Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good ending to the trilogy.
THE STORY:
Han and Leia must fight alongside Imperial forces to protect a vital communication relay, whilst Jaina helps the tormented Tahiri to heal her broken mind. Meanwhile, Luke and several of his Jedi Knights reach the living world of Zonama Sekot and try to persuade it to join the war against the Vong.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Anything involving the charismatic...
Published on 13 Sept. 2003 by Ian Tapley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars - The New Jedi Order (Force Heretic III - Reunion)
As a hardcore star wars fan i have a large collection (51) star wars novels, as well as many from the new jedi order, all of which have been well written. I have the two previous force heretic novels and they are equally well written.
So when i bought this book i had high expectations of it, the two previous books had really set the scene and there should have been...
Published on 14 Aug. 2003 by grandadmiraljimmy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good ending to the trilogy., 13 Sept. 2003
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
THE STORY:
Han and Leia must fight alongside Imperial forces to protect a vital communication relay, whilst Jaina helps the tormented Tahiri to heal her broken mind. Meanwhile, Luke and several of his Jedi Knights reach the living world of Zonama Sekot and try to persuade it to join the war against the Vong.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Anything involving the charismatic Grand Admiral Gilad Pellaeon instantly catches my attention and here the character shows why he was the chosen 'apprentice' of Grand Admiral Thrawn. The Jedi mission on Zonama Sekot is also a stroke of excellence, linking as it does to the prequel novel 'Rogue Planet'. It is in those links that we see the single best part of this book: the moment when Luke learns that it was on Zonama Sekot that young Anakin Skywalker first used the Force to kill.
WHAT'S BAD:
I'm glad to see the split personalities of Tahiri Veila resolved as I felt that that storyline was somehow a waste of time. Another problem with this book is that it lacks character development for those not on Luke's team; Jaina does very little, Jag does nothing he's not done before and the Millennium Falcon's married couple don't seem to show us anything new either.
Two stories; one excellent, one slightly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Star Wars and NJO reader., 6 July 2003
In Force Heretic III you enter the familiar Star Wars New Jedi Order galaxy. At last Luke Skywalker's and his friends and family have arrived on Zonama Sekot. What they see is not pretty. The Yuuzhan Vong, or Far Outsiders as Zonama Sekot and the Ferroans call them, are attacking. The Yuuzhan Vong fail, and Luke and his friends and family land on Zonama Sekot. Here they learn of many things. One of which is that Sekot, the living planet, dos not trust them. Every attack to Zonama Sekot happened when Jedi were present. Another is that Luke’s father, Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi visited almost 50 years ago. (See Rouge Planet.) As this is happening Han and Leia Solo meet up with an old friend, the Ryn known as Droma. Droma warns them of an attack on 2 planets which are one of the main sources of communicating from the Core to the Outer Rim, when they arrive they find themselves fighting for their lives. Meanwhile Tahiri and Riina fight for control over the body they both inhabit, and on Zonama Sekot Luke Skywalker's party is being attacked, and one of there numbers is kidnapped.
Overall I think this book deserves 5 stars, as the beginning was excellent, and the end was brilliant. This, in my opinion, is the best Book in the Force Heretic Series, and is a contender for the best book in the NJO series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great trilogy end and set up for last books!, 26 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Force Heretic III: Reunion (Star Wars New Jedi Order Series) (Paperback)
great sw book - and the best part of this quite strong trilogy!
finally the truth behind Zonama Sekot is revealed and the results are interesting for all concerned.
Tahiri's story takes some twists and the galaxy starts to properly band together against the Vong.
This trilogy has seemed like a kind of bringing together of disparate parts of the storyline and the galaxy into a fighting force ready for the last stages. Lets hope they are up to the challenge. also the heretic storyline of nom anor is shaping up to be pivotal.
Well written and handled with prose and dialogue strength, as one might expect from Williams, this is one of the stronger novels in the series and a great ending/setup for the last books. Bring em on!
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars - The New Jedi Order (Force Heretic III - Reunion), 14 Aug. 2003
As a hardcore star wars fan i have a large collection (51) star wars novels, as well as many from the new jedi order, all of which have been well written. I have the two previous force heretic novels and they are equally well written.
So when i bought this book i had high expectations of it, the two previous books had really set the scene and there should have been a lot happening, which was true. Luke Skywalker, his wife Mara, Jacen Solo and others arrive at the living planet Zonoma Sekot and dont recieve the welcome they might have expected but do witness the planet's mighty powers. Han solo and Leia get caught up in a battle to save a communications station on a remote planet and Tahiri Veila fights with her half Yuuzhan Vong 'twin' in her mind, trying to win her battle.
put all of this together and you have a excellent novel, thats the theory anyway. Instead i was left really quite bored by the end. The Zonoma Sekot parts were far too common for my liking, the space battle and defence of the communications station was, well, non existent and Tahiri's struggle has a very un imaginative ending.
In all, i expected more from what i previously thought a good writer, a real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roll on the war!, 13 Aug. 2003
A stunning end to the trilogy. Not only in terms of the plot, which was highly enjoyable, but in terms of character development. Finished this book and was wanting more! Overall, a thoroughly good addition to a brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Force Heretic III: Reunion (Star Wars New Jedi Order Series)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews