Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to Arms
I like Hemingway because his stories are realistic. Life doesn't have many happy endings, but it has moments of great passion, romance and happiness along the way. This book is kind of like that. His short sentences and terse writing style cut right to the core of your emotions and help you feel all this book has to offer. A brilliant place to start your appreciation of...
Published on 7 Oct. 2007 by Spider Monkey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd style but interesting questions and discussion prompted here!
Hard to get into this book as written in an odd style - had to keep saying to myself to remember the time in which it was written. I had read The Paris Wife so had an insight into Hemingway from his first wife's perspective and had not particularly liked him so perhaps that was also a barrier to his work, but he, the author is very self focussed. But then perhaps I would...
Published 3 months ago by Mrs Dee Chamberlain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to Arms, 7 Oct. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I like Hemingway because his stories are realistic. Life doesn't have many happy endings, but it has moments of great passion, romance and happiness along the way. This book is kind of like that. His short sentences and terse writing style cut right to the core of your emotions and help you feel all this book has to offer. A brilliant place to start your appreciation of one of histories greatest writers.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Odd style but interesting questions and discussion prompted here!, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Hard to get into this book as written in an odd style - had to keep saying to myself to remember the time in which it was written. I had read The Paris Wife so had an insight into Hemingway from his first wife's perspective and had not particularly liked him so perhaps that was also a barrier to his work, but he, the author is very self focussed. But then perhaps I would be in a war situation? A funny mix as even though he is self absorbed, mainly about alcohol, we do not really discover much about his responses, emotions and inner thoughts. Yes there are some insights but few- another characteristic of those times? The relationship with Catherine is also very polite and formal - reminds me of old black & white films when I was a child..... However, this book was chosen for a bookclub meeting & despite no one really liking it, there was a great deal of discussion and questions asked about the book including the war, the geography, Hemingway and relationships at that time etc..... How style and life is so different now!! But a challenge to think in different ways and to really try to understand the style of writing and the author. Perhaps worth reading after all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional in its Depiction of Manly Rapport, 29 Jan. 2009
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
In A FAREWELL TO ARMS, the texture, pace, and content of the social interaction is absolutely spot-on when Lieutenant Frederic Henry, Hem's protagonist, mixes with his fellow officers, the soldiers in his command, various bartenders, and several nurses who mother him. While Frederic shows a slightly different face in each group, he is generally succinct, generous, self-aware, and subtle in his social mastery. IMHO, this Frederic is a genuine literary achievement and a reason, by himself, to read this terrific anti-war novel. At a minimum, AFtA certainly demonstrates that Hemingway has a fabulous gift for capturing manly rapport and virile presence.

At the same time, Hem doesn't seem to know how to handle Catherine Barkley, his only significant female character. In her presence, Hem seems out of his element, and the interaction between the sexes seems to contain only empty expressions. "You're awfully nice," is typical. Maybe Hem is saying that love is doomed during war and that lovers are reluctant to probe their commitment. Still, a couple together as much as Frederic and Catherine would enjoy some lighter or more natural moments, wouldn't they?

Nonetheless, the force driving this novel is The Great War, with the war-weary Frederic serving in the Italian army, suffering a serious wound, enjoying a discreetly sexy convalescence, returning to battle, and then making his separate (but tragic) peace. As told by Hemingway, this story abounds with male sports--mess hall razing, military duty, battle, and bold survival--that bring out the best in his terse style. When mortar shells explode in Frederic's shallow trench, for example, a writer who describes through sequences of quick impressions can be completely true to the moment.

AFtA achieves its status as a classic of American literature in Book III, when the Austrians and Germans break through the Italian lines and the Italian army undertakes a pathetic retreat, where the biggest threat is friendly fire. Then, the arbitrary dimension of war comes into perfect but non-polemical focus as Frederic, ready to regroup to make a stand, tries to cross the wooden bridge at the Tagliamento River. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic tale of WW1, 12 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A wonderful tale where men and women of passion and action live, fight, love and die in scenes of drmamtic intensity. An involving story told the way only Hemingway can. I recommend this book to anyone especially if you like Hemingway's style of writing. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This is the second time I've tried Hemingway. My first attempt was The Old Man and The Sea, which really didn't do it for me, but as it is exactly what it says in the title, i.e. a book about an old man catching a fish at sea, I thought maybe it was just the subject matter I was struggling with. A Farewell to Arms is Hemingway writing about war, which is much more to my taste. Sadly it seems that Hemingway is not to my taste at all though.

This book deals with the protagonist's role in assisting the Italians during WWI. It focuses on him sustaining an injury which means he is hospitalised for several months. While in hospital he forms a relationship with a British nurse and the rest of the book focuses on his return to the front and how his relationship weathers that traumatic time.

Hemingway is a sparse writer. Some people think this is powerful. I just found it frustrating. There was little description, everything is rendered in terse prose which means it is hard to build up any kind of empathy with the characters or indeed fathom any sort of motivation. The war seems like a convenient kind of back drop but never really impinges on anything. Even in the height of battle the protagonist seems curiously disconnected from events, and the most enthusiastic he gets is when he is hunting down his next drink, or worrying that he won't be able to drink.

His attitude to his girlfriend was positively medieval and really I disliked him more and more as the book progressed.

I struggled to connect to the work and realised it is because to me it reads a lot like a twelve year old boy's essay on what I did in the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drawn out story, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Not something I would usually read but was going to the theatre to see a version of this. It was a very drawn out story but it certainly helped me when I saw the stage version. It was an insight into aspects of the first world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it's cracked up to be, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Lethiavan (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I've just tried to re-read this book after an interval of forty years, thinking I would get more out of it this time, and I didn't. So I'm with the philistines on this one - this is an over-rated book. Hemingway went on to write some great books (as I recall) but this isn't one of them.

Everything Hemingway has to say about the madness of this particular theatre of war is borne out by Emilio Lussu's "Sardinian Brigade" (both authors were wounded in Italy) and I can fully accept that getting away from it was the only sane thing to do, but the problem with "A Farewell to Arms" is that it describes events in a way which is sparse to the point of leaving the reader one stage removed. Hemingway offers us what is in effect little more than a film script and leaves it to our imagination to fill in the blanks. This may have been revolutionary at the time, and it can be argued that it accurately portrays what subsequently came to be recognised as alienation, but from this distance the technique looks (to me) not so much reticent as lazy.

In particular the woman who is supposedly the second principal character never comes into focus at all, a complete blank onto which we are apparently expected to project our own material. In other words, there is a void at the centre of the book. BBC Radio 4 are currently doing a ten-part (150-minutes) drama adaptation of it which successfully overcomes these objections, but I doubt whether they could have done it as the Book At Bedtime with only one voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics)
A Farewell To Arms (Vintage Classics) by Ernest Hemingway (Paperback - 4 Feb. 1999)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews