Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book for the true Marilyn fan
Out of the many Monroe books I own, this one is my all time favourite. A very good book to devote time to if you don't know much about Marilyn's life but really want to learn everything about her and what made her who she was. It deals with difficult events in a very sensitive yet frank manner, is thoughtful of Marilyn while not hiding her faults, and is cram packed full...
Published on 15 Sep 2003 by Ms. E. J. M. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a text book
Defiantly one for the devoted fan. This book goes into huge detail and analyses every part of Monroe's short life to such an extent that it's quite a heavy going read.

The book was very informative and gave evidence to back up the authors arguments and views, but I did find it a bit frustrating that Marilyn could do nothing wrong in spoto's view, in every film...
Published 14 days ago by Alison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book for the true Marilyn fan, 15 Sep 2003
By 
Out of the many Monroe books I own, this one is my all time favourite. A very good book to devote time to if you don't know much about Marilyn's life but really want to learn everything about her and what made her who she was. It deals with difficult events in a very sensitive yet frank manner, is thoughtful of Marilyn while not hiding her faults, and is cram packed full of all the information you need to know about her. Her last days are explained in detail but the entire book does not feel as though it is working up to her death as many Marilyn books do. This is about a life, not a death. It does take some reading as there is a lot of information to digest, but it is well written and well worth the time. If you really want to know about the person behind the legend of Marilyn Monroe then this is the book to do it with. It is best read in small sections so that the vast amounts of information can be considered and digested before moving onto the next part of her life as the amount of detailed information found in this book is really quite astounding at times. I have also found this to be the only regular Marilyn biography I have *enjoyed* reading as most books on her are very heavy, traumatic reading, whereas this one is something I can pick up repeatedly and enjoy reading over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marilyn Monroe: The Biography (Paperback)
I am a huge Marilyn fan and have read many of her biographies - none of which come close to this! Donald Spoto manages to wipe them off the board with this riveting and thoroughly researched account of her life. It goes deeper than the blonde hair and red lips to uncover a deeply sensitive, intelligent, funny and fragile woman. The account of her death is the most realistic to date - it actually makes sense! (but I'll not spoil it for you). Never has a biography sent shivers up my spine and made me feel uneasy reading it at night.
Utterly compelling and latterly chilling - highly recommended to everyone - even non Marilyn fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adding new theories to the much disputed death of a legend., 26 Oct 1999
By 
meow11@hotmail.com (Lancaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marilyn Monroe: The Biography (Paperback)
A very interesting book. A whole host of previously unseen information was used to write this account of not only Marilyn's life, but her last days as well. Spotto provides a reasonably objective commentary and formulates his own theory to why, and how, Marilyn died so tragically. A must for Monroe fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it Love it, 2 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Huge book which is full of everything you would want to know,some fab pic's too,must admit this take's pride of place in my collection,if Like,love or just curious about Marilyn Monroe this is a must have book for you,im delighted and so glad i purchased this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all fans of Marilyn Monroe, 3 Jan 2004
Certainly this is one of the best biographies of Monroe. Impeccably researched and detailed. It doesn't go down the usual path of portraying MM as a victim. Instead you see a more rounded picture of an essentially good-natured, uniquely talented and determined woman. It goes some way to explaining her "difficult" behaviour on movie sets as the only defence of an actress who was rarely afforded the respect she deserved.
My only quibble is with the way Spoto largely disregards the many rumours concerning her doomed relationships with the Kennedy brothers. Like many he seems to have been seduced by their glamour and doesn't want to show them in a negative light.
Also, his theory of how Marilyn died - that she was killed by her psychiatrist - is interesting but I'm not really convinced. Personally, I think it was probably an accidental overdose. But the role of Bobby Kennedy in her final days cannot be ignored.
Overall though this is an informative read and a must-have for all fans of Monroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the REAL life story of Marilyn, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn Monroe: The Biography (Paperback)
I have never reviewed a book before!

This is a fantastic and fully informative read. Donald Spato has done his research well and works at dispelling the many MYTHS about her life such as her disruptive-ness on film sets and her 'affair' with the Kennedys.

Throw all the other Marilyn books away and keep only this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Biography of Ms Monroe, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Eva (Budapest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marilyn Monroe: The Biography (Paperback)
It has been a long time that I read this book. But still nowadays I remember how much I liked it. As a teen I was a big Monroe fan. I bought books, movies etc about her. This biography of Marilyn gives a very accurate description of her life, her feelings, her men. The book has quite a lot of pictures of her since her childhood till her death. If you are a Monroe fan than this book is for you. You will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely in depth and well researched, 5 April 2012
By 
B Adams "Birdygirl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, very engaging and Spoto relies only on the facts and not conjecture or theory. Highly recommended.
I cannot add too much to what other reviewers have said, and so I'm only left with some minor, and I mean MINOR annoyances. Really I'm nit picking as this book is great.

Firstly - This is a small yet thick paperback which I am having trouble reading as the text often vanishes into the inner crease/spine of the book. It's such a shame and I'm often having to force it open in a way that damages the book just so I can read the end of the line. The volume of the book could really use a bigger format. This book would be perfect for the Kindle, sadly there is no Kindle addition available yet.

Lastly, Spoto has a habit of normalising abuse with his language. Whilst I appreciate his role as biographer should be from a position of some emotional detachment, I often found myself cringing as he describes the sexual assault of a minor as 'unfortunate' before breezing on in his narrative. On one occasion he describes a child being coerced into marriage, submitting to sex that she does not want, then being dragged into a cold shower fully clothed as punishment - he then adds that she was never cruely treated. I'm sorry, but she was! By old standards and new that was cruel. Spoto is a fan of euphemism, which I feel trivialises the very real abuse his subject suffered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Authoritative Account of Marilyn, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marilyn Monroe: The Biography (Paperback)
This is an impressive and extensive biography I will urge anyone to read if you have the slightest interest in this remarkable personality. It is thoroughly researched to an extent seldom seen making it an authorative account of her life. It is beautifully written and I found that when I finished it I didn't want it to stop (despite its 670 pages). You end up with a nuanced account of a kind, generous, sensitive and insecure person you frankly cannot help but like. Thank you Mr. Spoto, for giving us this fair, fact-based biography that finally lays to rest the generally accepted image of a blonde, dim-witted (she was anything but!) drug-addict as well as all of the ridiculous conspiracies surrounding her death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a text book, 4 Dec 2014
By 
Defiantly one for the devoted fan. This book goes into huge detail and analyses every part of Monroe's short life to such an extent that it's quite a heavy going read.

The book was very informative and gave evidence to back up the authors arguments and views, but I did find it a bit frustrating that Marilyn could do nothing wrong in spoto's view, in every film he seems convinced she was the only bright spot and in every relationship she was badly treated.

Overall an interesting, but not light, read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marilyn Monroe: The Biography
Marilyn Monroe: The Biography by Donald Spoto (Paperback - 2 Jun 1994)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews