Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most moving book you will ever read
I finished reading this book a few months ago but it is still with me. I am still haunted by the images of the innocent and beautifully characterised Kunta Kinte being snatched from his village in Juffure. This book was my insight into American history and I was unable to put it down until it was finished. I lived the horrors with Kunta Kinte and followed all the...
Published on 31 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing
Good book but got a bit tedious in the middle, I really struggled to finish it. Very sad in places.
Published 1 month ago by Katie G


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 10 April 2009
By 
J. Prince (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
the best book ive read in a long time. i read the book in 1 week i couldnt put it down just after i finished i visited kunta kintehs village juffureh in the gambia made all the more special because i knew the history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Amazing read, 4 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
This book is simply breath taking. Haley's writing gets to your very core, and from page one captivates your attention. Starting off in Africa you are taken on a journey from generation to generation of the Kinte family. From striking imagery on board the horrific slave ships to the hardship of the slaves in America each part of this epic tale is told with the upmost care. I would recommend this book most highly to anyone and everyone as I think it brings with it a story that everyone should know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 12 July 2010
By 
Mrs. J. M. V. Hughson (Shetland Is.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
The book arrived quickly and was well packaged.It is a really good book.
I have been watching Roots on tv,but i wanted to read the book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots book by Alex Haley, 29 Dec 2009
By 
J. Stewart (wakefield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
I ordered this book to go with the ROOTS Complete Miniseries Collection DVD as a christmas present for my wife. Having left it late I was concerned that it would not arrive in time but to my relief it arrived 2 days later, well protected in thick cardboard jacket.
NO PROBLEMO as EL GRECO would say.
It is the first time that I have bought from this site but I will be happy to do so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Linda Lawrance (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots (Hardcover)
A must read for anyone who has visited the Gambia and followed the slave trail route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
Good bargain. Although the book is used but it is acceptable. Only the cover of the book is not the same as the shown picture which I was expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed blessings, 30 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My experience was mixed, the book arrived very quickly which pleased me, however the packaging from the distribution centre was not as good as it could have been as there were marks on the cover sleeve and edges of book; it was a new book and it looked second hand - it had been bought for a gift so it was not in the right condition HOWEVER, the seller was excellent and responded to my complaint immediately with a full refund and instructions to keep the book anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condition of book, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. L. Morley (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots (Paperback)
I buy many books from Amazon and have never been disappointed. However, although I realised this one was "used", it was supposed to be in good condition. Possibly the price should have warned me but I feel this copy was in fact in very poor condition. The book itself is a classic and one which I look forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roots
Roots by Alex Haley (Paperback - 21 Jan 1994)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews