Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow a compelling read - a gig with the 50s and early 60s, 21 Jun 2001
By 
R. A. Starczewski "r1ckster" (surrey/england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
As soon as I started reading this book I fell in love with it. You know when you enjoy a book because you bug people during those brief moments of silence (when you have to put the book down) over a drink or over dinner with 'in this book I'm reading so and so did....' and I was continually doing this from the very first chapter.
Not only does it give a clear insight to the music scene and industry of the late 50s and especially the 60s you also get an idea of Britain in the 50s with its rigid class structure and ration books. I was starry eyed with the description of the energy and the forth coming youth movement about to interupt onto starch shirted Britain of the early 60s. With its description of the Quant scene, the break through of the Beatles, the description of jazz, r&b and the happening London clubs of the time.
Absolute Beginners - absolutely fab4
Whatever you may know about or feel about ALO you have to admire and be gob smacked with the acheivements of one who was so very young.
Andrew I take my hat to you my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Swinging than Stoned, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stoned (Hardcover)
Those who wish to read this book for ALO's insights on the early Stones won't be disappointed -- but they will have to read about half the book before Andrew first meets Mick, Keith, et. al, at a Sunday gig. Fortunately, the first half of "Stoned" is a unique and resonant overview of the pre-Beatles world of London showbiz.
WIth friends and associates such as Lionel Bart and Mary Quant adding their own commentary, one realizes how impatient talented people were to reinvigorate music, theater and fashion in such a stodgy realm. Once things actually change with the advent of the Beatles, however, it becomes no surprise that ALO, Quant and Bart were able to grab on to the zeitgeist so quickly and successfully.
On the whole, "Stoned" is a portrait of chances sought, taken and pushed past the point of reason. Its only drawbacks are the use of some previously published interview material for outside commentary and the story's early ending. A welcome plus is commentary from Pete Townshend and former Who manager Chris Stamp. Here's hoping a follow-up is being written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage Wunderkind, 28 Sep 2004
By 
David Balfe (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
I love the Stones, who doesn't. But you don't need to have even heard a note of Satisfaction to find this book one of the most enthralling, inspiring and downright incredible reads you'll ever come across. If they'd invented this character for a film, it would be ridiculed as totally implausible, completely beyond believability. If this guy had done all that this book reveals over a 20 year career, you'd still rate him as one of the most incredible characters the music biz has ever thrown up. But this book's story ends before Andrew Loog Oldham turns 20!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read it and weep for the lack of energy, imagination, self-belief and sheer creativity that most of us common mortals exhibit. Read it and be inspired. Read it and smile. Read it and be unable to put it down. Read it till you begin conquering your own worlds.
As both a historical document of the great mid-century sea-change in british culture - the birth of the sixties, and as a forensic investigation into an extraordinary personality it is dynamic, detailed, insightful, enthralling and succeeds wonderfully.
What a story! What a guy!
Buy, you won't be disappointed. I've just ordered the follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, outrageous, radical, compelling, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stoned (Hardcover)
Andrew Loog Oldham is one of this century's most radical and mysterious icons. His pivotal role in creating the culture in which we live cannot be underestimated. This book is a crucial document in telling us how post-war British culture developed, mostly, and fascinatingly, according to Andrew Oldham's remarkable vision.
This is a very personal book in which our flawed hero pays his dues to those who formed him: Laurence Harvey, Jean-Claude Brialy and Tony Curtis provide the visual style according to which his personal screenplay is acted out. Meetings with Picasso in Cannes, and Brian Epstein and Mary Quant in London, led him into the heart of the new 'cool', bolstered by a Blue Note look and a nod to the Nouvelle Vague. Extraordinarily, he was still a teenager when he discovered the Rolling Stones, by which time he had already done Carnaby Street, the King's Road, Tin Pan Alley and Ronnie Scott's.
Svengali, thug, manipulator and showman par excellence, STONED sings loud and proud, shot through with Oldham's intense and highly original voice. This is a book to revel in: this magical era when Britain found its voice and provided the songs the whole world sang is recreated with stunning immediacy and vitality. This memoir has been a long time coming, and Oldham's imaginative powers have not been diminished by the ravages of the intervening years, during which he was 'out to lunch' in typically extravagant fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The extraordinary story of a remarkable man, 1 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
By his own admission Andrew Loog Oldham was a hustler with an eye for the main chance, addicted to notoriety. By reputation he was also stylish, innovative, clever, influential, cunning and outrageous in equal measure. His instinct for pulling strokes to capture media attention for his acts is legendary and, by any definition, he was one of the most remarkable personalities in 60s London. In his management of the Rolling Stones, starting at the tender age of 19, he created the blueprint for the rock band which remains de rigueur to this day. With this book he provides a fascinating insight into his life and the methods by which he was to make his mark. This is an engaging, honest, warts and all account of his life during the 60s, interspersed with testimony from those who knew him best. It provides essential reading for anyone interested in pop culture, as well as those interested in social history or how you make things happen. Whilst presumably the music industry has moved on since the 60s, I suspect many of the underhand methods used by managers, agents and assorted hangers-on to exploit young talent have not. So if you are an aspiring pop star, reading this book will help prepare you for the business of pop. I really couldn't put it down. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
When I bought this I was half expecting to be disappointed, mainly as I'd just read Keith Richards Autobiography and was very disappointed. This book was altogether different especially as he uses extensively quotes and comments from lots of other people throughout. Rather than break the flow of writing it gave the impression of having multiple conversations with those around him, and unlike Keith, ALO wasn't put off by putting some positive comments about those around him.
I would reccommend this to anyone wanting to know the period and how it was, a bonus if your a Stones fan. The only downside is I now have to wait for Amazon to deliver 2stoned so I can continue the adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showbiz diary, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
Bought this because of the title. It's the Rolling Stones' first manager/image maker's showbiz diary. His stories are a mixture of serendipityand chutzpah. Extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stoned, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
Like its 'sister' book 2Stoned gives the feel that the writer was under the influence of some substance when he compiled this confused and sometimes over-self-opinionated memory of how it all began both for him and the Rolling Stones. The content is there - just gets bogged down with superflous irrelevance and incoherant muddling at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who really enjoyed it., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband, who really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 Jun 2014
By 
John Slaytor (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned (Paperback)
Bought this secondhand and even then was a bit wary of an autobiography by such a notorious self-publicist, but it really is a good read. The chronological format of sections by ALO interspersed with commentary from friends, acquaintances and very indirect connections (Jimmy Greaves? Billy Fury's girlfriend?) works surprisingly well and it all gives a detailed picture of London as it was in the early 60s. I'll definitely be buying 2stoned next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stoned
Stoned by Andrew Loog Oldham (Paperback - 3 May 2001)
7.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews