Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're not easily shocked...
It's true that this book contains extremely descriptive sexual passages and is certainly not for the faint-hearted. But call me smutty; I enjoyed it enormously - the dirty bits and the rest. I find it intruiging that on the one hand, Baker, a big, red-faced, blustery middle-aged bear of a man turns out books like this (and Vox, the book Monica Lewinsky gave Bill Clinton...
Published on 3 July 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird
It was ranked as one of the funniest sex books written but for me I foun d it difficult to get into and not the slightest bit funny
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Huge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're not easily shocked..., 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
It's true that this book contains extremely descriptive sexual passages and is certainly not for the faint-hearted. But call me smutty; I enjoyed it enormously - the dirty bits and the rest. I find it intruiging that on the one hand, Baker, a big, red-faced, blustery middle-aged bear of a man turns out books like this (and Vox, the book Monica Lewinsky gave Bill Clinton to excite his intrest), and then puts out scholarly items like his defence of paper-based library systems - and they're all equally readable. A remarkable book, based on a daring, schoolboy fantasy. Read it when you're alone though, or you'll go scarlet-faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orifice-boggling pornathon from the geek's geek, 14 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
Baker's earlier outings, The Mezzanine and Vox, just hinted at the porn-script writer scrambling to escape the bounds of the popular fiction imagination. Flick to the dirty bits in The Fermata and you'll be left with little. But what a little it is - I mean, what would you do if you could switch time on and off at will? Save babies from the path of oncoming trucks? Avert international crises? Maybe for a couple of days. Then you'd be peeping down people's pants just like Baker's anti-hero. You might not like all of what you read (note: I suspect the chances of this are higher if you're female) but if you've ever fantasised about anything, you'll love most of it.
Whatever you feel about The Fermata (and let's face it, double-ended dildos aren't the subject of much contemporary fiction outside of 'specialist' booksellers) don't let it cloud your opinion of Bakers back catalogue - U and I, for example is an erudite examination of Baker's personal and literary relationship with John Updike, whilst the Mezzanine is a thoughtful, hilarious and heavily annotated trawl through the minutae of a pen pusher's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Show me that big fat Georgia O'Keefe, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
A fermata (also known as a hold, pause or as a grand pause when placed on a note or a rest) is an element of musical notation indicating that the note should be sustained for longer than its note value would indicate. Exactly how much longer it is held is up to the discretion of the performer or conductor. What it refers to in Baker's novel is a period of time which his protagonist, Arno Strine, can induce during which the world stops, and only he can move around in it freely. He uses this time to undress women and otherwise indulge his sexual desires. The women concerned have no knowledge of what he does and no idea that a period of time has elapsed during which they have been in suspended animation. It isn't as rollickingly funny as it would like to be, but having said that, it isn't as offensive or creepy as you might imagine either. It is, in part, gratuitously pornographic, depicting several scenarios that he either writes about or imagines happening, or that actually do happen (in the novel that is). As those who have read this writer before will expect, he employs his linguistic gifts with great wit at times and to great effect as he writes of, for instance, "fully realised frigments of my invagination".

Obviously, this is not a book for everybody, and if you are at all nervous of sexual frankness, don't start reading - it will offend you. This is a man who is mightily respected for his detailed and dexterously knowledgeable prose. He is, perhaps testing how far he can go without upsetting his literary readership? That, or sheer exhibitionism has got the better of any natural good taste he might have once cultivated. Whether you view this as acceptable in today's climate, or still beyond the pale, will depend entirely on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Fermata, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
Like Nabokov's Lolita this book draws deliberately uneasy comedy from moral ambiguity. Arno Strine can pause time yet move freely while all around him is frozen. He uses this 'gift' to peek beneath clothing and explore other obsessive thoughts about women. It's very rude in places. Told with wit and great intelligence, the novel both charms and disturbs. Baker isn't afraid to offend, and doesn't try to 'justify' the ethical minefield of Arno Strine's actions, although he does explore the issues they raise. He is smart enough to let readers make up their own minds and urges them to consider how they would behave if they had the same ability to stop time. Hugely thought-provoking novel, but possibly an acquired taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compellingly good read., 14 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
I just love this book. It is clever, funny, erotic, thought-provoking and well thought-out. Those who carp about the 'hero' not becoming a better person or the author breaking his own rules are trying to dig too deep. They miss the point - it is fiction and a compellingly good read. I have had it on my bookshelves for years and return to it again and agin when I want something light-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 2 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
It was ranked as one of the funniest sex books written but for me I foun d it difficult to get into and not the slightest bit funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful and disturbing novel., 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
Nicholson Bakers' novel is an impressive investigation of sexual politics. Despite extremely graphic sexual content, the book is intensely literary. Thought-provoking and intelligent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rudest book my wife has read., 11 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
If you're not aroused by this, you're unarousable. Clever, pacey, and very horny.
I bet no one who read it didn't try at least once to see if they could stop time! I've lent this book to many, male and female, all have enjoyed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stop the world, I want to get off., 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
Baker's book introduces us to Arno Strine, a morally ambiguous hero who is blessed with the ability to stop time in it's tracks and go about his business without interruption from the world at large.
Arno isn't interested in using this ability to help humanity, commit crime, or even to better himself; all he wants is to look at the paused women around him naked.
This set up is an interesting one and immediately asks the reader: "What would you do if you had these powers?". But whilst Baker's use of language is both evocative and provocative, the overwhelming feeling at the conclusion is one of disappointment.
Yes, Arno has undergone some (often amusing) adventures and the reader is given an insight into his character. And, of course, the erotic content is sublimely filthy (if you like that sort of thing). But, like another reviewer of this book on these pages, I find the fact that Arno doesn't become a better human being deeply unsatisfying.
So I'm giving this two stars (although if you're a fan of 'posh porn' you're more likely to rate it as 5!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My goodness...!, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Fermata (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect - just as well, as Nicholson's imagination is more 'out there' than most. A very interesting, sometimes funny, sometimes just not right, book that is like nothing I've read before. Not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fermata
The Fermata by Nicholson Baker (Paperback - 5 Jan 1995)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews