Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Powerful Roth Take On The Human Condition
This 1998 novel by Philip Roth is another in the series featuring his most prolific fictional protagonist, Nathan Zuckerman. Here, Zuckerman has reached late middle age (his 60s), and following a career as a playwright, is now something of recluse. The entire I Married A Communist Novel consists of an extended account of a meeting between Zuckerman and his erstwhile...
Published on 30 Oct. 2012 by Keith M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull Book, But Vivid Portrayal of Bad Time Long Gone
Philip Roth's I MARRIED A COMMUNIST, 1998, is one of his Zuckerman books, but one in which the author's alter ego Nathan Zuckerman simply narrates: the story of Ira Ringgold, whom he had known since his Newark Jewish childhood, as Ira was the brother of one of his favorite teachers, Murray Ringgold. Ira, perhaps defined by the fact that he was big, and rough, coming from...
Published 23 months ago by Stephanie De Pue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Powerful Roth Take On The Human Condition, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
This 1998 novel by Philip Roth is another in the series featuring his most prolific fictional protagonist, Nathan Zuckerman. Here, Zuckerman has reached late middle age (his 60s), and following a career as a playwright, is now something of recluse. The entire I Married A Communist Novel consists of an extended account of a meeting between Zuckerman and his erstwhile college teacher and fellow Jew, the 90-year old Murray Ringold, as the two reflect (primarily) on the life of Murray's brother, one time Zinc miner and latterly radio theatre star and notorious communist Ira Ringold (otherwise known as Iron Rinn). Predominantly set in Roth's home territory of Newark, New Jersey, what on the surface may sound like the transcription of a relatively dry, second-hand life-story is transformed by Roth's masterly prose and skill at characterisation into a devastating commentary on the fallibilities of the human condition, as exhibited across a range of compelling cast members, and fictionally related during a key period of US history, in the immediate aftermath of WWII.

Indeed, although some commentators have interpreted the character of Ira Ringold's wife, established film star Eve Frame, as a fictional incarnation of Roth's ex-wife Claire Bloom, I prefer to think of the novel's characters as being firmly based in (and formed from) its post-WWII setting, when US paranoia (predominantly around Communism, but also Jewishness) was at one of its (many) periods of peak intensity. Roth again uses a 'semi-fictional' approach (as in Operation Shylock and The Plot Against America), whereby the novel's fictional events are depicted in relation to real-life developments (e.g. the anti-communist HUAC investigations and Richard Nixon's resignation), thereby enhancing the novel's sense of realism.

But, again, it is important to stress that I Married A Communist (Roth's novel's title being taken from the title of the scathing memoirs attributed to Ira's wife Eve) is no history reading, but rather a passionate and insightful account of misplaced idealism, self-deception, hero worship, promiscuity, guilt and betrayal, as the mercurial tough man Ira finds himself ostracised from his wife Eva (and from her cold, calculating musician daughter, Sylphid) and from his erstwhile role model, radical thinker and activist Johnny O'Day, and in the process suffers a career-ending literary character assassination at the hands of Eve's acquaintances, the gossip columnists Bryden and Katrina Van Tassel Grant. Roth has also created for the novel one of his most beautifully realised endings, following Nathan and Murray's parting at the end of their meeting, as Nathan discards painful past memories and, scanning the night sky, instead reflects on the perfection and permanence of the stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roth is a master, 25 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
I thought this was a wonderful novel. It throws light on a subject not much understood (left-wing politics in the USA) but its key themes are those of betrayal and (typically for Roth) the difficulties in really understanding others and their motives. I found the ending almost breathtakingly beautiful. Roth is up there with Shakespeare in his ability to mix the sacred and profane. I doubt there is a better contemporary writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull Book, But Vivid Portrayal of Bad Time Long Gone, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
Philip Roth's I MARRIED A COMMUNIST, 1998, is one of his Zuckerman books, but one in which the author's alter ego Nathan Zuckerman simply narrates: the story of Ira Ringgold, whom he had known since his Newark Jewish childhood, as Ira was the brother of one of his favorite teachers, Murray Ringgold. Ira, perhaps defined by the fact that he was big, and rough, coming from a rough neighborhood as the Ringgold brothers did, began life as a teenage ditch digger in 1930s Depression Newark. Rode the rails, worked all over the country, as a miner, a steel worker. Joined the Army and fought during World War II. Improbably became a big radio star, and married an even bigger radio star, Eve Frame, who had been a very very big silent film star. (People who are familiar with the lives of some celebrities may well feel that Eve, a self-hating Jew born Brooklyn's Chave Fromkin, who climbs the social ladder by imitating her betters, including their anti-semitism, strongly resembles the beautiful British actress Claire Bloom, one of Roth's ex-wives. And that Roth is here further pursuing his quarrels with her.) At any rate, the fictional Eve delivers Ira into quite a desirable lifestyle, based in a Greenwich Village, Manhattan, New York townhouse, beautifully furnished, where she frequently entertains glittering figures in the arts and literature. But he can't get on with her daughter from a previous marriage, Sylphid.

And Ira is a confirmed, dedicated Communist, bullying everyone around him with his political views, furthermore using his radio show to put forth the party's views. Then, in the early postwar years, comes the House Un-American Activities Committee, with its Inquisitional hearings intent on driving so-called Communists and fellow travelers from entertainment, and any other influential positions in American life. Demanding that its victims `name names' of other political undesirables. Creating various abominable blacklists that prevented its victims' employment, and hounded them into suicide and exile. The House hearings to be followed, in the 1950s, by the even more damaging Senate hearings of "Tailgunner" Joe McCarthy. Initially, Ira is protected by his relationship to Eve, but soon enough, his unstable marriage starts to crack up. And she publishes a bestselling exposé that identifies him as "an American taking his orders from Moscow." He is destroyed, personally and professionally. Because of him, even his brother, the teacher, loses his job; the McCarthyite witch hunters don't hold with Red schoolteachers, either. Ultimately, Zuckerman will be told that the witchhunt even reached out to him: he failed to receive the Fulbright Scholarship he was expecting, as he was thought to be a nephew of the Ringgolds.

In the 1990s, Roth won America's four major literary awards in succession: the National Book Critics Circle Award for Patrimony: A True Story,(1991); the PEN/Faulkner Award for Operation Shylock: A Confession, (1993); the National Book Award for SABBATH'S THEATER, (1995), and the Pulitzer Prize in fiction for American Pastoral, (1997). He won the Ambassador Book Award of the English-Speaking Union for I MARRIED A COMMUNIST. This greatly-talented, multi-award winning, world famous American author is, however, probably best known for his massively popular earlier books, Goodbye, Columbus; Portnoy's Complaint and When She Was Good. This book, told in long, dull, improbable flashback by Zuckerman and Murray, is probably best only for his more devoted fans, and/or those particularly interested in this dark period. But make no mistake about it; despite its flaws, here, in the guise of social history, Roth has created a vivid portrait of a bad time long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American beauty, 9 Oct. 2005
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
Roth is an outstanding prose writer, and "I married a Communist" shows him at his best. Illustrating the conflicts of McCarthy-era American through the tale of pugnacious Communist Ira Ringold, Roth creates a panoply of interesting characters set in a powerful narrative with a slow-building, satisfying storyline.
One reservation: Roth is occasionally carried away by his own writing skill. Result: his otherwise excellent dialogue sometimes goes on at excessive length: the book would be more readable edited down by 30 pages.
Conclusion: excellent heavyweight literary fiction with a few dull patches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars for devotees of american political history, 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
The ageing novelist Zuckerman meets his now 90 year old English teacher and they recollect the English teacher's life, blighted by blacklisting in the McCarthy era - and his personal demons.

The novel reflects deep study of the McCarthy era in US politics - the biography in the Library of America edition of Roth's novels explains that he himself followed very closely the 1948 election, which saw the Democrats split three ways - and win with Harry Truman (you feel, no more the young Roth's choice than the young Zuckerman's).

Of course there's much to admire here, notably in Roth's treatment of the passage of time and old age. But for me this novel bogged down a bit in the historical detail; and the 'personal demons' bit of the story, when revealed, casts a certain doubt over the integrity of the English teacher and his wife (that somehow just doesn't strike Zuckerman the narrator).

And overall, this is not the Roth I'd come to love and admire in his earlier books - no longer so wildly inventive, exuberant or comic (as even in his earlier book covering US politics, Our Gang, which is hilarious), but rather seriously lamenting the human condition through a very well research - and rather slow-moving - historical novel. Not the best of Roth, then - at least for this reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nathan again --- but with a slightly duller pencil, 21 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
Let it first be said: Philip Roth is a genius. His writing is astounding, both for its gorgeous display of language and, just as important, for its truth of character and humanity corruption.
"I Married A Communist", the second in the author's trilogy about the huge political movements shaping post-WWII American history (Vietnam, McCarthyism and, with his latest, "The Human Stain", the Clinton era and p.c.-ness), is a very, very good book. However, "American Pastoral" it ain't.
In this second volume, Roth tells the story of Iron Rinn, a militantly naiive political figure of the post-war generation. The themes are typically Rothian: definitions of success, alienation, what it means to belong, what it means to separate. And, while the plot is fascinating and there are portions of the book that are written so magnificently you'll want to weep, there is a remote quality --- a third-person-ness and therefore an aloofness --- that detracts from the overall effectiveness.
Still, the book deserves four stars because it's part of the Roth canon. He's always worth reading and always astounding and delightful and depressing and devastating. Even when he's merely being a bit more mortal than we've come to expect of a writer with his gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject matter but long winded in places, 23 Sept. 2014
Good to have some light shed on an era and subject I know little about. I was not wholly satisfied with the novel, however, since it is engrossing on some occasions and then drags on in other places. So, although the book is of average length, it felt much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American tragedy well worth reading, 10 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Hardcover)
Set in the McCarthy era, this is an American tragedy; the tale of Ira Ringold, an Abe Lincoln lookalike, and his desperate attempts to escape his haunting past. If only his judgement were as keen as his intentions, or that of his brother who recants the story of his tragic life to the one time protege Nathan Zuckerman.
Having served in the second world war Ira returns to his homeland, hypnotised by political ideology, and the considered views of the proselytizing communist, Johnny O'day. His instincts for survival do not always sit comfortably with his radical beliefs, and his life takes a number of tragic turns.
Consumed by the injustice he perceives in the world, he sets out to right the worlds wrongs, but after a failed marriage to the flawed film star Eve fame, and political catastrophy, it is ultimately his haunting past that defines his final days.
Both engaging and humorous, this perceptive tale lingers long in the memory and serves as an accurate record of the political wranglings of that time in American history. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The distorting power of bitterness., 4 Oct. 2000
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
Philip Roth is a wonderful writer and a major contemporary voice. I was disappointed with this book, however, because I felt that Roth's vision was blurred by his obvious fury and bitterness towards his ex-partner. I kept feeling that he had just made a really clever observation that would cut to the heart of Ms. Bloom and it kept distracting me. This book was written by a man who was fighting for his reputation and he leaves no prisoners. I have no idea of this position is morally justified by what happened between them, but I think it spoils what might have been a very good book. Roth is a writer who normally takes my breath away. He is sharp,witty,evocative,perceptive and nobody writes better about the American Jewish experience (or on the subtle British undercurrents of anti-Semitisim.) 'I Married a Communist' is part of what perhaps should have remained a private quarrel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Readable, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Married A Communist (Paperback)
Found this at times a little drawn out and repetitious, and all the the jumps in perspective a bit tiring at times. A readable and colourful book though, which did keep my interest to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Married A Communist
I Married A Communist by Philip Roth (Paperback - 1 July 1999)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews