Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continues the 'must-read' New Jedi Order books
The best aspects of these books is that each book or duology features on a different set of characters, and we see the invasion through their eyes.
Here, we see the latest events of the continuing Yuuzhan Vong invasion through the eyes of Han Solo, who was conspicuous by his absence up until this point.
It's great to see Han back as the hero we know he is, back...
Published on 1 Dec. 2000 by nealmaidment@hotmail.com

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part good, Part bad
Well, I read it in a day, it is a good story but it is too inconsistent with the other books, for me anyway. On the good side there is a lot of depth and it is good to see Han Solo almost back to normal but it just didn't impress me the way the other books have.
On the bad side, the tactics used against the YV are different, no mention of the flicker shots,...
Published on 22 Aug. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continues the 'must-read' New Jedi Order books, 1 Dec. 2000
By 
This review is from: Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
The best aspects of these books is that each book or duology features on a different set of characters, and we see the invasion through their eyes.
Here, we see the latest events of the continuing Yuuzhan Vong invasion through the eyes of Han Solo, who was conspicuous by his absence up until this point.
It's great to see Han back as the hero we know he is, back to his best and taking on the galaxy again. Even better is that Luceno makes plenty of references to the 70's Han Solo book trilogy, bringing characters into the expanded universe that some thought were gone forever.
It's not the best book of the New Jedi Order series, I'd like to see more Jedi, and more non-human characters involved, but the series is fast paced and exciting and always leaves you wondering how the heroes of old are going to cope.
Now all I need is a duology based on Lando Calrissian and i'll be really happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form for "Star Wars", 13 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
As Stackpole's series revolved almost entirely around the Jedi, it is refreshing to see that the tables have been turned. This time, Han Solo takes centre stage. And the improvement is incredible.
This time, there's no standing around playing around with words; rather, it is all-out action, which, let's face it, has always been what "Star Wars" has been best at.
A refreshing aspect of this book is the return of characters from the Correlian trilogy and the Black Fleet trilogy; characters who were ignored by most writers. Another refreshing aspect is the style of writing; it is far better than Stackpole's. It is unpretentious, neat, and far less meandering. It shows the Yuuzhan Vong savagery in a far more effective way.
In conlusion, this book has served to restore my faith in these books, and brought about a fresh style. Long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part good, Part bad, 22 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
Well, I read it in a day, it is a good story but it is too inconsistent with the other books, for me anyway. On the good side there is a lot of depth and it is good to see Han Solo almost back to normal but it just didn't impress me the way the other books have.
On the bad side, the tactics used against the YV are different, no mention of the flicker shots, suddenly Krefey is no longer really mentioned and the Jedi play a very small part. No real mention of Corran Horn and the events of Ruin. I know every book does not have to be about the Jedi but it just doesn't flow from the other books in the series.
This book is a must if you follow the New Jedi Order series but it didn't work for me. Buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best New Jedi Order book so far, 4 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
As James Luceno had never written a star wars book before, i did't know if he'd be any good. He was. The story is excellent and some question from the previous books start to be answered. Also their is the welcome return of Han Solo to the action as he and his old friend Roa go off on an adventure. Mara also gets a step closer to curing her disease. I thought it was great that luceno brought back lots old characters like Belindi Kalenda from the Correlian trilogy and also lowbacca. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARA CURED AND NOM ANOR READY AS EVER, 24 Sept. 2000
By 
philt@benkenobi.co.uk (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
Hero's Trial shows the deep emotional trouble faced by Han Solo caused by the death of his longtime partner, the wookie Chewbacca. James Luceno continues the story of the Yuuzhan Vong crusade - with a possible cure for Mara's mysterious illness...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not amazing, 17 Oct. 2007
great sw book. however, it is probably the weakest in the series so far. i really enjoyed it - and having Han Solo back in the story was a nice change - his new partner is cool and some estrangements are sorted satisfyingly. the plot relies a little too much on coincidences - Han is always in the right place at the right time - and the ship battles are not described in much detail - they are glossed over in unsatisfactory poetic prose, with little character driven fighting. there are no lightsaber or single fights, because the story is mainly about Han. anyways - enjoyable. and a good continuation but not as strong as other books in series. im still excited tho - wheres the next book!
not really 4 stars - 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fairly humorous book yet also emotionally deep, 26 Jun. 2008
Han Solo's back :D, yet you almost want him to go away again, hmm... strange book. Struggling to come to terms with the death of his friend Han "becomes the loner he once was", seeking to bring an old friend to justice Han uncovers a plot much larger plot then what previously seemed to be a simple traitor. A fairly humorous book yet also emotionally deep, exploring the feelings of Han after the death of his long time friend. Great writing that seems impossible to get bored of, one of the best books in the NJO series and almost up to the standard of Traitor. Plus, it's got the best name in the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good read and flows well through all story lines etc The saga is unfolding at a good enjoyable pace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book !, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
E. Reay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
these are continuing tales following on from one another dating back all the way to the last film return of the jedi , a must read for any Star Wars fan !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel to the New Jedi Order, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order) (Paperback)
Some old characters return wich is cool, but i wanted Danni Qui(from Salvatore's Vector Prime) to return and do something. Still there is this new character (i think) Droma, he may be a well companiom for Han, not as good as Chewie but wich can?.
Its greatly told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agents Of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars - The New Jedi Order)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews