Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway, The First 49 Stories
The father of modern realism, Hemingway's skill can really be seen in this collection not just of short stories, but also of chapters from books never published and paragraphs standing alone. If you've never read any Hemingway I cannot recommend him enough. He developed a style, that for the reader is closer to experiencing action, than being told a story. For me he is...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Gail

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point
This is a nicely condensed selection of Hemingway stories - including 'The Snows of Kilimanjaro' and 'Up in Michigan' - that I ordered after being told that short stories are his forte. Had previously read 'A Farewell to Arms' and found it a bit cold. His style is definitely well-suited to these shorter narratives.

Only negative is the paperback is a bit thin...
Published 24 days ago by E. Hepburn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway, The First 49 Stories, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
The father of modern realism, Hemingway's skill can really be seen in this collection not just of short stories, but also of chapters from books never published and paragraphs standing alone. If you've never read any Hemingway I cannot recommend him enough. He developed a style, that for the reader is closer to experiencing action, than being told a story. For me he is the original 'show not tell' writer. And in addition, his short stories and novels just make a brilliantly, gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, thought provoking and quite rude in some parts!, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
The collection of stories in this book are an eclectic mix that are inspired from the different places and expriences Hemingway had along his travels. The short stories are a good place to start with Hemingway I think so you can become used to the style before embarking on a novel. Quirky, thought provoking and quite rude in some parts! Good stuff actually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
Absolutely nothing wrong with this book - even though I already had quite a few of Hem's short stories it was still worth every penny. A must for every Hemingway fan. Its great to have all stories in one place. It also has a very wise forward by the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, 24 Aug 2014
By 
E. Hepburn (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
This is a nicely condensed selection of Hemingway stories - including 'The Snows of Kilimanjaro' and 'Up in Michigan' - that I ordered after being told that short stories are his forte. Had previously read 'A Farewell to Arms' and found it a bit cold. His style is definitely well-suited to these shorter narratives.

Only negative is the paperback is a bit thin and the spine will crease with use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
I brought this book for my lit class and its brilliant for variety, although quite hard to make lots of annotations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The master at work!, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing skill in writing a short story. Varied and possibly a bit dated now, some quite colonial in content, but wonderful insight into how to draw a reader in to the story. Great characterisation and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Classic, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
Beautifully written, this was the first Hemmingway book I have read and it was the perfect introduction to his style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Question of Substance over Style, 3 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) (Paperback)
This was the first Hemingway I've read and I found it hard to get to grips with.It just doesn't flow in the right way and I found myself having to back track to understand simple sentences due to what I perceived as bad syntax.Maybe I'm missing some revelation that would reveal the secret to his "deceptively simple style" or maybe his writing is an acquired taste for those with more sophisticated literal palettes than mine.Possibly he is very overrated and created a macho myth that overshadowed his talent as a writer,whatever the problem was it didn't resolve itself in this collection of stories.
To sum up the contents and subjects of the stories are captivating for those with a penchant for "boys own adventure" but the style is an acquired taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic)
The First Forty-Nine Stories (Arrow Classic) by Ernest Hemingway (Paperback - 5 Jan 1995)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews