Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best children's book ever.
It's hard to believe that this wildly imaginative book is 36 years old - definitely worthy of the description "timeless". Sendak is a highly-esteemed painter in a surreal style, and has made many superbly illustrated books. It must be said that not all are actually very accessible by children, but this is his masterpiece! I read this to my daughter EVERY SINGLE NIGHT for...
Published on 23 Jan 2003 by The Librarian

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too awkward for bedtime reading
I find the format and editing of this book very awkward. Some pages only have a couple of words in it, and sentences are spread over more than one page. This makes it difficult to read the book while holding it at the same time to show the pictures to a child. The intonation and rhythm is difficult to keep while the pages are turned. I much preferred a book like A Squash...
Published 8 months ago by Il Principe Brutto


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best children's book ever., 23 Jan 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
It's hard to believe that this wildly imaginative book is 36 years old - definitely worthy of the description "timeless". Sendak is a highly-esteemed painter in a surreal style, and has made many superbly illustrated books. It must be said that not all are actually very accessible by children, but this is his masterpiece! I read this to my daughter EVERY SINGLE NIGHT for six months, and never tired of it. There is only a line or two of text on each page, and every word counts. It reads like blank verse, and there are intriguing internal rhymes, beautifully apparent when read aloud .... " 'Now stop!' Max said, and sent the wild things off to bed without their supper." Also wonderful is the typographical joke at the end, where the story appears to finish when Max returns from his dream journey to find his supper waiting for him. You turn the page, and then on an otherwise blank page, "And it was still hot". Sendak had always insisted that his books are never published in reduced format, or bowdlerised in any way, so, even when you buy paperback editions, you get a quality product.I have worked as a children's librarian for nearly 30 years, and in my view this has never been bettered - recommended for absolutely any age of child. It's so subtly satisfying that I never tire of talking about it!
PS - Buy the video too - it's wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot, 1 Mar 2005
This is simply wonderful - one of the best children's books ever.
It is a beautiful book - the illustrations are amazing (it is easy spend ages discussing the content of a single page with your children) and the prose is simple and sparse, yet beautiful, succinct and evocative. The toy is good quality and durable, it is a useful when reading the book: my son has great fun deciding which wild thing the toy is.
I never tire of reading this book and my son (4) never seems to tire of hearing it. It is now one of his firm favourites.
A timeless classic; a book to be read and reread, enjoyed and treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars portal, 13 Dec 2004
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
My memory of being a small child is a soup of images that are too distant to see clearly anymore.
Reading this book is like being pulled back to the clear reality of those days as I experienced them then.
I don't feel as if I've changed.
(I'm a bit taller).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully imaginative book for young children, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
At first this book seems like it could be scary for very young children, but in fact the opposite is true. Both my children have loved it, especially the 4 year old who acts out the story after we have read it! It appeals to both girls and boys and really sparks their imagination. I would highly recommend it to any parent, the only problem is that they want you to read it so many times that eventually you will read it from memory!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every child should have a copy of this book, 21 Mar 2007
This book changed childrens books forever. The pictures are given much more emphasis that the text and so increase the appeal to a young child.

The book has travel the world and has been enjoyed by generations , this is because it is timeless and an absolute classic which is still used in schools today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You�ll be wild if you miss this, 26 Sep 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
This is a book I have very vivid memories of from my own childhood and it is a pleasure now to read it to my own children. It's a great story where an unruly small child is sent to his room without his supper and in the confines of his bedroom goes to the land where the wild things live. The language is magnificent- for example, Max sails in and out of weeks and almost over a year - and the great pictures are just as I remember. They're timeless; they haven't dated at all. These beautiful illustrations are also unusual within our picture book collection, and the book itself is well-produced on good strong paper. You might think the theme and pictures of Wild Things would be a little scary for the smallest tots but this hasn't been the case at all. Both children loved it from around 2. Now, at not quite three, my son thinks Max's voyage is real; at four my daughter understands about the way imagination can transform a room into anything you want it to be. It's lovely that after having all the fun where the wild things are, and being in trouble at home they still want to go back to 'where someone loves them best'. And of course that Mum (or other someone) has left them their dinner in their room. A classic with good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly fantastic tale, 27 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
This is a book which I read as a wee lad twenty years ago but still remember vividly. I came across it again at a friend's house recently and was reminded of its magical simplicity, so much so that I have bought it on-line and written a review.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic illustrations and great fun!, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Having read this book to my son numerous times,both he and I still enjoy it together. It is about a little boy who, whilst punished in his bedroom, has an amazing dream about another (make-believe) land and the "wild things" in it - finally he wakes up to find he has been forgiven and his dinner is waiting for him. Children will love this book because they have to think about whether the story really was a dream or not- also they will love the pictures . This book will continue to amuse a 4 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not scary, 10 Oct 2006
By 
Binka - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
I thought this book would be a bit scary for my sensitive 5yo daughter when she was given it as a birthday present. Concerned about nightmares I hid it for a bit. It was discovered soon enough and she insisted I read it to her.

She wasn't scared at all and thankfully no nightmares to report. She loves the story and loves pretending to be one of the wild things, nashing her terrible jaws and waving her fearsome claws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK HAS NEVER DATED, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Where The Wild Things Are (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS MANY YEARS AGO FOR MY TWO DAUGHTERS. THEY SO ENJOYED THE GNASHING TEETH AND ROLLING EYES ETC. THAT THEY NEVER FORGOT THIS EXCITING BOOK - IN FACT AT THE AGE OF 27 MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER BOUGHT HERSELF A COPY AND MY ELDEST DAUGHTER HAS JUST BOUGHT A COPY FOR HER SONS (A 9 MONTH AND A 20 MONTH OLD). SO THIS BOOK STANDS THE TEST OF TIME. MY 20 MONTH OLD GRANDSON IS EQUALLY ENAMOURED OF THE ANTICS THAT THE "WILD THINGS" GET UP TO IN THE WONDERFUL ILLUSTRATIONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where The Wild Things Are
Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (Paperback - 4 May 2000)
3.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews