Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and complex conspiracy theory, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) (Paperback)
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So due to circumstances Jessie was sent out of town to bring back help. This trip could prove deadly for Jessie as she is about to find her world turned up-side-down and we are also in for a shock as we discover a cabal behind a deadly plot.

They say that the people that write best are those people that write about what they know and Margaret Peterson Haddix actually knew of a tourist place similar to where our story starts. Yet the strength in Haddix's story is not as much the intriguing plot as it is her description of people and things. She makes you wonder what you would do.

I knew or thought I pretty much knew the story before reading the book as I saw the movie "The Village" (2004). However the movie was readjusted to match M. Night Shyamalan's standard formula including the standard ending twist. The book was more complex and did not need the minute twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Running Out Of Time, 24 May 2001
By 
Laura T (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) (Paperback)
I really liked this book. I thought it had some very original ideas in it, and was a great idea for a story. The book starts in a small village in the 1840's. People are dying and the only way to save them is for 13 year old Jessie's mother to tell her the truth behind their village. Jessie has already noticed some strange things, but when the truth is revealed, it is completly unexpected. This book was exciting and easy to read. If you liked this book, I'd also recommend another book by Margaret Haddix, 'Amongst the Hidden.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VILLAGE..., 5 Nov. 2004
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running out of Time (Turtleback)
I really enjoyed M. Night Shyamalan's film, "The Village", and later read that there was a controversy over where the idea for the film had originated. It had been suggested that the premise of the film had been taken from this book. My curiosity having been peaked, I decided to check for myself. I was surprised that the book was one that had been written for the young adult market. Still, I did not let that deter me from buying the book, though it had been decades since I had been a young adult. I was pleased, however, to note that the book had been designated an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, so all was not lost.
The book is an easy and pleasant read with a very compelling storyline. It tells the story of thirteen year old Jessie Keyser, who all her life has believed that she lives in the nineteenth century frontier village of Clifton, Indiana. When diphtheria starts claiming the lives of the village children, her mother tells her that it is not really 1840, as Jessie has been led to believe, but 1996. It appears that the village in which Jessie has grown up is actually a historical preserve, which its inhabitants are forbidden to leave. Jessie, however, is entrusted with a very important mission. She is to leave the preserve and seek help for their village in the outside world, avoiding capture by those who would seek to silence her in order to maintain the status quo and the secret that they are harboring in Clifton.
This is a very imaginative debut novel with a strong storyline that will appeal to those who are fond of historical fiction or time travel tales. It is most definitely a plot driven, rather than character driven, story. While it is simply written so as to appeal to the young adult market and teens, the story is so compelling that adults will also enjoy it, as long as they keep in mind the targeted audience. As for its similarity to the film, "The Village", there can be little doubt as to why someone may suggest comparison between the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In store reading group thought this was exciting but scary, 27 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
BeBeep Book group, a middle level reading group in Severna Park, Md discussed this book at their July meeting. Six really liked it while two did not. We talked about Jessie's character quite a bit which was well drawn, but felt the setting was a little confusing as were the motivations of some of the adults. The book is well suited for a group because it has good starting points for discussion but proved to be unsettling for some of the children(2children die and a mother puts her child in danger)and I would keep this in mind if choosing the book.Katie(9)thought it was interesting how a 13yr. old had to react in this situation, Emily(10)thought it was good but too unbelievable, Laura(9)didn't think this was a good book for her age and thought the author should have done a better job of describing Clifton.Kelly(8)thought it was scary, Max(9)really enjoyed the way it was written Derrick(10) thought it was a GREAT book and liked to see how Jessie got out of situations, Babette(8)thought it was much more exciting than the regular books she reads, and Lindsay thought the whole reenactment idea was very neat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lacking excitement in your library - try this., 22 July 2006
This review is from: Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) (Paperback)
When I first picked up this book, I chose it for the excited sounding title. This excitement does not merely give false hopes about the book's content, but in fact it did not come close to having as much suspense and anticipation as the actual text.

At the time that I first read this, I had never found such an action-packed, dramatic and enticing book written for my age range. It has much movement in the plot and the reader can really empathise with Jesse as we are as confused as she is about the world that she finds herself in, when she has to leave her safe village, to live in the 'real' world.

The plot tells of how her small community needs to be saved from lack of medicine for an illness, and really pulls people into feelings of despair of a completely believable and life-like character searching for truth in confusion.

This is a book to excite and refresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running out of Time., 22 Sept. 2013
My son HATES READING, in trying to encourage him I came across this book.
An excellent choice for many reasons.
1. Its not too long, the chapters are intense but short.
2. Its different, it has its own twists which keep you coming back.
3. The descriptions in the book about ordinary everyday objects, which we take for granted are great. Really shows how words can have an impact!
MY SON REALLY ENJOYED THE BOOK, asked if we can read another!!
All mums out there with KIDS who don't want to READ, give this book ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Captivating Story For All Ages, 27 Nov. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Running out of Time (Paperback)
Unlike this author's other books, this book is not violent or unnecessarily drastic. It is, instead, an original story which somehow seems possible, and I was moved throughout. The title and cover nearly stopped me from reading it (it sounded pretty idiotic), but it became a whole new world in my imagination, and I was enjoyed it throughly. I am fourteen years old, and I read this book, so don't let the age group throw you off. Please take time to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Runnintg out of time!, 8 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) (Paperback)
I think running out of time is a brilliant book for 9+ year olds.It is full of twists and turns and keeps you gripped right to the end.It is written well and you get a good idea of what Jessie feels.It is 1840 and an outbreak of diptheria is sweeping the town unless they get help all the children could die.Jessies mum knows a cure but it will mean revealing to Jessie the dark and dangerous secret behind Clifton and all its people.Is jessie ready fr the truth.Is she prepeared for the cosequences of running out of time. "Time:the duration of human excistense" This is the best book Iv'e read for ages ,it is deep and exciting and really gets acroos its points. Read or miss out luv Aimee xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and complex conspiracy theory, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So due to circumstances Jessie was sent out of town to bring back help. This trip could prove deadly for Jessie as she is about to find her world turned up-side-down and we are also in for a shock as we discover a cabal behind a deadly plot.

They say that the people that write best are those people that write about what they know and Margaret Peterson Haddix actually knew of a tourist place similar to where our story starts. Yet the strength in Haddix's story is not as much the intriguing plot as it is her description of people and things. She makes you wonder what you would do.

I knew or thought I pretty much knew the story before reading the book as I saw the movie "The Village" (2004). However the movie was readjusted to match M. Night Shyamalan's standard formula including the standard ending twist. The book was more complex and did not need the minute twist.

The Village (Widescreen Vista Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running out of Time, 16 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) (Paperback)
Running out of Time is a very interesting book. It revolves around Jessie, a girl in the 1840s. Children are dying from diphtheria. It is very interesting and gives us a lot of information, pharmaceutical and scientific. Don't be put off though: this is the BEST book EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions)
Running Out Of Time: Two Worlds, One Answer, No Time! (Definitions) by Margaret Haddix (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews