Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Arthurian legends.
I was first given The Sword and The Circle when I was four, so it would be true to say that I grew up with these books. This edition contains the trilogy of works written by Sutcliff that cover the Arthur legend as you could expect to find it in Mallory. There are mystical elements, spiritual elements, romance and chivalry, everything you could desire from a retelling of...
Published 21 months ago by R. Vowles

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bedtime Arthur again
This is three books in one: The Sword and the Circle, The Light Beyond the Forest and The Road to Camlann.

It's Sutcliff writing, so you can't really go wrong here, as she is a great and learned author of numerous books and tales, mostly historical fiction, that bring the past to life. 'Eagle of The Ninth' is a young adult book (and beyond) that famously and...
Published on 27 Feb 2009 by greenwise design


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bedtime Arthur again, 27 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
This is three books in one: The Sword and the Circle, The Light Beyond the Forest and The Road to Camlann.

It's Sutcliff writing, so you can't really go wrong here, as she is a great and learned author of numerous books and tales, mostly historical fiction, that bring the past to life. 'Eagle of The Ninth' is a young adult book (and beyond) that famously and brilliantly brings to life Roman Britain. She doesn't use the same style here, which is a shame....

So just be warned that this book is really for fans of King Arthur tales, who are already familiar with the traditional versions from other books, and wish to see them re-emphasised and embellished here by an accomplished author. Replaced even.

However, Sutcliff has chosen again the old style of Tale-writing to re-visit them, and this serves both to re-awaken the old power of old narrative, but also to restrict them, emotionally and from a more cynical modern perspective.

So, you won't find any The Mists of Avalon (Ballantine Reader's Circle) here, where the writing is empathic, descriptive and very engaging, but you will find the bedtime story element is accessible. Also, the content follows a similar trend in the developments at court and ultimately towards the last Battle. However, there is no big explanation of how christian values work alongside Merlin's magical ones. We just have to accept the casual facts in the myths.

It's still a first-rate involvement with the heroic, mythical past and all the chivalrous values that give them strength. Some of the tales are expertly re-counted.

The weaker book is the middle one, where the magical or spiritual Grail aspects get a bit far-fetched and tiring, even for bedtime stories....

But where each of the tales of all the Knights are told, the final book leaves out none of them, covering all the bases to leave us moved by the re-telling and illuminated again.

We also sense that Sir Lancelot is really the tragic hero of this book, and Sutcliff's fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Arthurian legends., 10 Oct 2012
By 
R. Vowles "becky" (Truro, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
I was first given The Sword and The Circle when I was four, so it would be true to say that I grew up with these books. This edition contains the trilogy of works written by Sutcliff that cover the Arthur legend as you could expect to find it in Mallory. There are mystical elements, spiritual elements, romance and chivalry, everything you could desire from a retelling of a legend of this nature. Unlike most of her other work these books are not glorious is historical fact, if that is what you are looking for try her Sword at Sunset Arthurian books instead, they contain accurate historical detail to place them in a semi medieval setting within Britain, but do this, as Mallory did rather than in a factual basis as such. The books are glorious, possibly The Light Beyond The Forest, which follows the quest for the Grail, is the weakest of the three; but is still beautifully written throughout. I have yet to meet a child of either sex, who won't be enthralled by stories of beautiful ladies and brave knights, and firmly believe that every child should have read this book, if nothing else as an introduction to a great British legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two books - King Arthur and The Gauntlet, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
These two books were bought for my grandsons, nine and eleven years old. They wanted a "good read". As a child I always enjoyed King Arthur and The Gauntlet which I read when I was about their age. I particularly loved The Gauntlet and have always remembered it and was highly delighted when I saw that it was still published. The youngest one is reading his at school and although there are over six hundred pages in the book he is plodding on steadily. He keeps reminding me of this fact when I ask him if he has finished it yet.

Very pleased with this transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great stories of our time, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
Brilliant and clear story of a saga that is part of our culture and should not be missed by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A*****, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
A***** Many years ago I heard extracts being read on the radio and was impressed. Eventually I have got the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit ordinary, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
After reading her foray into Arthurian legend in The Lantern Bearers (part of The Eagle Of The Ninth series), I was very much looking forward to this. Sadly, instead of the innovative approach she took in The Lantern Bearers, this is a competent but very traditional Tennyson based version of the legends. Good enough Sutcliffe is far too good an author to churn out rubbish) but not what I was hoping for. I'm going back to The Eagle Of The Ninth series, far too good to languish in the ghetto of children's literature. (Oh, by the way, avoid the film like the plague, it misses all the subleties of the book, and thus the whole point of it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a better way to engage children/young people with history, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann" (Paperback)
Rosemary Sutcliff's books are worth their weight in gold. Hardly a better way to engage children/young people with history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King Arthur Trilogy: "Sword and the Circle", "Light Beyond the Forest", "Road to Camlann"
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews