Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effortless, quirky, funny children's poetry
This really appeals to both my children and to me. It's a large (A4) format book with Blake's characteristic, spiky, lively illustrations. Daisy Artichoke has a couple of young friends who admire her raven with it's awful croak, her lovely ragged patchwork cloak, and many other unlikely rhyming phenomenon.

It's incredible how many rhymes Blake found, but the...
Published on 8 Nov. 2007 by Dr. H. Payne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely for younger kids, not his best work
It has much simpler language and fewer words per page than other Quentin Blake books. It was a disappointment to read (as a parent) after I have been reading Mr Magnolia and Angelica Sprocket for a few months. My 3 1/2 year old seemed overall unimpressed but quite liked the word "artichoke". The illustrations are still lovely. I would recommend this book as a...
Published 24 months ago by auntiebip


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effortless, quirky, funny children's poetry, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
This really appeals to both my children and to me. It's a large (A4) format book with Blake's characteristic, spiky, lively illustrations. Daisy Artichoke has a couple of young friends who admire her raven with it's awful croak, her lovely ragged patchwork cloak, and many other unlikely rhyming phenomenon.

It's incredible how many rhymes Blake found, but the poem is effortless and flows beautifully. My eldest child, at 4, loves to join in with the poem and always has a huge smile on his face at the end.

I heartily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Abby & Callum- Y3, 26 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
This brilliant book is super-duper.
Daisy Artichoke likes nearly everything. She has three fat cats, a raven and a pig.
This book will make you laugh out loud- you could probably read it 20 times!
It is suitable for adults to read to children as well as children reading it themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 19 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
Quentin Blake's illustrations are incredibly beautiful and a real inspiration to draw and paint for kids and adults alike. This is a great book about being an individual and being proud to be so. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Daisy Artichoke, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
Jenny "Jenny" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
A really zany delighful book which all adults and children will love. Many thanks to the book seller in the U.K. who sent it so promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely for younger kids, not his best work, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
It has much simpler language and fewer words per page than other Quentin Blake books. It was a disappointment to read (as a parent) after I have been reading Mr Magnolia and Angelica Sprocket for a few months. My 3 1/2 year old seemed overall unimpressed but quite liked the word "artichoke". The illustrations are still lovely. I would recommend this book as a Quentin Blake starter for much younger kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The illustrations are brilliant, we laugh out loud whenever we talk about ..., 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
My grandsons adore all Quentin Blake books. The illustrations are brilliant, we laugh out loud whenever we talk about them in detail. They will own every single book of his this Christmas and I hope this one will be a lovely surprise for them. (aged 6 and 4)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children love Quentin Blake's funny drawings and stories, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
Lesley Checkland-Orr "Spirit Dancer" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
Quentin Blake's books are always a real pleasure to read and look at. The illustrations are delightful and the text is entertaining. Children love Quentin Blake's funny drawings and stories, and adults enjoy reading them aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
H. Blythe "HDB" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for my daughter (Daisy) she's too young to say whether she likes it but I enjoy reading it to her! Illustrations are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
I love this book. I read it to the children in the nursery often and it is always very popular. bought it for my fantastic friend Daisy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Daisy Artichoke (Paperback)
Nice book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Daisy Artichoke
Fantastic Daisy Artichoke by Quentin Blake (Paperback - 3 May 2001)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews