Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Tale of Adventure
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been...
Published on 20 Sept. 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
Being fond of historical novels and having developed an interest in Australia only recently I was thrilled to see that Colleen McCullough had written a book about the first English convict settlers in Australia. Though I was never a fan of the "Thornbirds" I thought it was better than the Roman novels and was glad that she had returned to her home turf. But...
Published on 5 Mar. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 5 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
Being fond of historical novels and having developed an interest in Australia only recently I was thrilled to see that Colleen McCullough had written a book about the first English convict settlers in Australia. Though I was never a fan of the "Thornbirds" I thought it was better than the Roman novels and was glad that she had returned to her home turf. But although "Morgan's Run" is easy to read, I found that it became more and more unlikely as the plot developed. Her hero Richard Morgan seems to have an useful friend in every seemingly hopeless situation and place and waltzes through miseries which killed others by thousands. The "happy end" seemed somewhat contrived, too and I missed a true climax. I cannot suffer with a hero who never has to fight true obstacles and adversaries. It's okay to read but certainly not a page-turner and I hope that the proposed sequels will have a bit more fire in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Tale of Adventure, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Hardcover)
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been bestsellers. Colleen lives on Norfolk Island in the Pacific with her husband.

I really thought that I would enjoy this book and was very much looking forward to the date it was published. But for some reason, I don't know why, I was a little disappointed with the book. It is difficult to criticise a Colleen McCullough book, particularly as it was written in her own inimitable style, with great attention to detail and the ability to take the reader back in time to 18th century Bristol among other places, with it narrow winding streets and gin and rum shops spewing out into the alleys some of the worst trash that ever sailed the seven seas.

The story is told through the eyes of Richard Morgan, an Englishman, caught up in the bitter arms of fate. Richard is convicted of thievery and blackmail by a justice system that presumes guilt, rather than innocence and is deported to New South Wales and so begins a period of change for a man who was only trying to do his duty . . .

I am sure that many reader's particularly those who follow the author will love this book. It is well written and has a good and well thought out storyline. It just did not gel for me personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the story to start, 24 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
This novel is well researched and has great value in bringing to life the historical period of forced British colonialism in the 18th century. However, it took half of a very thick book for the hero even to arrive in the Antipodes, and the book had almost reached its conclusion before anything of note really happened in terms of emotional tension.

How different from The Thorn Birds where the emotional tension was taut throughout the book.

This is an interesting read if you want to learn about the historical era, but I was waiting for the other shoe to drop all the way through. Pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faaaantastic!!!, 3 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
I'm still reading this book, but I feel obliged to tell you that it's amazing! I can't put it down! It did have a bit of a slow start, compared to The Touch and The Thornbirds...but then it suddenly took off, and became totally engrossing! You really feel for Richard Morgan, and as the book goes on, you find yourself wondering what his arrival at Botany Bay will hold. We all take it for granted that convicts were sent to colonise Australia, but I for one, never really thought about what this would have been like. McCullough manages to make you empathise...totally feeling the despair along with the wonder they must have felt upon seeing strange lands for the first time, as they passed them on their journey! I never thought of Tenerife as beautiful...but imagine seeing Mount Teide for the first time, when all you're used to is the sights and smells of Bristol! It would have been awesome!
Basically, I can't say enough about this book! Don't even question buying it! Just do it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 13 Feb. 2006
By 
Ann Turner "superann" (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
I am surprised to see so many reviewers who didn't seem to like this bok. I found it un-put-downable. I was enjoying it so much I didn't want to finish it. As for the character being unrealistic - as some people say - I got the impression from the credits that Richard Morgan existed and is related to the author's husband, so she probably DOES know what she writing about! I can't wait for a sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painstaking research., 2 May 2012
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
I found this book quite slow to begin with, but I became more and more engrossed as I read. It is not for readers who want a quick adventure or romance, but a saga of a man and the beginning of a country. It is told from the point of view of Richard Morgan, a decent man who became a convict and was transported to Port Jackson (now Sydney, Australia,) and then to Norfolk Island. The research that has been done for this book has been obviously painstaking and appears to my knowledge, entirely accurate. The author lives on Norfolk Island, which undoubtedly helped.
I recommend this especially to Australians as a very easy way to learn the history of our country, and to those who enjoy a character study.
And an unusual point - I have read many books that speak about the British navy of the 17th and 18th centuries, but this is the first that acknowledges how common 'Miss Mollys' were among seamen, and also just what cabin boys were used for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McColloughs Best Yet, 24 April 2009
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
Ive read quite a few of McCulloughs Rome based books and there ok but i found them to drag on unneedlesly in parts, this is the best ive read from her by far, the fact that it contains massive swings in the plot, moves through a peroid of great change in history and over continents made this constantly shifting story spot on for my taste. Just when you think things cant get any worse for the main character they do. and then they do again!

Possibly a more enjoyable read if you live near or have knowledge of the city of Bristol and the surrounding area, as theres plenty of reference to the citys history and many places that any bristolian will instantly assosiate with.

If you like here historical accuracy combined with a good story then you should enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jeannie, 8 May 2009
Morgan's Run follows the life of Richard Morgan, a gunsmith and son of a Bristol innkeeper. From his early Bristol life with his family and their sad and untimely deaths, through to his capture and imprisonment on trumped up charges, to his life as a convict, sailing on one of the ships in the First Fleet to Australia and his subsequent life on Norfolk Island. An interesting book. Very well researched and packed full of historical facts. Unfortunately, though, there are too many characters which haven't been very well drawn out. In the end I felt Richard Morgan himself to be too good to be true. At over 900 pages this was a bit of a chore to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to build a new world . . ., 5 Jan. 2006
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
Richard Morgan, a Bristol publican's son and Jack-of-many-trades, is caught up in the devious machinations of the British class system. In circumstances exacerbated by economic disruption caused by the American War of Independence, he's convicted of a contrived crime. After spending time in British prisons and hulk ships, he's transported to New South Wales to complete his seven year sentence. Morgan is a gifted survivor. Closed upon himself, he maintains a precarious balance between despair and fatalistic acceptance. It's a narrow path, but he manages it successfully. With close attention to details, McCullough uses Richard's tortuous path to display her research into everything from the details of building the famous British "Brown Bess" musket through convict and guard relations.
Morgan's trials and incarcerations give McCullough the canvas to portray the Georgian justice system. It's not a pretty picture, but his prosecution and detentions give the author time to build Morgan's emerging character. The loss of two children and a wife might have left a better man hopelessly melancholic, but McCullough uses the pieces of his shattered life to forge a new, stronger being. With the support received from uncles and unexpected friends, he emerges as an unwilling leader among the convicts. His abilities are recognized in the convict ships and settlements, places where artisans were at a premium. After time in Port Jackson [Sydney], he's sent to Norfolk Island where he truly blossoms. Given Norfolk Island's reputation as a convict hell-hole, this came as something of a surprise. Building on his artisan talents, Morgan's role takes a departure, becoming respected among convicts and marine guards alike. In sum, she paints the image of this man too boldly. His stature stands far above lesser mortals in surroundings where such prominence is unlikely. Many years after this story a debate raged in New South Wales over the status of redeemed convicts. No trace of that issue arises with Morgan, who, as a free man assumes a place in Norfolk society with amazing ease. He establishes a property straddling a stream - Morgan's Run.
Writing historical fiction presents numerous problems. To establish firm credibility, there must be a realistic mixing real and fictional characters. Today's writers on the early days of Australia as a convict colony tend to elevate their characters above the normal run of society. They're uniformly innocent or dupes. Just once, i'd like to see a portrayal of a real villain transported to Port Jackson. McCullough follows the path set by many good historical novelists - a treasury of research transcribed into a wealth of information. In unskilled hands, such abundance can overwhelm the reader, erode the characters and subdue the plot line. McCullough is anything but unskilled, but in this book her story line is timid and the characters only short of stereotyped. Also, her Australian roots led her away from the consensus view of most writing on the convict colony. Not one of the felons expresses a strong desire to return to Britain. The novelty of the land is expressed clearly, but the homesickness most writers convey is lacking here. It's not even fatalism, just indifference.
McCullough is a good read and anyone unfamiliar with the circumstances involved with the transportation of convicts will learn much from this book. As the first volume in a series, it's clear her research will bring forth new and entertaining circumstances. Morgan, only forty years of age at the end of this volume, will certainly find new fields to conquer. I look forward to the sequel, more for its information than from any interest in Morgan, who's bigger than life already. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Tale, 16 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Morgan's Run (Paperback)
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been bestsellers. Colleen lives on Norfolk Island in the Pacific with her husband.

I really thought that I would enjoy this book and was very much looking forward to the date it was published. But for some reason, I don't know why, I was a little disappointed with the book. It is difficult to criticise a Colleen McCullough book, particularly as it was written in her own inimitable style, with great attention to detail and the ability to take the reader back in time to 18th century Bristol among other places, with it narrow winding streets and gin and rum shops spewing out into the alleys some of the worst trash that ever sailed the seven seas.

The story is told through the eyes of Richard Morgan, an Englishman, caught up in the bitter arms of fate. Richard is convicted of thievery and blackmail by a justice system that presumes guilt, rather than innocence and is deported to New South Wales and so begins a period of change for a man who was only trying to do his duty . . .

I am sure that many reader's particularly those who follow the author will love this book. It is well written and has a good and well thought out storyline. It just did not gel for me personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morgan's Run
Morgan's Run by Colleen McCullough Doctor of Neurophysiology (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2001)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews