Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly gripping
i received this book as a present, and being 18 and never particularily interested in telegraph lines, it was with definite prejudgment that i first started reading this book during a four hour train journey. however, alice thomson's style of writing is such that it is part her diary, part her great grandfather's diary and also part history guide. i have found this book...
Published on 10 Mar. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Feat!
This is the biographical story of Charles Todd, the man who successfully managed to connect Australia with other continents by taking the telegraph across its interior and Alice Todd his wife who gave her name to the famous Alice Springs. Written by Alice Thomson their great great granddaughter it is also partly a travel story as in 1997 she and her husband retrace the...
Published on 9 Jun. 2008 by LindyLouMac


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly gripping, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
i received this book as a present, and being 18 and never particularily interested in telegraph lines, it was with definite prejudgment that i first started reading this book during a four hour train journey. however, alice thomson's style of writing is such that it is part her diary, part her great grandfather's diary and also part history guide. i have found this book to be very absorbing and also highly detailed proving that thomson's journey was well worth it, but it also shows the very human side to the story which she tells. this book tells two very interesting stories - charles todd's, and alice thomson's. recommended for passing the time in a constructive way whilst enduring long train journeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 8 May 2006
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
This is an inspiring book for anyone who is planning a trip up the Red Centre of Australia, or who is interested in gaining a further understanding of what the colonists faced on arrival in Australia. Alice Thomson manages to weave her own trip along the telegraph line neatly into the historical account of Todd's great endeavour and perhaps in doing this ensures that the reader is not bogged down too much by the Victorian aspect. The arduous journey Thomson and her husband undertake amply demonstrates quite how much an achievement the building of the telegraph line was 125 years earlier. Her writing style is fluid and enjoyable to read. Highly recommendable, a great mix of history and travel with the latter bringing the former to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first internet, 28 May 2005
By 
MR D CHESHIRE (Plymouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
This is book with a lot of charm, part travel book, part history and part family investigation. It takes you straight into the heartland of 19th century Australia, as well as opening up the little known history of pioneers like Samuel Morse and the author's ancestor Charles Todd who linked the world by the telegraph. Todd, one of those eccentric, driven people who embark on extraordinary adventures, put Australia on the map and helped create the global village. That Charles' patient, long suffering but equally eccentric wife Alice should be imortalised in Alice Springs is one of those historical quirks that you only find in oddball books like this. Todd's rivalry with the horrible Patterson adds some dramatic tension to this extraordinary adventure. A lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two great stories woven together, 20 April 2011
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
The great great granddaughter of Alice Todd, the woman for whom the town of Alice Springs was named, tells two great tales of adventure: the story of Charles Todd and his quest to connect Australia and the world by telegraph, and her own adventure tracing the route of the overland pioneers over 100 years earlier. The bulk of the story is about the Todds and the telegraph project, and it is an very well researched story that draws material from personal diaries of the key figures, historical newspapers and academic research, as well as the personal stories captured and retold by the author's relations. I was captivated by the quest of Todd and the drama that surrounded it and I was inspired by the eventual success of the team despite all the unknown conditions they had to face in terms of central and northern Australia's landscape, climate and fauna. The author's personal journey following the telegraph route was an informative and entertaining travelogue, particularly as I am formulating my own plan for tour through central australia. I was left dreaming about things I could rediscover for myself by venturing off the beaten track when I travel up the middle of Australia.
Overall, I found the novel to be very well written, entertaining, historically insightful, and the two intertwined stories provided additional fuel to my own travelling ambitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science, History, Exploration & Travel in one., 15 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
If you liked 'Longitude', 'The Explorers' & Bill Bryson's 'Down Under' this is a really fascinating mix of the three - recounting the author's great grandfather - Charles Todd's struggle to overcome the practical and technological hurdles of stringing a telegraph line from the northern territory to south australia in the 1850's and her modern day journey retracing his footsteps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Feat!, 9 Jun. 2008
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
This is the biographical story of Charles Todd, the man who successfully managed to connect Australia with other continents by taking the telegraph across its interior and Alice Todd his wife who gave her name to the famous Alice Springs. Written by Alice Thomson their great great granddaughter it is also partly a travel story as in 1997 she and her husband retrace the steps that the Todd's had taken over a hundred years previously.
She vividly describes the trials and tribulations of these Victorian explorer's and those of her and her husband. In crossing some of the most isolated and hazardous terrain in the world, they discover that some parts of the Australian outback have changed little since Victorian times. Even with all modern day advantages to help them it was still not and easy task in modern times.

It was an amazing feat that these pioneers achieved and Alice's account made me realise just how much this was so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seeing Australia through the eyes of the 20th century, 5 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singing Line (Hardcover)
Gave this to my grandmother for Christmas and she has raved about it to all her friends. Very interesting insight into the hardships that the early explorers encountered. A thoroughly enjoyable book, easy reading and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding story of nineteenth-century Australia., 12 Nov. 2000
By 
Geoffrey Woollard (South East Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Line (Hardcover)
'The Singing Line' is a glorious and emotional tale, lovingly and well written, and a riveting and rollicking read. I learned so much from it about 'old Cambridge' and the early heroes of the 'outback' of Oz. Splendid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great achievement., 2 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Line (Hardcover)
The creation of the overland telegraph line from Adelaide to Darwin was one of the great engineering achievements of the Victorian age, and this book does it justice. Alice Thomson traces its route across the central Australian desert in a modern car, but even so finds it tough going. Her book makes for an entertaining read which will appeal to those interested in the history of science and engineering or in the history of Australia, and indeed in modern Australia. Try to obtain the hardback edition where the endpapers show a map of the entire route which the paperback does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 7 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Singing Line (Paperback)
What can I say, this is an excellent book, very well written and researched. I really like the fact that Alice & Ed did the journey and we had the comparison between there experience and the experience of Todd and his workforce. Having been to some of the places mention, I found that the book really brought the landscape and the people to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singing Line
The Singing Line by Alice Thomson (Paperback - 6 July 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews