Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read, and I'm not just saying that.
Megan, Bella and Alice share a tower-top room in a high class boarding school. Then someone invades her life. That someone, however,is the new lab assistant and science teacher. She falls in love with him and as we should all know, this is defying all morality. Adele Geras using a stunning technique of description to convery the intensity of Megan's feeling for her...
Published on 10 July 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best.
I had higher expectations of this book so was fairly disappointed at the predictable storyline. I won't be recommending it.
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read, and I'm not just saying that., 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tower Room : Egerton Hall Trilogy 1 (Definitions) (Paperback)
Megan, Bella and Alice share a tower-top room in a high class boarding school. Then someone invades her life. That someone, however,is the new lab assistant and science teacher. She falls in love with him and as we should all know, this is defying all morality. Adele Geras using a stunning technique of description to convery the intensity of Megan's feeling for her teacher, Simon. I recommend it. Top read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rapunzel in the Tower Room, 6 Jun. 2003
By 
Stephen Rosefield (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tower Room, The (Hardcover)
The Tower Room is the first in the Egerton Hall Trilogy, and centres on Megan, a modern Rapunzel. Orphaned, she is cared for by her guardian, the head of science at Egerton Hall boarding school. Megan shares the Tower Room with her two best friends, Bella and Alice, and much of the book is focused here, semi-isolated from the rest of the school.
It is while she is looking down from her high-up window that she first sees Simon, the new science teacher, and it is (of course) love at first sight. Their relationship develops, kept secret from the rest of the school.
This is another wonderful and moving book from Adele Geras, which touches gently on the themes of love, friendship and jealousy. Set in the very early sixties, after the post-war years and before the Beatles, there is a curious mixture of old-fashioned innoncence and the beginnings of rock'n'roll. Although it is a retelling of the old fairy story, it is strong enough to stand alone - suffice to say that the first couple of times I read it, I didn't even realize that it had anything to do with Rapunzel! All the characters are very well-portrayed, and Geras negotiates the difficulties of modernising such an unrealistic tale admirably. It makes one realise that however old you are, there is nothing quite so satisfying as a beautifully told fairy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best., 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had higher expectations of this book so was fairly disappointed at the predictable storyline. I won't be recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
What a beautiful book. Megan's life at boarding school in the seventies is portrayed wonderfully, and her unrequited passion for the science assistant is painfully familiar. Clearly the best of the trilogy and a book that would enchant any age of reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling story about a girl who falls in love., 20 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This is an enthralling story about a girl who is at an all-girls boarding school and falls in love with her science teacher. Unfortunately, her adoptive mother has also got her eye on him. Should she give up her friends, family and home for love??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, serious and light read, 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tower Room : Egerton Hall Trilogy 1 (Definitions) (Paperback)
Bella, Alice and Megan all share the Tower Room. One day she looks down and see's Simons' gaze. They can not forget about each other that lightly so they arrange to meet every so often. Then the three most valuble words are said to Megan. Maybe you already know what these three words are. read on to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not her best..., 8 Dec. 2002
This review is from: The Tower Room (Hardcover)
Out of all the books Adele Geras has written I think this series is her weakest. It is, by and large, a 'teenage romance', but probably at the better end if you like that sort of thing.The plot is predictable and has none of the intriguing twists of some of her other works, 'Troy' being one of the best known. I think it began with a good idea but just didn't quite carry it off well enough to avoid becoming tacky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tower Room : Egerton Hall Trilogy 1 (Definitions)
The Tower Room : Egerton Hall Trilogy 1 (Definitions) by Adèle Geras (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2001)
£5.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews