Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars value
Douglas Reeman books are great to read and good value for your money
i have been readind his books over a number of years and still enjoy them
Published on 7 Feb 2009

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather a dis-jointed and unsatisfying read
In years gone by, Douglas Reeman would embroider and add value to his plots by clever and believable characterisiation that helped the whole story come alive. Now, however, the plots take a back seat to the characters with the result that you would be forgiven for thinking that you were reading a rather amateurish soap-opera with a disjointed and obscure plot hidden...
Published on 17 April 2001 by A. Perry-Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars value, 7 Feb 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: For Valour (Audio Cassette)
Douglas Reeman books are great to read and good value for your money
i have been readind his books over a number of years and still enjoy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reeman's Best Yet!, 5 Feb 2002
By 
Dean S. Maclaughlin "dmacl25" (Boston MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Valour (Paperback)
For Valour invites comparison with The Cruel Sea by Nicholas Monsarrat. Wars are fought by people, not machines and has been described as months of boredom and seconds of terror. Reeman captures all of this as well as the sheer exhaustion which must have set in among those who had survived several years of the war. The enemy was not only the German Navy, but the ocean and the cold of the arctic.
World War II was a war which involved the home front as well. The irony of sailors in harm's way losing families at home is portrayed well. The characters are human and vulnerable, and entirely believable. They have the courage to continue human involvements in the face of separation and loss. All in all, the book is immensely moving and a good description of human character. The technical details are informed and accurate, as in all of Reeman's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, you will not want to put it, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
great story,you will not want to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Reeman par excellence, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
Once again I have read this book and once again I get so much out of the story. When I read these books I feel that I am actually there engaging with all the characters and once again parts of the narrative leave me with tears streaming down my face! I am constantly reminded of the sacrifice that ordinary men and women gave so that my wife, my sons, daughter in laws and grandchildren and myself enjoy the freedom that today's way of life gives us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Reeman, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
I have the complete collection of Douglas Reeman books this is one of the best.
I'll give it 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
I like this author and read a lot of his books he make's me feel that I am right there in the thick of the action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. George Cattanach "Story watcher" (Rossendale, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
Great in the kindle store, for reading in a quiet moment on "fire "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather a dis-jointed and unsatisfying read, 17 April 2001
This review is from: For Valour (Paperback)
In years gone by, Douglas Reeman would embroider and add value to his plots by clever and believable characterisiation that helped the whole story come alive. Now, however, the plots take a back seat to the characters with the result that you would be forgiven for thinking that you were reading a rather amateurish soap-opera with a disjointed and obscure plot hidden somewhere in the background. This one certainly wouldn't win any ratings wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For valour maybe but not for effort, 12 May 2013
By 
John Coffey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Valour (Kindle Edition)
Douglas Reeman can be erratic and this is one of his less successful naval stories. The plot is rather derivative but there are some wonderful nuggets of action sequence writing. Not on a par however with "HMS Saracen" or "Rendezvous South Atlantic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Valour
For Valour by Douglas Reeman (Paperback - 5 April 2001)
£7.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews