Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I'm a great fan of the Rendell/Vine non Wexford books and started reading them about 25 years ago. I wanted to go back and read what I had missed before this time and this proved difficult as some of her books have naturally dated. This one, however is a classic where the story unfolds within a suburban North London house in 1971 and deals with the happenings within...
Published on 11 Feb 2012 by Rossi

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Ruth Rendell
Bit of a waste of time. Certainly no mystery. The outcome was pretty obvious right through and the boring reference to crossword clues was unnecessary
Published 15 months ago by Terry Breeds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a great fan of the Rendell/Vine non Wexford books and started reading them about 25 years ago. I wanted to go back and read what I had missed before this time and this proved difficult as some of her books have naturally dated. This one, however is a classic where the story unfolds within a suburban North London house in 1971 and deals with the happenings within. It's the story of conniving Stanley, hated by his live-in mother in law Maud as she perceives him to be a no good layabout and Stanley's plans for her demise so he can inherit her fortune.

The wonderful thing about RR's characters are that they are so clearly defined that they take shape and form straight away, mainly through conversation and subtle mannerisms and there are never any sharp personality changes which seem to exist so often in modern writing. I love normal situations that turn into something more and this most certainly delivers. A blast from the past. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant as ever, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed so many of Ruth Rendells novels and this one is no exception. She so understands the criminal mind and through this understanding relays back to us the humanity of the loser,so that we can empathise even finding some of them quite lovable. Stanley is one of her lovable? losers and we follow him from one gruesome error to the next right to the end. She is a truly epic writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your average Rendell, not your usual murder, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike most Rendell novels, this is not a mystery, and hardly even a murder. The story is set chiefly inside a small suburban house. Three people live in the house, then two. We are fully aware of what happened to the third person - who did what to whom, and why. And what happened afterwards.

In general terms, this is the story of the deterioration of a marriage, spurred on by the presence of a vindictive mother-in-law. More specifically, it is an examination of the unsavoury mind of Stanley Manning, who is obsessed by greed and crossword puzzles, and who is eventually brought down by violet cachous and a bit of genealogy.

The book belongs to the days before DNA tests, so Stanley will forever be blamed for a murder he connived at but didn't commit, and as things pan out, it rather looks as if nobody (except you, dear reader) will ever know the truth about Auntie Ethel. However, the whole thing was Stanley's fault from start to finish, and his comeuppance is wholely deserved.

When I first started the book, it felt a bit claustrophobic and I wasn't sure that I would want to read to the end, but I was quickly drawn into the story and anxious to find out how... or whether... this complete waste-of-space could extricate himself from the web of deceit he was weaving. It is not vintage Rendell, but very enjoyable nonetheless, and if you are partial to the occasional cryptic crossword clue, Stanley won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendell, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ruth Rendell and Barbara Vine have been one of my favourite authors, and this book was such a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ONE ACROSS,TWO DOWN, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exciting page turner. Anyone who likes Ruth Rendell will enjoy this book. A clever theme is running through the novel with a dramatic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best written at her best!, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Across, Two Down (Paperback)
One of her best written at her best!
It reads too fluently and too fast - I don't want to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greed that got out of hand., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Across, Two Down (Paperback)
I could not put this book down,truly enjoyed it,so real life,showes how things can get out of hand when you relatives living with you

great read recommend to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book many years ago..., 26 July 2013
This review is from: One Across, Two Down (Paperback)
...and must get another copy as it is so good. Yes, it's depressing in places (but I like depressing), but the characters are so well drawn, especially Stanley and Maud. May seem dated now, but well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great page turner, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first of Ruth Rendell's books that I have read and I couldn't put it down. I shall certainly be reading more of her books.Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this story. The suspense was great. I have always liked Ruth Rendell books thia one was superb. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Across, Two Down
One Across, Two Down by Ruth Rendell (Paperback - July 2000)
5.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews