Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, stuffed with character detail.
If Episodes I and II lacked in character development and emotional depth, this book goes a long way towards making up for it. Obi-Wan and Anakin head out on their first real mission together, a trip intended to channel Anakin's energy and pain, getting him away from the rocky path he's been walking during his first three years at the Temple. Although perhaps not the...
Published on 21 Jan 2003

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Force was Strong with this One but it Turned to the Confused Side
'Rogue Planet' starts of in the first third as the best Star Wars novel that I have read. Set three years or so after 'The Phantom Menace' Anakin is currently being taught the ways of the Jedi by Obi-Wan. When not studying, Anakin is sneaking off to join illegal street races. With his sense of adventure becoming too strong the Jedi's decide to send Obi-Wan and Anakin...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, stuffed with character detail., 21 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Planet (Paperback)
If Episodes I and II lacked in character development and emotional depth, this book goes a long way towards making up for it. Obi-Wan and Anakin head out on their first real mission together, a trip intended to channel Anakin's energy and pain, getting him away from the rocky path he's been walking during his first three years at the Temple. Although perhaps not the most original plot, this mystery and adventure story is gripping enough, sowing the seeds of both the Empire and the men that Anakin and Obi-Wan will become. Most importantly this book allows the characters to stop and reflect; on Qui-Gon Jinn, gone but not forgotten; on the choices they've made and on the sacrifices and trials yet to come. Obi-Wan struggles to be the Master Anakin needs, while Anakin struggles with himself. The author has brought a sensitivity and depth of characterisation to the Star Wars novel-universe that so often gets lost in a hammer-and-tongs plot. A balanced, absorbing and satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ambitious novel, well written., 26 Sep 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Planet (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Set three years after Episode I, the Jedi Council assigns Obi-Wan and Anakin a mission in the hopes of curbing the youth's thrill-seeking nature. The mission takes them to the mysterious world of Zonama Sekot where they must investigate the disappearance of a Jedi Knight and discover the secret of the planet's way of life. Meanwhile, two clever and power-hungry men are also en route to Zonama Sekot.
WHAT'S GOOD:
This book is an excellent read for fans of the New Jedi Order series as features a planet recovering from the Yuuzhan Vong's early incursions and reveals some of the past of the enigmatic Vergere. The story stands well alone two, beginning with a fast paced and energetic garbage pit race, continuing with the gradual exploration of Zonama Sekot's unique ecosystems and ending with a spectacular space battle. We get to see some of Obi-Wan's development as a teacher and discover that Anakin's fall towards the dark side is due in part to his inability to contain the great power within himself. There's a few interesting cameos, including Raith Seinar (maker of the Empire's TIE-Fighters) and Wilhuff Tarkin (aka Peter Cushing in 'A New Hope'). It's in the Seinar/Tarkin scenes that this book really excels, as each man attempts to gain strategic victories against the other. There's also a great moment when Seinar tells Tarkin about his idea for a moon-sized battlestation, later reinforced by Tarkin's fascination with a planet capable of hyperspace travel (can you say 'Death Star'?).
WHAT'S BAD:
The story does slow down to a snail's pace at times on Zonama Sekot and you get sick to death of hearing about boras before long. Also, because it was written before Episode II, the scope of events that Bear is allowed to play with is a bit limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 29 May 2000
I have read other books by the famous Sci-Fi writer Greg Bear and enjoyed them immensely. I was quite surprised to see he had written a Star Wars book as he mainly concentrates on hard Sci-Fi. The surprise was defiantly a pleasant one. This book has strongly hooked me onto Anakin and Obi-Won as important characters in the SW timeline. After watching the film I was more than a little wary of Anakin, but this book rearely shows you him in great detail. Even in parts where the story line its self is a bit shaky you still hold onto his character very firmly. The only discrepancy I can see is that he seems to have become more childish in his 'need for speed' which is somewhat contradictory to the Jedi philosophy. Obi-Won in places was a little out of character. But a character I did find very interesting and true to form was Tarkin. Tarkin being one of the pivotal villains in the story was very powerful even though he was not in the book as much as I would have hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 21 Jun 2000
By 
David Mather "Terribly Mauled" (Faversham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buying this book is really a no brainer for fans of Star Wars literature - the first original novel featuring (some) of the characters of The Phantom Menace. Does it deliver?
In spades! The relationship between Obi Wan and Anakin is more fully explored, Obi Wan ends up becoming a full 3D character opposed to the cardboard cut out he appeared on screen, and our old friend Tarkin (Peter Cushing) returns as his younger, but no less power hungrey self.
These elements are tied with various plot threads, mainly exploring a Mysterious 'living' planet, and Anakin's growing important (and darkness)in the Force. And there is a neat tie in to The on going New Jedi Order series of novels!
Does it boast anything else? Well, action fans may be disappointed, but if you're looking for an increase in character of the two most important members of the ongoing Star Wars cast, then this is the book to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice idea and well attempted, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Planet (Paperback)
Greg Bears deserves credit. He has obivously put a lot of work into this book, however the result is so-so. Of the people i know who have read this book, most either guessed the planets 'secret' or had absolutly no idea what was happening. The 'grown' ships feel like a complete rip off from the NJO (speaking of which there are secrets and twists in this book that any reader of the NJO will want to know). Tarkin is one of the highlights of this book. Seeign how he began his rise to Grand Moff is not to be missed. The main let down in this book are its main characters: Obi Wan and Anakin. Bears tries admiralby to depict them, but the contsrains of 'knowing' their future ties him, and it is often unclear which why he os going. But still a worth wild book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Novel, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Planet (Paperback)
This is more sophisticated Sci Fi than you normally get from Star Wars, with more emphasis on creating a unique setting than on action. That's not to say there isn't action: it starts off with a good set-piece and ends in good form but it's key strength is it's imagination. The idea of a planet that is both alive and intermittently-appearing is a novel one and it takes on a character of its own.

The novel also does a good job of advancing the Anakin's relationship with Obi Wan and with the Force. Anakin is essentially pure-hearted but is moving on from the innocent that Qui Gon discovered. He's beginning to comprehend his power and, on the verge of adolescence, is starting to rebel. Obi Wan, on the other hand, has the difficulties a young parent with an unexpected child that he didn't ask for but must now control. The process of developing the living ships and the difference between Obi Wan and Anakin also helps illustrate just what potential there is in Anakin.

Without the Empire, Tarkin is a good choice for ambitious head-villain while the Blood Carver provides a satisfyingly vicious immediate protagonist.

If you're going to read the New Jedi Order books, I'd recommend you read this first as this Rogue Planet hasn't finished with the Star Wars Galaxy.

It does travel slowly, mind: I remember being underwhelmed the first time I read this but I've gradually become more appreciative. In among a raft of titles with varying quality, this one stands out as one of the most memorable. Most planets that aren't in the movies are pretty forgettable but Zonoma Sekot is one that will stick with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read, 7 May 2000
I enjoyed reading this book. I read it in one day so that speaks for itself. It did give me an some problems though. I felt that the author didn't seem to have Obi-Wan, just right, he was almost there, in a few places it was spot on, but then seemed to lose him again. Of course Obi-Wan has probably changed in the 3 years since we last encountered him. I did enjoy the mentions of Qui-Gon, some nice stuff in those bits, and of course more of Mace Windu has to be a bonus. I'd say a must read for Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon fans. It was also good to learn more of Anakin and his motivations, with all those hints of what is to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Planet (Paperback)
I have just finished this book and it is one of the best i have read so far. It has some great characters eg Raith Sienar(the maker of the TIE Fighter) and also gives you a view of the Far Outsiders (The Vong)and details how Vergere ends up with them. It gives details of Anakin using the darkside as well. The only problem i had with this book was the ending or lack of it! Overall it was quite a good book but definately not the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING MIX OF VARIOUS INTRIGUES OLD AND NEW, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book and unmissable for anyone confused about how sweet little Anakin becomes Vader.
Things to look out for: 1) Tarkin coming across the idea of the Death Star 2) Anakin using the Force to kill for the first time 3) A planet that fended off the awsome Yuuzahn Vong (from the New Jedi Order series) 4) Mace Windu---Samuel L. Jackson (say no more)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This book is sooooooooo good. I've just finished reading it. Anyone who likes Star wars will like this. its about anakin skywalker facing his first trial as a padawan. U must Read it. It's the best book ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Rogue Planet
Star Wars: Rogue Planet by Greg Bear (Paperback - 3 May 2001)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews