Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Honest
It is somewhat amusing that when the history of the green baize is written, the greatest snooker tornament of them all will most most certainly be remembered for the man who never won it ... the peoples champion ... Jimmy White. In the final chapter of this book White delivers a surprisingly philosophical verdict on why he has never captured the World Snooker Crown having...
Published on 12 April 2001 by Gary J Lashmar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Restless Soul
Having had a modest interest in the career ups and downs of the truly exceptional talent that is/was Jimmy White, I had been really looking forward to reading this book. So when I spotted it in the local library I felt compelled to read it. And having done so, I can't help feeling disappointed, not so much with the book but with White himself.
White always...
Published on 14 Feb 2006 by gusandade


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars not good if you want snooker related stories, 3 Mar 2012
Very disappointed in this because i was expecting a snooker players autobiography to be about.........snooker believe it or not!

The entire book seems to be made up with stories of when he got drunk and annoyed his wife Maureen, very little said about his professional career which is ridiculous considering he got to so many world championship finals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a god read, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
a brutally honest account of the highs and lows of the life of one of the greats of snooker, from his young days hustling with tony meo he tells in detail of the fortunes he has won and lost, the hard life he gave his wife, always entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars honest acount of modest player, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
white leaves no stones unturned in this book.it starts off through jimmys early beggings in tootham london were he dicovered the snooker club that was to pave his way to stardom and learn every trick hustle and con to the trade.it contains some great stories of the hurricane alex higgins and many others not all from the snooker world but equally as colourfull.this is a great read and between higgins and osullivans autos this is by far the most honest and side splittingly funny enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the black ball, 30 July 2004
By 
D. J.H. van Vleuten (Grootschermer, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
Behind the White Ball is a great autobiography but it is too short. And that is meant as a compliment. The life story of Jimmy White is so unbelievable that one could easily write a book twice as long as this one. There is not much snooker in it. No endless tales of all the great matches The Whirlwind has played throughout his magnificent carreer. Jimmy has always been a modest lad - and he still is. Even his most memorable moment - the infamous black ball of the 1994 Crucible Finale - is only mentioned in a few lines. And yet that black ball is what Jimmy's life was and is all about. Jimmy will go into snooker history as the best player who has never won the World Title. Maybe he should have changed the title of his biography. Behind the Black ball says it all. This biography is unbelievable, hilarious, funny and in more than one occasion very moving.
It is a must read for every snooker fan with a heart.
Diederik van Vleuten, The Netherlands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blinding book... never quite realised how much of a male chauvinist he was though lol... great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The flaws behind the magic! Brilliant!, 16 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
The whirlwind. If you're a fan of the peoples champ you've got to have the book. What a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this man. Was a different read that I thought it would be. He tells a good tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lets have another....., 6 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This autobiagraphy is unlike any other, this I feel is because Jimmy as a sportsman is unlike any other. He has done it all in life, he explains stories of his younger life, which can be rather shocking. It goes from this into his proffesional career and how he overcame cancer and looking ahead to his future. There is probably not enough about his snooker career in the book, and maybe too much on his drink and gambling problems, but the honesty and genuiness is ever present. Hopefully Jimmy will produce another autobiography soon, he can put more about snooker in that, I for one would buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
this is maybe 1 of the best books i have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography
Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography by Jimmy White (Paperback - 7 Oct 1999)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews