Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
47
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2001
A vampire book that you will certainly read it more than once. The vampire Pandora is interviewed and she tells the enchanting story of her life. Anne Rice, beatifully describes Pandora's life in ancient Rome, Antioch, and her entrance in the vampire world. The great love story Pandora has with Marius, an old vampire that loved her since she was a little girl. I hightly recommend this book. It is going to amaze you. Believe me, you won't get any sleep until you finish it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2002
From the first page,and with exquisite narrative Anne Rice brings Pandora to life in your mind in full blown technocolour.
The chapter of her early life with her father,takes you all the way to how every day life was for ancient Romans.with even the trivial and mundane bringing colour and poetry to her remarkable quest for life.
I won`t dwell on the plots or sub-plots but to the reader,if you have read the queen of the dammed and noticed Pandora. then this book is essential reading.This story gives to vampires what Shelleys Frankenstein gives to `monsters` a simple love but pure poetry.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
I really enjoyed the first two Vampire chronicles books so was hoping that this would continue in that vain. Sadly that was not to be the case.

My guess is that Anne Rice's knowledge of the period or the ancient Roman world was not as deep or well researched as needed With ancient Rome at the turn of the Principate and early Empire as the backdrop so much more could have been done to capture the danger, horrors, wonder and dynamism of the age. To see how well that can be done, try reading The Master's of Rome series by Colleen McCullough.

As for her protagonists Pandora and Marius they fail to truly sparkle with a truth or ever really develop. It almost feels as if there were a large number of ideas bubbling up but that they stayed in the authors head and failed to make it to the page.

In summary: Reasonably well written, but flaky and inconsistent in parts. Pandora fails to capture the depth of "Interview with the Vampire" and "Vampire Lestat".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 August 2010
I bought this book around the time it was first published, at the airport to keep me awake during a 4 hour flight and I could not sleep until I finished it a long time after my plane had landed. I had not read any of Rice's books before and it was this extraordinary book that got me hooked.

It tells the story of ancient patrician roman Pandora who is turned into a vampire by her lover Marius, stays with him in Antioch, helping him care for Those Who Must be Kept and survives to narrate her story to David Talbot, in Paris, more then a millennium after her creation. Anne Rice portrays a woman who is a product of her time and is strong, intelligent and indipendant. Her character is very well developed and convincing, as is her time. Through Pandora's eyes we see a very vivid and well researched presentation of Ancient Roman society; we see historical events that effected Pandora and also significant people whom she loved like Ovid, indeed it was her love for Ovid that made me like her from the beginning.

Pandora is also a major character in The Queen of the Damned: The Third Book in the Chronicles of the Vampires (Vampire Chronicles). Also her relationship with Marius and the events in Rome and Antioch are seen through his point of view in Blood And Gold: The Vampire Marius (Vampire Chronicles 08), which I think is the best of Anne Rice's vampire novels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Not officially park of her Vampire Chronicles series this is a great little book for filling the gap on what happened to Pandora in the times before and after she met the vampire Marius and beyond. She is telling her story to the former Talimasca recently Vampire chronicler David.
Shorter than the chronicles but a good read if those little details are bothering you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2003
I have to disagree with the other reviews stated. I practically adored reading about Pandora. She was one of the main first female vampires, and to follow through a female vampire's life is just as much exciting and sexy as with a male vamp. The story represents a different era of time where a young, innocent Roman girl witness Rome's success and downfall, where of which she encounters Marius, the strong, handsome historian.
Throughout the centuries to pass, she and Marius become bonded through their vampiric fate, which involves love, sex, blood, arguments, and friendship that last to the end of their days. I have to say Marius is very, very sexy. Eat your heart out Lestat.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
Pandora has to be my favourite of the chronicles so far. Admitedly the only others that i have read are Interview and Lestat (and the new vampire Vittorio), but as far as Anne's writing goes it is by far the best. She manages to transport you into the Rome of Ceasar Augustus through to Paris at the end of the 20th century. Anne researched the landscapes and traditions perfectly and showed an interesting view on the Ancient Egyptian religion. I am and forever will be a devoted follower of Mrs Rice and all her wonderful creations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I started---so i finished but the more i got into it i became bored.
This was not a novel with a story which started,had a plot and then
finished,rather it was recollections of Pandora concentrating for the
most on Roman history and Roman political characters. In dfinishing
chapters i struggled trying to remember what i had read such was its
abstract nature. Would not recommend this novel to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2001
Pandora starts in modern paris, where David Talbot has asked Pandora to write about her life, in a french cafe the novel is written. Anne Rice clearly done her research, and uses it well to portray Pandoras life. The twist and turns in the book have you gripped, and is one of the most easily read of the vampire chronicles (Pandora uses modern english to describe the story, whereas, say, Armand uses much more old style english). She gives detail into her life and creates a great atmosphere. Pandora is strong in will and character and gives intricate detail to her life and love for Marius. there are moments in which you'll laugh, moments where you can hardly believe it and moments which really get you thinking after you put the book down. An excelant read by anne Rice. Pandora is my fave character of the series, the story is superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
Having read all of the previous books to this one, I enjoyed reading this and liked the way it filled the gaps in some of the previous stories. I would, however, recommend reading this book after the books that come before it, as you may be confused as to who some of the characters are. It's also much shorter than the previous books and I finished reading it within two days! I am a very fast reader, though ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.