Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read.
Along with Balance Point this book has to be one of the best in the New Jedi Order series so far.
Conquest centers around Anakin Solo and his resuce mission of a friend.
It was nice not having to wade through tons of Vong technology descriptions, which can often be mind numbing. What this book does is give you a greater understanding of the Vong, at times I...
Published on 9 Jun 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new direction for the New Jedi Order series
Ever since I read Vector Prime, the first NJO book, I have felt that there is something not quite right with this series. When are the New Republic ever going to get a victory? The Yuuzhan Vong are seemingly invincible. Now, finally, there seems to be some light at the end of the tunnel. Anakin Solo's character is explored more deeply in this book, and he is portrayed as...
Published on 13 Jun 2001 by mattramsey13@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Along with Balance Point this book has to be one of the best in the New Jedi Order series so far.
Conquest centers around Anakin Solo and his resuce mission of a friend.
It was nice not having to wade through tons of Vong technology descriptions, which can often be mind numbing. What this book does is give you a greater understanding of the Vong, at times I found myself actually liking them (to a point!!!).
The most enjoyable parts for me was the relationship between Anakin and a Vong outcast, neither one can accept the others "religion" but has to come to accept it so as they can help each other and accomplish their mission.
I highly recommend this book, although don't read it on it's own, read it as it was meant to be, part of an on going saga. I can't wait for the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hot-headed Jedi?, 24 Oct 2005
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
Is there anything that Greg Keyes can't do? I've loved almost everything of his that I've read. The Star Wars: The New Jedi Order series has been floundering a little bit with a string of rather dull books, but Keyes comes in and saves the day again. Edge of Victory I: Conquest is just what the doctor ordered, with great tension, a personal story of a character that has seemed fairly clichéd up until now, and some wonderful action as well. Keyes takes young Anakin Solo, the impulsive youngest son of the Han and Leia, and turns in a tour de force. With this book, we begin to understand Anakin a little bit, and there is very little to complain about. I'm glad that, after a year where I just couldn't be bothered to continue the series, this book has brought me back into caring.
After the fall of Duro, the sinister Yuuzhan Vong have offered a deal to the galaxy: if the galaxy gives up its Jedi Knights, then the Vong will not continue their attack. Thus, Jedi are being ambushed all over by either ordinary citizens or an organization calling itself the Peace Brigade, and times have taken a dark turn. With Han and Leia recuperating from the events in Balance Point, the Solo children are attending a meeting of all of the Jedi, where Luke Skywalker is trying desperately to convince a young Jedi hothead named Kyp Durron to accede to Luke's defensive strategy. He's unsuccessful, and the Solos are torn between the two sides. Whatever way the Jedi finally go, Anakin realizes that the Vong will eventually attack the Jedi academy at Yavin, and races off to save them, especially his best friend Tahiri. Unable to get the New Republic to send any ships, Luke convinces an old friend, smuggler Talon Karrde, to take his ships to help him. They're too late, however, as the Academy has already been overrun and Anakin is missing, having gone after the captured Tahiri. The other Jedi are safe, but can Anakin save his best friend before she's turned into one of them?
I just love Keyes' writing style. It flows very naturally, making the action seem more intense and the character moments more intimate. By concentrating on Anakin for the most part, Keyes is able to take us deep into his mind, seeing why he is as impulsive as he is. He still blames himself for Chewbacca's death, which is one of the many driving forces for why he's so intent on rescuing Tahiri. He's quick-thinking, which makes it so he isn't punished for his impulsiveness as much as he perhaps should be. This can lead to an ever-worsening situation, however, and we see that as his plans go awry at times. When he meets up with the "Shamed" Vong warrior Rapuung, we see Anakin in even starker detail. Anakin is everything that is repulsive to Rapuung, and Anakin quickly learns that sometimes you have to do things you may not want to do in order for your plans to succeed. All of this is captured perfectly by Keyes, and it's the best portrayal of Anakin I've seen yet in the series.
That being said, the other characters in the book are also extremely well-done. With the exception of the first couple of books, we always seem to get a look inside what makes the Vong tick, and this book is no exception. We see some other sides to the Vong, however, with the "shapers" (who apparently are the ones who do most of the genetic modifications to the various Vong organic machines) and the "Shamed Ones," Vong who have either lost the favour of one of their gods or done some other heretical crime. Rapuung is interesting because he's been falsely shamed by one of the Master Shapers, Mezhan Kwaad. He is after his revenge, which isn't death (the Vong embrace death). Instead, it's the public humiliation of having her admit that she caused his downfall and his warrior's scars to be removed. Thus, working with Anakin is a means to an end, but in the meantime, we find out a lot about the Vong religion and their values.
Not only does Keyes do a masterful job with characterization (not just these two, but everybody, as there isn't a single character misstep in my estimation), but he does the action well too. The initial attack on the Academy is wonderfully done, with Anakin having to come up with increasingly desperate plans to save them all, especially when he gets unwanted help. The starship combat between Karrde's ships and both the Peace Brigade and the Vong is outstanding. In fact, Keyes is able to pack a lot of stuff into 290 pages, and there is not a wasted word in there. All of it is either to further the story, or increase our understanding of the Vong. Sometimes, it's both.
My usual complaint about the Star Wars books is the amazing amount of coincidences in them, but I can't even do that here. The only mild complaint I can make is that there are two "last second" rescues. However, one of them is set up earlier in the book and the other one is completely understandable considering how the Jedi minds work and link together, even though the last one does come a bit out of left field. The rescue at the end of the book is only coincidental in its timing (think the first movie, Episode 4).
No book is perfect, but the above is really the only thing I can complain about. Edge of Victory: Conquest is a tightly written book that will hold you until the end. It's a fairly easy read and the pages will fly by. Personally, I think this is because I was gripped right from the beginning and Keyes wouldn't let me go. Now that's a good book! This one's definitely a keeper.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new direction for the New Jedi Order series, 13 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
Ever since I read Vector Prime, the first NJO book, I have felt that there is something not quite right with this series. When are the New Republic ever going to get a victory? The Yuuzhan Vong are seemingly invincible. Now, finally, there seems to be some light at the end of the tunnel. Anakin Solo's character is explored more deeply in this book, and he is portrayed as something more than just a kid. The Yuuzhan Vong appear as something more than just killers by the end as well, and some of their history and beliefs are explained somewhat. However, there still doesn't seem to be a strong direction to the series, although "Conquest" seems to show some sort of path. All in all, an enjoyable addition to the NJO series, but it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good in-depth look, 2 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
I was agreeably impressed by a good portrayal of the Republic's new enemy -- the undefeated Yuuzhan Vong, -- adding in a bit of emotion and thought and weakness. The book centers on Anakin Solo much more than anything else, and he makes for a nice main character too -- sufficiently understanding, sufficiently tough and versatile, especially considering the strange bedfellows this war has landed him with. Possibly, I would even say that this is one of the best books in the New Jedi Order series. Buy it and enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea but too lightweight, 27 April 2001
I will not comment on the author in general, but this book seemed to be an example of what a number of other authors have done in the past, in jumping on the Star Wars bandwagon knowing people will buy the book.
I waited 13 days to receive this book, and was then finished reading it after a day and a half. it was too easy to read, i found myself on autopilot, as the formula was very 'standard' - too many storylines from the past were reused, and to be honest Luke Skywalker's seeming paralysis in decision making, and Jacen Solo's persistence in questioning everything anyone does without ever taking sides is becoming tedious; after all that has happened you expect some sort of direction to begin to take shape.
I agree with a previous reviewer - this book is really a filler for in between other books, and would probably be better as a sub-plot within a larger story. Anakin is developed, we are made aware that the Vong have reached Yavin, and that Han and Leia have finally reconciled their differences - but amongst the few others included, these facts are too few to base a whole book on.
I will continue to buy the books, as I like to think of myself a true SW fan and can't think of not finding out the next episodes, but the authors and those in charge of the NJO project must start to come up with something better and with more of a direction.
In conclusion, the book was a good idea, but too lightweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good read, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This is probably one of the better books of the New Jedi Order series though it is not as good as Balance Point. This book is focused mainly on Anakin for once and how he goes to Yavin 4 to save his best friend Tahiri despite Luke's strict orders not to. Anakin comes across a group of people called the Shammed Ones and learns more about the Yuuzahn Vong but this time as a cultural race of aliens and not terrible warriors. Because the book is mainly about Anakin most of the other characters we have come to love aren't featured in this book such as Han or Leia. Luke and Mara do have a small part to play and their little secret is finally revealed. Chief of State Borsk Fey'lya is now really getting on everyones nerves and especially Luke's. Overall i say this is a very good read and a essential addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The total disappointment., 17 April 2001
I really wanted to like this book, so far in the new Jedi Order series I have really liked the books. Espeally the last one Balance Point. So I was really looking forward to this one and wanted to like it, but it was boring, slow and fealt like a book between this one and Balance point was missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the new jedi order series, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
This has Anakin Solo as the lead character and is about an Yuuzhan Vong attack on Yavin four and their continued efforts to desriy the jedi, but this time they have a different strategy. The book also offers new insigth into Vong culture and psychologi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Jedi Order. Edge of Victory, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent continuation of the story. A little slow to begin with but the growing character of both Anakin and Tahiri was well handled. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book !, 4 Mar 2013
By 
E. Reay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
these are continuing tales following on from one another dating back all the way to the last film return of the jedi , a must read for any Star Wars fan !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92b8654)

This product

Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order)
Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) by Greg Keyes (Paperback - 5 April 2001)
7.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews