstrosities.
I recommend this book to anyone who loves star wars and has read the previous New Jedi Order series books as it ties everything up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best book in series., 11 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
This book is great - really great. Even I - the one that doesn't really like the new jedi order books - loves this book. It is a fitting conclusion to a great series when Skywalker almost dies (you'll have to guess which one!) and Solo gets badly injured. (another guess). However, See-Threepio doesn't die and that is why I have decided to not give this book five stars. R2 D2 does not die but almost does at one point and there are revelations about both the Vong and Zenoma Sekot. Trust me, you'll be really caught up in the book and if you are like me then you will not be able to stop reading it in the last few chapters.
At the start the book is not as good so you may have to preserve for a few hours or days until you have got past the first section.
I hope you think the same as me because it's great!
A fitting conclusion to the whole (and I mean whole) Star Wars Saga. (And i also mean the end - the last ever book of Star Wars)
Thinking about that - no that would mean that there would be no more and you couldn't do without more books like this could you?!!!!
No please buy this book it is great!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ending to a great series, 4 Dec. 2004
By 
Jedi Master (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force (Paperback)
This book was a great ending to a great series I couldn't have wished for a better final book to the new jedi order series it kept you in expense right up until the end. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force
Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - The Unifying Force by James Luceno (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews