Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Honest
It is somewhat amusing that when the history of the green baize is written, the greatest snooker tornament of them all will most most certainly be remembered for the man who never won it ... the peoples champion ... Jimmy White. In the final chapter of this book White delivers a surprisingly philosophical verdict on why he has never captured the World Snooker Crown having...
Published on 12 April 2001 by Gary J Lashmar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Restless Soul
Having had a modest interest in the career ups and downs of the truly exceptional talent that is/was Jimmy White, I had been really looking forward to reading this book. So when I spotted it in the local library I felt compelled to read it. And having done so, I can't help feeling disappointed, not so much with the book but with White himself.
White always...
Published on 14 Feb. 2006 by gusandade


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Autobiography available today, 25 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
Jimmy White, arguably the finest sportsman our country has ever produced, has written a peach of a book. From his humble begginings to megastar this book has everything. It is honest and entertaining and well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inside the world of a snooker mavrick, 31 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
I bought the in 1999 and from the first page to the I could not put it down a fantastic read your pulled in to jimmys world the money matches when he turned a small amount of money in to a thousand pound but even in the world finals hes lost what really comes though is his unconditional love for game the stories of his wild nights out pee wee an alex Higgins you read about the time he went missing in Ireland for 3 weeks and Maureen tract him down to some hotel and found hideing in the wardrobe so funny he mentions his love of Higgins an how he got the snooker bug though watching him there is loads to read in this book buy it and see for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on for the White, 15 Jun. 2004
By 
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
I sometimes think this book should have been called "The Jimmy & Alex Show". The capers of Jimmy White and Alex Higgins will have you whizzing along at breakneck speed. Thoroughly interesting starting with Jimmy hanging out in the local snooker hall when he should have been in school, breaking his leg and then playing snooker with the walking stick, playing the amateur circuit and finally to his professional status. The stories are legendary (especially where Alex Higgins is involved) and, at times, you wonder is this book a dream with some of the things Jimmy White got up to.
The book is open and doesn't dodge the issues between Jimmy and Maureen. The reader gets to see, albeit through a haze of drink at times, Jimmy's World of snoooker and all the associated characters. Towards the end of the book we get an interesting insight into why Jimmy White is one of the best snooker players never to have won the World Championship.
It is one of those books which is hard to put down as you want to find out what mischief Jimmy White gets into next. The saga where a car load of them try to get through Lucan, Dublin and stopped by a garda is something out of a comedy show, especially when you read the outcome. I think the lack of dates tends to leave you being in one period of his life, then we have another story from another period and we wind up completely somewhere else but, in a way, it keeps it interesting - just like Jimmy White's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars honest acount of modest player, 9 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
white leaves no stones unturned in this book.it starts off through jimmys early beggings in tootham london were he dicovered the snooker club that was to pave his way to stardom and learn every trick hustle and con to the trade.it contains some great stories of the hurricane alex higgins and many others not all from the snooker world but equally as colourfull.this is a great read and between higgins and osullivans autos this is by far the most honest and side splittingly funny enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not good if you want snooker related stories, 3 Mar. 2012
Very disappointed in this because i was expecting a snooker players autobiography to be about.........snooker believe it or not!

The entire book seems to be made up with stories of when he got drunk and annoyed his wife Maureen, very little said about his professional career which is ridiculous considering he got to so many world championship finals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other reviews: this is a really good read and full of stories about White's colourful life away from the snooker table. There isn't too much about individual games but this might reflect his approach to life. When he wanted to be he was the best player around - but there is more to life than just playing snooker clearly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a god read, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
a brutally honest account of the highs and lows of the life of one of the greats of snooker, from his young days hustling with tony meo he tells in detail of the fortunes he has won and lost, the hard life he gave his wife, always entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd hand book, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography (Paperback)
i was happy to purchase a 2nd hand book and this was very good condition however i was not impressed to see 70p pencilled inside the cover. fair enough selling on a cheaply acquired book but at least hide the evidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a read..., 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
gutted when I finished this book didn't want it to end. it's easy to tell why Jimmy is loved by all. I had the pleasure of meeting him in cornwall and thought he and Alex Higgins were great!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Burst my bubble about Jimmy, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Incorrect references, ie Thin Lizzy's album name,,,,,,should be 'Jailbreak', not 'Breakout' as written.
Generally badly written with poor diction and spelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography
Behind The White Ball: My Autobiography by Jimmy White (Paperback - 7 Oct. 1999)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews