Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robb Continues a Thrilling Series!, 12 April 2003
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
For Candace Robb's legion of Owen Archer fans, "A Spy for the Redeemer" will hold no surprises: this seventh episode of her series featuring Owen, the former soldier and now
one-eyed spy for Archbishop Robert Thoresby of York, finds himself embroiled in another of his 14th century intrigues. And, as with the other six, this one is absorbing and full of
interest-holding elements.
Once again, Owen is sent on an errand for his Archbishop, this time to Owen's home country of Wales, where treason, murder, and more mayhem abound, and he is caught up
in the webs of deceit, Church intrigue, and local loyalties. Indeed, Owen, for a while, is tempted to stay and fight for his native lands, certainly a treasonous act there.
And back in York, Owen's wife Lucy, a local and successful apothecary, finds her own life even more complicated. Aside from missing her husband and trying to run her own
household, she finds she is the victim of some malicious gossip, gossip that questions her own professional abilities, her husbands loyalty to the Crown, and her relationship with a
handsome and accommodating neighbor. These ingredients make for a very complex and complicated life for her.
Yet, with the usual Robb finesse, both Lucy and Owen are able to overcome their difficulties, as one would imagine. Overcoming their problems is never in doubt, of course,
but it is how they are overcome that provides the interest. Robb's ability to create characters that are believable and interesting keeps her stories alive. "A Spy for the
Redeemer" will come as no surprise to readers already familiar with the series; for new readers, this trip down history lane will be a pleasant experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual., 1 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. C. A. Gray "natalievgray" (BROMSGROVE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
Another good read by Candice Robb. Anyone who is a fan of the historical "who-dun-it" will thoroughly enjoy this book. The scene is skillfully painted and the characters so life-like that the reader is transported through time without feeling out of place. It is hard to put the book down as the story sweeps the reader onwards towards the final solution to this Owen Archer mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb in all aspects., 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
In this latest Owen Archer mystery, all of the principle characters, family and friends of Owen Archer are included. The twist is the in the way Candace Robb incorporates them into solving two seemingly unconnected mysteries. Owen has his to solve to return home, while Lucie Wilton has her hands full with trouble at Freythorpe Hadden and her Aunt Phillipa. Although I don't particularly care for romance in historical novels, the smidgen in Robb's novels seem to enhance the storyline. After the somewhat disappointing "A Gift of Sanctuary," Ms. Robb is back to the writing that drew so many to her Owen Archer series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, informative historical novel, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent story, as good as all her previous Owen Archer novels. It is set between Owen, who is in Wales, and his wife and family, who remain in York, and teaches us much about the Welsh cause in the 14th century. Owen himself is Welsh so we see the Welsh/English situation from his point of view. His relationship with his wife Lucie is also tested, as he is tempted to stay in Wales and fight for his people, just as she is tempted by another man in York, during Owen's long abscence. Anyone who has read Ms Robb's previous Archer novels will love this. She has a Phd in Medieval/Anglo-Saxon history, so she knows what she's talking about......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14th Century England Brought to Life, 29 Nov 2004
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
York is very close to my own home and many of the places mentioned in the Owen Archer books are still there to be seen and of course Archbishop John Thorseby is mentioned in the records of York Minster. All this adds spice for me and helps me to picture the time and events that took place.
Late spring 1370 and Owen Archer is about to leave Wales havaing completed his work for John of Gaunt, but his plans are ruined by a mysterious suicide.
His wife Lucie who owns an apothecary shop in York is saddened by her husband's absence and worried about allegations made against her. Also angered by his absence John Thorseby, Archbishop of York orders Owen to return. But Owen's stay in the land of his fathers has created divided loyalties in him and a Welsh rebel would like Owen to stay and fight and never return to York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still not as good as the earlier ones, 2 Nov 2008
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
I had rather gone off this series after A Gift of Sanctuary and had not read the next one for two years. This was a slight inprovement, but it still didn't hold my interest as the earlier ones did. There were some rather implausible plot twists and unnecessary complications in this one, I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another cracking story, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual high standard. Nice to see Jasper more involved, as a boy that age would want to be. you feel you really know the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A spy for the Redeemed by Candace Robb, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I seem to read these books far too fast as I can`t wait to find out what happens next. Candace Robb imparts historical information whilst telling a great story. You can almost smell York as Owen returns from the countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars could not put it down., 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all Owen Archer stories it was absolutely entertainment at its best. Wonderful. Please keep writing and I most certainly will keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Candace Robb, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spy For The Redeemer (Paperback)
Another book in the collection for my daughter who collects them. Cannot offer a review on the contents as I don't read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Spy For The Redeemer
A Spy For The Redeemer by Candace Robb (Paperback - 5 Oct 2000)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews