Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's terrific, anyway
For those of you who hoped that Uriel's Machine was one of the several items discovered in the basement of Rosslyn Chapel......it isn't. (It isn't even a machine.) Except for a short update in the appendix about the progress of the Rosslyn Chapel dig, this book has little or nothing to do with the intriguing theme of the authors' previous two books, The Hiram Key, and The...
Published on 3 July 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Few Good Bits But be Prepared to Skim a Lot
I bought this when it first came out. I recently dragged it out while having a clear out and had a quick look. There were some interesting things in it but in the end I decided to get rid of it.

The text is very dense and I did not understand a lot of it but I will summerise quickly what I did understand.
The authors posit:
That there was an anciant...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING EVIDENCE OF ANCIENT WISDOM SECRETLY PRESERVED, 11 Dec. 2001
By 
Tim Acheson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science (Paperback)
Using their insider's view of Freemasonry, and several years of research, the authors analyse ancient traditions in order to expose fascinating novel insights into key stages in human history. The topics presented are thoroughly researched, and the arguments are objective, logical, structured, clearly presented and easy to follow. There is an intelligent balance of detail and relevance in the information presented.
Substantial scientific data are cited to support the case that the biblical flood was an authentic historical event, with a clearly identified cause dated to the relevant period, and global cataclysmic effects that can still readily be seen today. An impressive ancient understanding of geometry, astronomy, navigation, the measurement of time, and other sciences, is revealed in the legacy of our distant ancestors. Persuasive documentary and archaeological proof is presented, together with interesting anecdotal evidence, to suggest how pre-historic wisdom was acquired and carefully handed down by secret organisations. An intriguing series of events are described, from the knowledge taught to Enoch by the angel Uriel, through the construction of megalithic monuments, to the creation and shaping of nations and religions, and the formation of modern secret societies - even the mysterious agenda of the New World Order. The book culminates in some astonishing observations on the influence of ancient traditions on today's modern civilisation. Royal and aristocratic bloodlines are traced back to high-priests from the ancient middle-east. Their secret knowledge is guarded by an elite Masonic brotherhood, organised by some of the world's most influential people. It seems that a sacred ideology - established in a legendary ancient era when gods lived on Earth among men - may be about to return to govern the world.
Such an intriguing and though-provoking text will enrich and broaden the outlook of anyone interested in reading about popular topics relevant to history, religion, conspiracy theory, or secret societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING EVIDENCE OF ANCIENT WISDOM SECRETLY PRESERVED, 7 Dec. 2001
By 
Tim Acheson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uriel's Machine (Paperback)
A revised version of events in the development of human civilisation is proposed, illuminated by the latest evidence and intelligent new ideas.
Using their insider's view of Freemasonry, and several years of research, the authors analyse ancient traditions in order to expose fascinating novel insights into key stages in human history. The topics presented are thoroughly researched, and the arguments are objective, logical, structured, clearly presented and easy to follow. There is an intelligent balance of detail and relevance in the information presented.
Substantial scientific data are cited to support the case that the biblical flood was an authentic historical event, with a clearly identified cause dated to the relevant period, and global cataclysmic effects that can still readily be seen today. An impressive ancient understanding of geometry, astronomy, navigation, the measurement of time, and other sciences, is revealed in the legacy of our distant ancestors. Persuasive documentary and archaeological proof is presented, together with interesting anecdotal evidence, to suggest how pre-historic wisdom was acquired and carefully handed down by secret organisations. An intriguing series of events are described, from the knowledge taught to Enoch by the angel Uriel, through the construction of megalithic monuments, to the creation and shaping of nations and religions, and the formation of modern secret societies - even the mysterious agenda of the New World Order. The book culminates in some astonishing observations on the influence of ancient traditions on today's modern civilisation. Royal and aristocratic bloodlines are traced back to high-priests from the ancient middle-east. Their secret knowledge is guarded by an elite Masonic brotherhood, organised by some of the world's most influential people. It seems that a sacred ideology - established in a legendary ancient era when gods lived on Earth among men - may be about to return to govern the world.
Such an intriguing and though-provoking text will enrich and broaden the outlook of anyone interested in reading about popular topics relevant to history, religion, conspiracy theory, or secret societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge to the Establishment, 20 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
I am not an expert in this kind of research. Nonetheless, Chris Knight and Robert Lomas mke a convincing case in the book for rethinking our preconceived ideas. One of the strengths of their book is the hard evidence of how to create a megalithic yard. It works ! The question of how mankind moved from the trees to advanced civilizations has been with us a long time. Some of the answers are in this book and are augmented by additional books and research papers by independent researchers and writers. The explanation of Newgrange is fascinating. This book and these other independent reserach papers are forcing us to rethink the "history of man" in ways that truly challange the establishment and the old ways of thinking. For many years the world was though to be flat. At least we were told that this was so. This book and the evidence presented is as much a step forward as the acceptance of the facts of "roundness" of the planet. Those who read their first two books may be a bit disappointed by the fact that Masonic history plays such a mimor role - compartively speaking - in this current book. Still, the ties are there and clearly so. It is clear that the research done for this book took them to places they did not expect to go and likely took on a life of its own. If you read it with an open mind, even today's Christians can accept much of it, since it verifies many of the stories found in the Bible. This is an excellent addition to anyone's library. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first part is fascinating, 20 Feb. 2000
By 
The first half of the book convincing outlines two comet strikes that occured 5000+ years ago. Where it stands on slightly shakier ground is in the 2nd half where various connections are made between stonehege type sites and biblical characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science (Paperback)
What else can I say? Newgrange, Scara Brae, Stonehenge, The Rosslyn Chapel, The Templars, The Old Testament, The Megalithic Yard and their various connections, If you want to know more, read on... Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB INSIGHT INTO PAST, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science (Paperback)
Great to read a different angle on the past. Breath of fresh air! Would recommend this to any one who has been taught our ancestors were simpletons who lived in caves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling rethink on what is "civilisation", 8 Jan. 2001
If you think history is a linear movement from savagery to civilisation, with ours being the end product of this movememt, then you need to read this book. If you think history began in Sumer 6,000 years ago, then read this book. Automobiles, the internet, antibiotics, these are the marks of our civilisation, but 9,000 years ago people had mapped the heavens, built precise measuring devices out of stone, and then propagated this knowledge throughout the known world. Why! because humans have been around long enough to experience devastation from comet impacts and needed a way of watching the sky, as well as marking significant religious and symbolic periods. "Civilisation" goes back far further than conventional historians give humanity credit for. This book is another addition to the growing library of books which document this ancient legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a lot of sense, I've often wondered why ..., 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Makes a lot of sense, I've often wondered why Man has reached the high pinnacles of Knowledge and skills many times in the past only to disappear without trace, other than their architecture, this is a very feasible explanation and certainly made me think.
After the recent tsunamis and earthquakes, it all becomes clear and possible, a hard read but hard to put down. Very well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written and interesting theories BUT .........., 22 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science (Paperback)
Once I started reading Uriel's Machine I found it hard to put the book down. It is very readable and the subject matter is both facinating and intriguing.
I was however left unconvinced. I felt that I got only one side of the story. This was because obvious alternative views were either ignored or given mere 'lip service'. I was placed in the position of either accepting the author's arguements without question or searching other sources for more information.
I would have much preferred that current, 'main stream' theories and other 'alternative' theories were at least sumarised along with the author's new insights (okay they were a few times) so that I could get the whole story and make up my own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but how much is true ?, 18 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
Fascinating. A must read. Do I believe all of it ? Do I believe any of it ? That's another matter. A real job for Mulder and Scully. "The truth is out there", "Trust no one". The theory is fine, the human race was doing something between leaving the trees, and building the pyramids, but what ? Established history hasn't got it quite right (or right at all). Someone invented; agriculture, metals, civil engineering, but who ? Tall blondes do keep popping up anywhere and anytime. This book could be right, but it has a von Daniken air about it, even though the theory is more reputable than his. Facts are presented just so, to suit. One person's opinion becomes fact. The authors' theories become fact to support their next theory. Underlying it all is Freemasonry and the biblical book of Enoch. (That Enoch, not Ayli's travelling companion). The author's have a down on modern English Freemasonry, but take anything that's a couple of hundred years old, or from the bible as true. The older the source the better, which ignores the fact that the source is often closer to today than to the event. Given than one of the book's themes is that stone age people were no different to modern man, the authors ignore stone age man's capacity for imagination or self deception entirely. A capacity that the authors also deny Stonemasons. Don't get me wrong, it's an excellent read, just treat it with a pinch of salt. No on second thoughts, a take more than a pinch, take a hand full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science
Uriel's Machine: The Ancient Origins of Science by Robert Lomas (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2000)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews